• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Scalping the Guru Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest full-length release from indie rock band Guided by Voices collects together the songs from four EPs recorded on four-track cassette and released between 1993 and 1994.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 27, 2022
    There are lo-fi treasures throughout this collection that stand with some of Pollard’s best work, like “Big School,” “Gelatin, Ice Cream, Plum” and the meditative, d-tuned “Johnny Appleseed.”
  2. Oct 27, 2022
    Incredible songs like "Dusted" and "Kisses to the Crying Cooks" from the Fast Japanese Spin Cycle EP don't make the final cut. Despite these omissions, the compilation does a good job of weeding out the filler, and exists as an annex of even more fleetingly amazing songwriting from GbV's defining era.
  3. Oct 27, 2022
    As far as archival releases go, Scalping the Guru is a treat. It sure beats the pants off of Our Gaze, when Robert Pollard smashed together two of his recent solo albums but left much of the material behind to rot. Scalping the Guru is fun, rough, and artful.
  4. Uncut
    Oct 27, 2022
    The quality of the 30-year-old recordings is surprisingly good, with the slight grain actually managing to emphasise and celebrate the rough edges of a group for whom shabby lo-fi and sprightly power pop are treated with equal reverence. [Dec 2022, p.44]