• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Jan 7, 2022
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 814 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 814
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Just an amazing album.Whole radio thing was brilliant.Great vocals from weeknd
  2. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    After two listening sessions im all in to say that this is a masterpiece from start to finish. It feels like a 50 minute long experience. The transitions are perfect and none of the songs were bad. My favourites were defenitely ''Less then Zero" and ''Out of Time''.

    I can see real OG XO fans wouldn't like this cause its soo diferent then what he did before. But for me this is just perfect!
  3. Jan 7, 2022
    8
    It's not that catchy and apotheotic as the previous albums, but that's certainly not bad. It's just another vibe, more calm and reflexive. If you keep that in mind while listening to it you'll certainly won't be disappointed. It's still Abel doing sonorous pieces of art.
  4. Jan 7, 2022
    9
    I loved the journey you get into when you’re listening to this album from start to end
  5. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Every time The Weeknd releases an album, it proves how much he loves what he does. This album is no exception. I think my favorite part of this album is the aesthetic, he really knew how to integrate that to the album, without making it annoying. Whoever decided to use Jim Carrey as the narrator is a genius. Jim did a wonderful job and he adds his touch to this album. The transitionsEvery time The Weeknd releases an album, it proves how much he loves what he does. This album is no exception. I think my favorite part of this album is the aesthetic, he really knew how to integrate that to the album, without making it annoying. Whoever decided to use Jim Carrey as the narrator is a genius. Jim did a wonderful job and he adds his touch to this album. The transitions between songs were majestic, just like the production. Hands down to one of the best albums in The Weeknd’s immaculate discography. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    I love this album, how everything is clear and connected and i love albums that have a vibe or a concept, and this clearly delivered. Plus amazing content, love abel XO
  7. hni
    Jan 7, 2022
    10
    such a great album. he's really going full 80s on this album. his vocal is so damn great as always.
    he really made it and It's going to be **** iconic. so proud
  8. Jan 13, 2022
    10
    His best album at the moment,the radio theme is so original and the songs are bangers
  9. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Wow. I love it. The aesthetics, the melodies, the production, the narration, the vibe overall...Top notch!
  10. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredible album! The way Abel has changed over the years is crazy. Even though there is some Michael Jackson influence, the album is amazing. XOTWOD Expand
  11. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Loved the album you can really hear the Michael Jackson influence. The Weeknd once again proves why he’s the best male pop artist of this generation.
  12. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Not gonna lie this album is fire and as an old weeknd fan this new electronic pop genre he chose was a good move, I enjoyed it from the start to finish.
  13. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Literally a miracle and masterpiece of eletro pop/synth pop/ R&B & Soul. A must-hear experience, the radio aesthetic of the album is just genius.
  14. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This album is just amazing, I feel like i'm on 80's. It's a masterpiece by Abel, i'm happy to be part of X'O Crew
  15. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    The Weeknd really really just made what he was feeling at this time. He put a lot of thought into this u can tell if you just listen to it from track #1 dawn FM to track #16 phantom regret by Jim.
    The Weeknd just made his art and I personally love the project. It has songs that are going to grow on you songs that you are going to listen to in the middle of your playlist n just gives you
    The Weeknd really really just made what he was feeling at this time. He put a lot of thought into this u can tell if you just listen to it from track #1 dawn FM to track #16 phantom regret by Jim.
    The Weeknd just made his art and I personally love the project. It has songs that are going to grow on you songs that you are going to listen to in the middle of your playlist n just gives you that feeling… that “Dawn FM” feel…
    Expand
  16. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    A dark, sparkling, timely masterpiece. The soundtrack of cold nights, lonely cities, deep thoughts. Perfect for an introspective start to a year full of unknowns.
