• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: May 6, 2014
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    May 15, 2014
    60
    Though songs including the shimmering So Now You Know and the Manuel Gottsching-like In And Out Of Sight maintain a stirring balance of shimmying pop appeal and experimentation, elsewhere the momentum is compromised and peaks are obscured. [Jun 2014, p.88]
  2. 60
    having traded in all their early attitude for non-stop blissed-out jamming, the Horrors' default mode--equable lassitude--is beginning to pall a touch.
  3. 60
    It’s not bad, as such, but like Primal Scream it promises more than it delivers.
  4. May 1, 2014
    60
    Across its 10 tracks, the album focuses more on the complete experience than unexpected instances of sidestepping intrigue.
  5. May 8, 2014
    50
    There was a sense of duty in pressing play on Luminous rather than an organic excitement or desire.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. May 6, 2014
    3
    As a fan of this bands output since 2006 I have to say that their most recent output is conservative and dull at best and mind numbinglyAs a fan of this bands output since 2006 I have to say that their most recent output is conservative and dull at best and mind numbingly overrated at worst. We get it - the psych thing is hot right now and you can do it. Move one now. What happened to the punk aggression and suave English energy? 'Luminous' finds a track and sticks to it for 10 tracks that all sound exactly the same. Worse thank 'Skying' (which was mildly interesting) this band should either find a new groove or give up. Full Review »
  2. May 6, 2014
    8
    Even if the new horror's album is not their best and bring nothing new, unlike Primary Colours or skying, it is a great album. It won't changeEven if the new horror's album is not their best and bring nothing new, unlike Primary Colours or skying, it is a great album. It won't change music but it will be a pleasure to listen to it.
    buy it ? Only if you are a Horrors's fan, otherwise listen to it online before buying it.
    Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2014
    1
    WTF happened to The Horrors??? This is the worst crap I've heard since people were raving about Washed Out's Paracosm! ENOUGH WITH THEWTF happened to The Horrors??? This is the worst crap I've heard since people were raving about Washed Out's Paracosm! ENOUGH WITH THE PSYCHEDELIC STUFF ALREADY!!!! ITS ALL SOUNDS THE F****NG SAME!?! It's like Zoolander's pose that everyone loves - it's all the same!!! I feel like I'm taking crazy pills here!? Full Review »