• Record Label: Partisan
  • Release Date: Oct 7, 2014
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Oct 10, 2014
    90
    A deeply personal album yet one open to interpretation, by bearing the weight of such gravitas Porterfield and Field Report have crafted a near-masterpiece of pain and triumph within the deckle-edged leaves of Marigolden.
  2. 85
    Marigolden is a quiet exclamatory statement hearkening toward what’s gone missing from America’s roots.
  3. Dec 17, 2014
    80
    While it might be counterproductive if Field Report were to shrink past a quartet, the streamlined approach of Marigolden is a superb example of how less can truly be more.
  4. Uncut
    Oct 8, 2014
    80
    Sometimes, More is more. [Nov 2014, p.73]
  5. Oct 8, 2014
    79
    Nuance, detail and careful construction make the songs live and breathe. When all those elements come together, the home in Porterfield’s songs can feel pretty universal.
  6. Oct 8, 2014
    75
    Marigolden is yet another triumph, not only for Partisan but for the frozen tundra of America's Midwest.

  7. 67
    It takes patient listening to uncover Marigolden’s subtlety, and with few exceptions, the album isn’t immediately accessible, which is a shame, because Porterfield’s lyricism offers quite a few clever and compelling gems.
  8. Oct 27, 2014
    53
    Marigolden fares best when it loses the florid similes and addresses character and story.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 21, 2014
    9
    When I try to think of albums that have pulled me under for relentless weeks of listening, the biggies in the last few years are DamienWhen I try to think of albums that have pulled me under for relentless weeks of listening, the biggies in the last few years are Damien Jurado's Mariqopa and Isaac Pierce/Ten Speed Music"s EP (go look that one up immediately. Seriously.) Now add Field Report's Marigolden to that list. I can't stop. This album works as a lilt in the background and as serious headphones on listening. I enjoyed Chris Porterfield's first album, but this provides variety, allowing the listener to come up for air. The addition of synth and beats lightens the air. I'm delighted to welcome these folks to our Billsville West House Show series next month. I have a hunch we'll be telling stories in a year about the time we got to see Field Report in our living room. Full Review »