  17. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    The Weeknd's fifth album is a work that brings an extremely mature and cosseted narrative. Abel navigates the synth-dark-pop once again and delivers a masterpiece full of emotions and with very captivating lyrics. Unlike After Hours, the album brings a more melancholy narrative, with the character in the afterlife, where he patiently waits for the light to come on (maybe he's inThe Weeknd's fifth album is a work that brings an extremely mature and cosseted narrative. Abel navigates the synth-dark-pop once again and delivers a masterpiece full of emotions and with very captivating lyrics. Unlike After Hours, the album brings a more melancholy narrative, with the character in the afterlife, where he patiently waits for the light to come on (maybe he's in purgatory?) and turns on the radio to pass the time. What the listener doesn't know is that he's stuck in a loop. When it comes to the last song, it makes you navigate directly to the first track on the album, making the character endlessly wait for your neglect. For us, we delight in the repeat of the album, which emerges The Weeknd as the biggest male pop star of this generation, treading a gigantic path to stand side by side with Michel Jackson. Expand
  18. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    Heavy synths, theme, lyrics and angelic voice of Thr Weeknd blend together perfectly to create a stunning album, Dawn FM truly is.
  19. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! As a lover of 80's and synth pop music, this is just what I was hoping for. It sounds fresh and melodic and has some seriously dark lyrics, but it feels uplifting at the same time due to the sometimes upbeat production. The overall theme of the radio station is a nice idea, although I am not that crazy about the talking parts , because I get distracted by it easily.Absolutely fantastic! As a lover of 80's and synth pop music, this is just what I was hoping for. It sounds fresh and melodic and has some seriously dark lyrics, but it feels uplifting at the same time due to the sometimes upbeat production. The overall theme of the radio station is a nice idea, although I am not that crazy about the talking parts , because I get distracted by it easily. But I totally get the artistic approach behind that concept and can appreciate it. Brilliant, leaves me wanting more of it, I am very excited about the music videos and hopefully there will also be a deluxe soon. Expand
  20. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Such a beautiful tunes you can literally vibe so hard with this album so so good Xo
  21. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    O melhor álbum dos últimos 10 anos. É coeso, tem batidas boas e a voz angelical de Abel e ainda conta com produção e participação de grandes nomes.
  22. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ETHEREAL **** ETHEREAL **** Album ETHEREAL **** ETHEREAL **** ETHEREAL **** ETHEREAL **** AlbumETHEREAL **** Album Expand
  23. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Radio things are creative and nicely done, vocals are beautiful, one of his best works in my opinion. I really don't get the hate. They did the same thing for After Hours too
  24. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    I think Abel recorded this album in 2122 and he has teleported to the present. His production is excellent, the sounds take you to other universes, I needed this album.
  25. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    é majestoso, perfeito, o melhor album dele, faz viajar muito bom nota 1000 !
  26. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    This Album has this classic The Weeknd Vibes from his older songs but also new and fresh ones aswell
  27. Jan 13, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After a few listenings (to get the concept and some tracks fully) is safe to say this is one of the best album projects as a whole i’ve every listened. Barely any flaw, with magnificent songs that make you travel through a dimension of redemption and healing of a toxic broken heart. It surely is a full experience from After Hours to After Life. Where The Weeknd reflects on his past decisions atoning his sins on his way though purgatory. with a perfect ending and such an incredible radio guided idea. he delivered two AOTY (2020’s After Hours/ 2022’s Dawn FM) back to back !! great artist and great music !!!!! Expand
  28. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sin duda Abel se superó asi mismo en ente album, yo lo podría definir como una mezcla que nos transporta a una dimensión mágica. Expand
  29. Jan 7, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It’s a very creative album I have been waiting for a long time. It only gets better the more u listen and the idea of Jim narrating the whole album is fantastic. Expand
  30. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Perfeito, completo, tudo o que você imaginar. Álbum do ano. O The Weeknd quando falou do Álbum eu achei que seria uma coisa ele venho e mostrou algo totalmente incrível é novo
  31. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    I didn’t get this album on the first listen but MY GOD it grows on you quick. His most conceptual album to date and i can’t wait to see how the music videos tie into the storyline. Truly sounds different to anything he’s ever made before with both a retro and futuristic sound simultaneously. Jim Carrey is an excellent addition along with excellent performances from both Tyler, the creatorI didn’t get this album on the first listen but MY GOD it grows on you quick. His most conceptual album to date and i can’t wait to see how the music videos tie into the storyline. Truly sounds different to anything he’s ever made before with both a retro and futuristic sound simultaneously. Jim Carrey is an excellent addition along with excellent performances from both Tyler, the creator and Lil Wayne. 10/10 Expand
  32. Jan 18, 2022
    10
    Creo que este es por lejos el mejor álbum de The Weeknd, gracias a After Hours, este album se vuelve más increible con el concepto de historias que the weeknd cuenta en cada álbum, el concepto tipo radio es muy inteligente y llamativo, permitiendo que el oyente se sumerja tranquilamente en esta historia sobre la vida y la muerte. Uno de los mejores álbumes de 2022
  33. Jan 7, 2022
    8
    A Crazy opening song followed by even better songs, can't wait for his next album to see if he continues the story and transitions of Dawn FM
  34. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Attention to detail was spot on. The whole album had unexpectedly an FM vibe to it which is great and shows his devotion and dedication to his craft. Great artist!
