• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2015
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 111
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2015
    9
    This is a fantastic debut and one of the best albums of the year so far. So many tracks on here are an absolute blast to listen to, from the phenomenal heavier headbangers (Giant Peach, Fluffy, Moaning Lisa Smile) to the absolutely perfect duo Lisbon and Silk or gorgeous post-rock/grunge blend Swallowtail. The only below-average song would be Freazy, which is kind of forgettable, but theThis is a fantastic debut and one of the best albums of the year so far. So many tracks on here are an absolute blast to listen to, from the phenomenal heavier headbangers (Giant Peach, Fluffy, Moaning Lisa Smile) to the absolutely perfect duo Lisbon and Silk or gorgeous post-rock/grunge blend Swallowtail. The only below-average song would be Freazy, which is kind of forgettable, but the rest of the record is going to blow you away. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2016
    10
    What can be said about Wolf Alice that hasn't been said already. We know Ellie is great. We know they have potential. So did they deliver in My Love Is Cool? I so rarely hand out 10s nowadays, but this album deserves it. Should I even make the effort to list every bright spot? "Bros" "Moaning Lisa Smile" "Freazy" "Giant Peach" "Fluffy". Simply incredible. Many bands go trough an entireWhat can be said about Wolf Alice that hasn't been said already. We know Ellie is great. We know they have potential. So did they deliver in My Love Is Cool? I so rarely hand out 10s nowadays, but this album deserves it. Should I even make the effort to list every bright spot? "Bros" "Moaning Lisa Smile" "Freazy" "Giant Peach" "Fluffy". Simply incredible. Many bands go trough an entire career without 5 songs as good as these, let alone all 5 being in the same album. I like what I hear from Wolf Alice. Only one question remains: is this their peak? Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2015
    9
    Great debut record. A throwback to mid-90's alternative. Loud guitars and heavy bass sounds and pretty vocals. Standout tracks; Freazy, Bros, Your Loves Whore.
  4. Sep 30, 2017
    8
    (75/100) Great album. It contains memorable tracks, good lyrics and something special that every song has in order to give an special meaning and identify with at least one of them. The album is really versatile, it plays with different rhythms and sound in every track. They manage to make an album with unique songs. I think it should be consider one of the best debut rock albums of this decade.
  5. Aug 11, 2018
    10
    This is an incredible debut album. Wolf Alice make incredible use of contrasts; they find a niche in sound that opens a direct doorway into the heart. You can't listen to My Love is Cool without completely falling for them. 10/10.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Aug 12, 2015
    70
    She balances the scary intensity of someone who thinks "going out and smashing windows" is a cool way to kill time with a no-big-whoop casualness about the musical styles she tries out.
  2. Jul 6, 2015
    90
    The most impressive is its cohesiveness ansibility. This is a record that never leaves you in doubt about who's driving.
  3. 83
    My Love Is Cool is volatile, but it’s also invigorating, charming, and hugely exciting for what it promises.