  35. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    The Weeknd is so original and stays entirely true to his concept.
    Dawn FM isnt just a musical treat, it's also so well plotted. He just made us sit through a wholesome radio show

    Take a bow Abel Tesfaye, take a **** bow... ❤️
  36. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Conseguiu superar o After Hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  37. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Amazing album honestly. Different than everything I've heard before, in a very good way. Every song complements each other. Tyler and Wayne's features both very solid. Going to take this one with me every day
  38. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    i’ve been a fan of abel for 7 seven years and i‘m amazed how he just never diappoints, the synths, the vocals the lyrics …
    he outdid himself again!
  39. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Dawn FM introduces us to a whole new approach of producing a music album. The sonic experience is unic, from the first track till the last one. The Weeknd guides us through a new pathway in his discography and his alter ego evolution , combining 80’s inspired synth beats with his iconic R&B style . In collaboration with Tyler, The Creator, Lil Wayne , Swedish House Mafia and otherDawn FM introduces us to a whole new approach of producing a music album. The sonic experience is unic, from the first track till the last one. The Weeknd guides us through a new pathway in his discography and his alter ego evolution , combining 80’s inspired synth beats with his iconic R&B style . In collaboration with Tyler, The Creator, Lil Wayne , Swedish House Mafia and other notorious celebrities, Abel’s artwork puts in perspective his way out of darkness of After Hours , embracing the fate of unshared love and the hope to find happiness again. Expand
  40. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Been 13 hours since this album released, couldn't sleep the entire night listening to this! Still awake and listening to it!! He did it!! TURN SHUFFLE MODE OFF
  41. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Definitely an amazing album by The Weeknd. A full 50 minute experience that makes you feel like you're in a transition to heaven while you're hearing the radio in the 80s.
  42. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After listening to this album multiple times i can safe to say that the album have grown a lot. At first i didn't dig it that much but the same happened with After hours. Recommend everyone that thinks the album is bad, to try and listen to it again and eventually you will love it aswell Expand
  43. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Espectacular álbum, sonidos tan pegajosos y una lírica espectacular, alcanza las expectativas y la narración hace que se sienta como un álbum bien organizado, sin duda un excelente trabajo. Expand
  44. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Absolutely loved the album, my favorite song had to be Less than zero. The way the song was uplifting and it was apart from the entire album. The whole album was amazing, went from this dark beginning as an introduction and then later became uplifting and upbeat for the rest of the album.
  45. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This album is perfect for the way it makes you enter a completely isolated universe. Really like the idea of the radio show and found Jim as a great addition. The Weeknd keeps getting better as he grows and I’m all here for it!
  46. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view.
  47. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 21st century MJ . Amazing album his voice is so angelic and the concept of it all was unbelievably good Expand
  48. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This album is amaziiiiiiiiiing!!!!!
  49. Jan 12, 2022
    10
    This album is the aftermath of After Hours. The whole team has made Abel's vision come to life, and created a sound that fits this created universe. It's a completely different sound, but it does the story justice. His vocals are 10/10 on this album, and the production and melodies are 10/10 as well. Can't wait to see what's next for us!
  50. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    As always, exceeding our expectations. The lyrical mix and sound of the songs are incredible, the songs make us feel things that the weeknd has been doing often with their albums
  51. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Excellent album, an upgrade from the already impression After Hours. Don't sleep on it.
  52. Jan 12, 2022
    10
    He can do anything, it will be a banger, the man knows how to envolve people in his narrative and message.
    Abel is really ahead from the industry, being so versatile and nostalgic + futuristic, make his work capture the attention from older people to kids.
    He's a living legend, enjoy.
  53. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Excellent work. Abel created an amazing experience for the listener. This is by far some of his best work and I can’t wait to see him grow and flourish in the upcoming years.
  54. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This felt like an experience, not an album. It wasn’t music, I felt like I was in a musical experience or an escape room idc it felt so powerful. The 70s radio musical concept was brilliant and got me in the vibe with ease. Each song was INCREDIBLE and I had so much fun. Perfect lyrics, perfect production, perfect concept, perfect era, perfect vocals. A full 10/10. Expand
  55. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    This album grows on you. At first I was like ehhh. Within a day I couldn’t get it out of my head. I kept going back and back discovering new sounds and feelings it gave me. The album is a whole vibe. Brilliant
  56. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    the flow and transitions between tracks are just chefs kiss. The production is as good or even better than after hours. a radio experience with having Jim Carrey as a host is like icing on the top. the way this album takes you on an adventure of after life is what it makes superior.
  57. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    Damn this album is incredible, I didn't expect that !!! TheWeeknd did a really good job !!
  58. Jan 8, 2022
    10
    Great Album, he did it again
  59. Jan 9, 2022
    10
    Perfeito e Impecável novamente The Weeknd chegou num nível
    Divino nesse disco
  60. Jan 9, 2022
    10
    One of the best pop albums in our time. Every track is a bopper that flows beautifully in every transition; it feels like a whole song and by the end of the album, it kept me wanting more. Dawn FM is a solid album and the interjections weaved in captivates you as you feel like you’re listening to a legitimate radio station (Jim Carey’s voice fits perfectly and even the radio commercial?!One of the best pop albums in our time. Every track is a bopper that flows beautifully in every transition; it feels like a whole song and by the end of the album, it kept me wanting more. Dawn FM is a solid album and the interjections weaved in captivates you as you feel like you’re listening to a legitimate radio station (Jim Carey’s voice fits perfectly and even the radio commercial?! Why hasn’t anyone thought of this idea?) Abel’s musical ingenuity and creativity allows him to produce new and different sounds every album and Dawn FM is no exception. In fact, he brings the 80s back following the sounds of Blinding Lights - his best track to date. It wouldn’t be a surprise if his next biggest hit comes from this album. This man’s voice could literally be born in any era and still sound relevant and perfect. What a masterpiece. Expand
  61. Jan 10, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Album was so beautiful I won’t lie I want a deluxe album, but it’s amazing and the live event on Amazon was great also . Just feels like you are dreaming when you hear out of time .❤️ Expand
  62. Jan 12, 2022
    10
    Just an amazing experience! The Weeknd is becoming the new Michael Jackson. Enjoy the ride.
  63. Jan 12, 2022
    10
    in one word, simply mesmerizing, Abel's ability to create a cinematic universe through his music is nonparallel, no other singer could ever achieve this, he makes music seem like a movie, his dystopian retro themes are flawless and he has already become a legend.
  64. Jan 13, 2022
    10
    The Weeknd has renewed his career high.
    He perfectly reinterpreted the legacy of 80s. Absolutely amazing album!
  65. Jan 15, 2022
    10
    10/10 album. Every song flows together and the whole project just has this amazing and beautiful atmosphere. Also very interesting story line being told. His stuck in a loop where he wont go to heaven unless he lets go of all his regrets regarding past mistakes. The songs throughout the album represent these mistakes and his reflection on them. Evidently by the last song (less than zero)10/10 album. Every song flows together and the whole project just has this amazing and beautiful atmosphere. Also very interesting story line being told. His stuck in a loop where he wont go to heaven unless he lets go of all his regrets regarding past mistakes. The songs throughout the album represent these mistakes and his reflection on them. Evidently by the last song (less than zero) and the fact that the last track loops back to the first song (birds chirping) this means hes incapable of letting go of his regrets, and will be stuck in this purgatory that this album represents forever. Expand
  66. Jan 14, 2022
    10
    such a good album !!! he's music keeps getting better every time, he's really a legend in the making.
    this album made me a big fan of him.
  67. Jan 15, 2022
    10
    I've listened to it about 100 times now and wanna listen to it 100 times more.
  68. Jan 15, 2022
    10
    It seems like The Weeknd makes the music he really wants to do and really cares about the concept, and what songs give to the listener. This album is just as good as his other albums. In fact, I think (if this is not the hype because it's the most recent) this album is his best album.
  69. Jan 17, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. love this album, best of the 2022. without any regrets i can confirm this has a lot of potential for well taste listeners Expand
  70. Jan 17, 2022
    10
    It really is a masterpiece. It suits for every mood and for every aspect of your day.
  71. Jan 18, 2022
    10
    This is just outstanding. The theme and concept are just as amazing as they seemed to be. Definitely one of the best album I've ever heard as well as one of the best of it's times. Abel never fails to impress.
  72. Jan 7, 2022
    9
    This album is very good and pleasing to listen to. I love the concept and it is sonically next level. Not better than After Hours in my opinion.
  73. Jan 7, 2022
    9
    The sound, the transition and the voice all coming together to make one masterpiece. After hours was great but this is even batter. This is surely The Weeknd best work yet.
  74. Jan 7, 2022
    7
    This album is very good and pleasing to listen to. I love the concept and it is sonically next level. Not better than After Hours in my opinion.
  75. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Weeknd acaba de lançar o melhor álbum pop dos últimos tempos, simplesmente perfeito! Expand
  76. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Great vocal performances, stellar production and amazing cohesive work of art
  77. Jan 7, 2022
    8
    The Weeknd takes his audience to his 'transition to death' themed album with its stellar and mesmerizing vocalizing and production.
  78. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    An instant classic as it remains in history as one of the best pop albums of all time. It has every thing an album needs.
  79. Jan 7, 2022
    6
    First of all, big fan of The Weeknd, been listening since 2008 when individual albums from Trilogy were released.
    Was really excited for this album, but listening through the whole 16 songs I personally only liked 2 songs, 3 at best. Artistic and production value as a whole is great, especially the retro touch and electro beats are very refined. If you were looking for previous dark
    First of all, big fan of The Weeknd, been listening since 2008 when individual albums from Trilogy were released.
    Was really excited for this album, but listening through the whole 16 songs I personally only liked 2 songs, 3 at best. Artistic and production value as a whole is great, especially the retro touch and electro beats are very refined. If you were looking for previous dark melancholy vibes from previous albums, you won’t find it on this one.
    The previous album’s retro vibes were a cool experimentation, but they were average in my opinion, only the hit song like Blinding Lights got the vibes right. Dawn FM took the whole album to the retro/dance level.

    Don’t get me wrong, artistic expression is everything, and this album is definitely not bad. It just wasn’t what I was expecting, I was expecting the tone to be sort of like Moth to a Flame, or a mix between After Hours and My Dear Melancholy.

    But as you guys know, The Weeknd’s songs takes a few listen to fall in love with, and after the fall (pun intended), you get hooked onto it.
    I hope I am wrong with this album, but these are just my personal opinion and taste.

    Hope you guys like the album though!
    Expand
  80. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    Incrível, the weeknd não erra nunca!!!! As transições músicas estão ótimas, com músicas bem mais dançantes mas sem perder a sua essência.
  81. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    its very good album , its different if u say its not good idk u have mental problems.
  82. Jan 11, 2022
    3
    What a disappointment after the incredibly impactful “After Hours.” The album, outside of 2-3 tracks, is just boring. Songs all sound the same and never reach any kind of peak. There is no real vibe or emotion to feel when listening to these tracks. It’s not party enough to be a feel good fun album. Not emotional enough to make you reflect. It just kind of is there. A weak, monotonousWhat a disappointment after the incredibly impactful “After Hours.” The album, outside of 2-3 tracks, is just boring. Songs all sound the same and never reach any kind of peak. There is no real vibe or emotion to feel when listening to these tracks. It’s not party enough to be a feel good fun album. Not emotional enough to make you reflect. It just kind of is there. A weak, monotonous effort overall. Just add the small handful of songs you like to your library and dump the rest because it’s mostly filler. Expand
  83. Jan 7, 2022
    6
    Not bad, but not like his previous effort. Seems a little rushed, and, on first listen, only two songs remained in my head. Things could change during the next listenings; meanwhile, this could be, for me, the most underwhelming The Weeknd release in years.
  84. Jan 7, 2022
    6
    Nice opening, but kinda plain.
    Don't get me wrong I love the weeknd and the album, sounds polished but just not at the same level than the previous album.
    Not disappointed, but not surprised either.
  85. Jan 7, 2022
    10
    It´s a really interesting experience. While the concept of a radio station as an album isn´t new, this project manages to deliver a fresh new look at common Weeknd themes (sex, drugs, relationships) and also incorporates the same 80s formula from his previous record, but this time is way more refined, and shows a clearer path to his vision. A really nice experience from start to finish.
  86. Jan 7, 2022
    5
    Cold, empty and stark come to mind when you see the coverart for the Weeknd's After Hours companion piece. An aesthetic ride through a city pop bliss is curated by Jim Carey's benevolent narration, which drives the concept of life after death,of moving on. Dawn Fm is a dense nostalgic trip that evokes the 80's revival he's pioneered with more focus than the poppier After Hours. Coming soCold, empty and stark come to mind when you see the coverart for the Weeknd's After Hours companion piece. An aesthetic ride through a city pop bliss is curated by Jim Carey's benevolent narration, which drives the concept of life after death,of moving on. Dawn Fm is a dense nostalgic trip that evokes the 80's revival he's pioneered with more focus than the poppier After Hours. Coming so early in the year makes the album feel like a therapeutic new years resolution, preparation for the 3rd year under an unprecedented pandemic. Synths play a ominous role throughout lining songs with hope or dread in equal measure such as the "sacrifice " or "every angel is terrifying " respectively. Dawn fm isn't perfect and i don't think it tries to be but it's length can leave room for boredom where some songs either feel too long (i heard you married or Gasoline ) or unnecessary (best friends) which is an expected result in most heavy handed concept albums. There's something reminiscent to Janelle Monae ArchAndroid series and anachronisms of 80's Micheal Jackson, some song's feeling like fresh takes on Thrillers iconic sound. Oneohtrix Point Never production is stellar and on par with Daft Punk's skill ,it pushes the boundaries of the weeknd's sound whilst referencing his own masterpiece "Garden of Delete ",allowing for so much to discover and appreciate from the album. In short it's not a bad or disappointing record, it's experimental pop that sounds like the future and the past but despite it's quality production I found it's lyrics (apart from Jim Carey's existential narrations) a bit generic and dull which reduced but did not harm my listening experience. Many more listens will invite more concise thoughts but at this moment after 5 listens i feel it's pretty ok and no way near stunning as the concept it attempts to encapsulate. Expand
  87. Jan 10, 2022
    2
    I am beyond confused by all of these great ratings. I think this is The Weeknd’s worst and most generic sounding album of his career. Only one or two songs stick out. Very, very underwhelming.
  88. Jan 7, 2022
    3
    I’ve always loved The Weeknd’s music and artistry, so when it comes to Dawn Fm I wasn’t disappointed by the concept, But when it comes to execution, Abel’s failed. Sonically speaking, the album is somehow boring, especially because of the choice to use the same drum kit in most of the songs, in which makes them all sound repetitive and the same. They’re not all bad songs! A few of themI’ve always loved The Weeknd’s music and artistry, so when it comes to Dawn Fm I wasn’t disappointed by the concept, But when it comes to execution, Abel’s failed. Sonically speaking, the album is somehow boring, especially because of the choice to use the same drum kit in most of the songs, in which makes them all sound repetitive and the same. They’re not all bad songs! A few of them such as Less than zero, Is there someone else? And Out of time are some (if not) the best tracks on the album. Also, I must say that even with most of the tracks having a length of about 3 minutes, the songs never achieve a peak, they are not as smooth as most of the tracks on after hours, they aren’t catchy, they aren’t very dynamic either. I know that these aren’t the only factor to take in consideration in order to say that a song is good, but for an album called “Dawn (FM)” I would expect a project very radio friendly - with some bangers that would do really well on the radio. I still respect the effort he put into doing something reminiscent, but at the some time modern, but I must admit that “DAWN FM” is one of his weakest albums. Expand
  89. Jan 7, 2022
    2
    I was disappointed w all the tracks sounding alike w the same electronic beat. After a few songs in, it lost my attention. His last album is still superior
  90. Jan 7, 2022
    1
    Dawn FM is flat, the songs all sound the same, Abel sings in the same key the whole time. Maybe it’ll grow on me but it’s kind of boring.

    I’m gunna get trashed for this opinion but i’m not really into this album. It’s got a couple good songs but nothing really blew me away. Most of the songs have that same 80s rhythm that gets real repetitive and bland
  91. Jan 10, 2022
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pra mim The weekend está desde o After Hours lançando o mesmo álbum, mesmos singles… As música do novo álbum estão todas soando igual, a mesma imagem, ele não preocupou em se reinventar, pegou os descartes do álbum passado e resolveu lançar mais um álbum de estúdio, de qualquer forma, qualquer jeito! Expand
  92. Jan 7, 2022
    5
    the radio theme was creative. But no repeat listening no stand out tracks for me it got boring
  93. Jan 8, 2022
    3
    I love The Weeknd but this album just isn’t it. I can’t think of a single track on this record that wouldn’t sound completely out of place on the radio. Once again, I am a huge fan, but it disappoints me that an album can receive so much hype despite the subject matter just because of the name that is attached. I presume the hype will die rather quickly though as there are no standoutI love The Weeknd but this album just isn’t it. I can’t think of a single track on this record that wouldn’t sound completely out of place on the radio. Once again, I am a huge fan, but it disappoints me that an album can receive so much hype despite the subject matter just because of the name that is attached. I presume the hype will die rather quickly though as there are no standout tracks or moments even on the album. Out of Time is the closest thing.

    The entire album feels like one run-on song consisting of boring arpeggios accompanied by ineffective soft pads that lazily repeat a pattern. I felt like I was listening to Abel sing over funky elevator music for most of the listen. The beats lack the variety and punch that we have grown accustomed to with The Weeknd. I understand it’s necessary to mix things up sometimes, but this album just drones on and never makes any statements musically, and just when you think it may, some stupid radio static and voice line interrupts.

    Lyrically the songs feel generic. Even my favorite, Out of Time, states things in such a literal way that it feels corny at times. The entire thing is a beckon to get Bella back again, but it feels like he ran out of things to say to her after After Hours. The radio concept made no sense whatsoever and didn’t even add to the efficacy of the music. I feel like someone decided it would be cool to have a radio themed album, so they just did it with no actual vision of how it would further express the album’s message. Altogether I just felt robbed of almost everything I expect from The Weeknd. The vocals were talented and clean as usual, I mean come on, it’s Abel. But the leads that grab your attention, the melodies that get stuck in your head, the mind-bending transitions, the cryptic lyricism that leaves a little room for interpretation; those are all missing from this album. Listen to Faith, that song alone contains more complexity and raw soul than the entirety of Dawn FM. I suppose eventually Abel had to release a *miss* album. He’s been killing it since Trilogy, but I really don’t see this album making waves where it truly counts: the listeners. Idk give it a month or two until the album is basically forgotten and people start anticipating the next.

    One positive is that the sexy R&B vibe actually really excited me at the beginning, but then it never really toon it anywhere. But after the initial excitement, the whole album is just a bunch of syncopated noise with very little variety.
    Expand
  94. Jan 16, 2022
    3
    Interesting concept.
    Just good songs.
    Less than zero: the best song of the album, a tribute to Future Islands’ sound.
  95. Jan 7, 2022
    5
    I've been a fan of The Weeknd since his burst into the music industry with Beauty Behind The Madness. Every single era of his has been a landmark and reinvention for his image, which is what keeps him so interesting. His voice and dark lyricism are the focal point of his hype, and this album let me down tremendously.

    From the start of this era, I feared that he wouldn't be able to match
    I've been a fan of The Weeknd since his burst into the music industry with Beauty Behind The Madness. Every single era of his has been a landmark and reinvention for his image, which is what keeps him so interesting. His voice and dark lyricism are the focal point of his hype, and this album let me down tremendously.

    From the start of this era, I feared that he wouldn't be able to match up the success of Blinding Lights, and that image became a reality when he tried to replicate that success. The album fails to capture The Weeknd's talents and his vocals do not suit this particular synthwave production. The entire project feels one note, and it has a similar electronic production throughout the entire album. The lyricism is not up to par with his previous efforts, and it is one of his weakest records to date. It's trying to make an alternative reality or this "story" to happen, that isn't really there. There is a lack of emotion from his voice, and as a long-time XO fan, this record deeply broke my heart that it did not live up to the expectations that I know The Weeknd possesses.

    It was generally underwhelming, boring (at times rushed), and some songs felt unfinished. At this point, he needs to take a break, switch up the music, or else he'll start to become repetitive with his sound. The only song I thoroughly enjoyed was "Out of Time", as it highlights everything that makes The Weeknd so fascinating to listen to, and its a contrast to the rest of the upbeat songs. Not a poorly produced album, but it's mediocre to the standards he has set throughout his career.

    This review is my opinion so I sincerely hope its taken respectfully to consideration since it shouldn't take away from anyone's experience.
    Expand
  96. Jan 10, 2022
    1
    I think he can do better than that, the best thing in this album is the transition and the song “ take my breath “ the rest are expected and similar to his previous album “ after hours “ , he just copy the 80s sound and just stuck in this sound, if you want to make music don’t repeat the past and do something different than the others , be unique
  97. Jan 8, 2022
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Acting a bit like After Hours' little and more experimental sister, Dawn FM features a breathtaking production and an absolute stellar concept, driving down the highway around 4 am off to the soundtrack of random radio stations … but, most parts are total road-kill. Precisely, the entire first half of Dawn FM, and others. Thankfully, from Out of Time to the exquisite Starry Eyes, we are served with excellence that saves the face of Dawn FM, a rather hit or miss station. Expand
  98. Jan 7, 2022
    6
    Priemerný album priemerného interpreta. Texty ešte ujdú, ale po hudobnej stránke je to šedý priemer.
  99. Jan 7, 2022
    6
    On Dawn FM, The Weeknd does what he does best. And it works. It's nicely polished, well produced. But it's more of the same and he's becoming a bit of a one trick pony.
  100. Jan 13, 2022
    6
    Nothing new here. I can see The Weekend repeat himself over and over. He can do better.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 24, 2022
    80
    It's invigorating, vulnerable and, at times, uncomfortably raw.
  2. Jan 18, 2022
    80
    Musically, Dawn FM mirrors Tesfaye’s disquiet, its buffed electronic sheen ruptured by moments of discord, as when ballad Starry Eyes teeters on the brink of implosion. It’s a state that Tesfaye seems to relish, with often stunning results.
  3. Jan 14, 2022
    76
    The Canadian megastar avoids the pitfalls of cheap, nostalgia bait by earnestly repurposing and breathing life into deep cuts from a bygone era.