• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Nov 25, 2016
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 566 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 566
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    If you are only looking for Trilogy-like songs, you will be disappointed. However, the album is a masterpiece in modern pop music and there are plenty of songs that rank among the best songs the Weeknd. Stand out has to be Secrets, which is a beautiful pop song with a dark undertone.
  2. Nov 29, 2016
    6
    A fun Daft Punk produced LP that shows Abel's affinity and knack for 80's electropop, disco, and 90's Eurodance. Fans of his early sex/drugs themed vampy ambient work (House of Balloons to Kiss Land), however may feel polarized and left out.
  3. Nov 27, 2016
    8
    This album is very interesting to say the least. I love this album but at the same time I am really upset with it. The beats are great along with the overall cohesiveness of the album, staying true to the ‘theme’ of the album. I just have this feeling that The Weeknd is striving to just make hits… and it’s upsetting. Don’t get me wrong, there are great songs on here. But it’s also nice toThis album is very interesting to say the least. I love this album but at the same time I am really upset with it. The beats are great along with the overall cohesiveness of the album, staying true to the ‘theme’ of the album. I just have this feeling that The Weeknd is striving to just make hits… and it’s upsetting. Don’t get me wrong, there are great songs on here. But it’s also nice to see The Weeknd going in a new direction and trying newer things than doing the same thing over and over again. However, the lyrics could use some change.
    Some highlights include: Sidewalks, Starboy, Die for You and I Feel it Coming.
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    Abel made an amazing work with his newest album "Starboy". It has a lot of great tracks like "All I Know", "Sidewalks", "Rockin'", "Love To Lay" and "Party Monster". They are also different, which makes me like this album even more. It also includes some interesting featuring artistis such as Daft Punk, Lana Del Rey and Future. Certainly a great album to listen and one of the greatest ofAbel made an amazing work with his newest album "Starboy". It has a lot of great tracks like "All I Know", "Sidewalks", "Rockin'", "Love To Lay" and "Party Monster". They are also different, which makes me like this album even more. It also includes some interesting featuring artistis such as Daft Punk, Lana Del Rey and Future. Certainly a great album to listen and one of the greatest of the year in my opinion. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2017
    10
    one of the best albums i heard! the songs in the album is perfect! i like it! the weeknd prove him self again with this album after buty behind the madnes (that was a great album)! all who's want to buy the album is more than just can!
  6. Nov 25, 2016
    9
    Definitely his least dark album. Comparatively, not dark at all. I like Trilogy and all too but I embrace this change too. Those who absolutely can't will probably hate this album.
  7. Nov 25, 2016
    7
    The Weeknd is back. This time with more a more Michael Jackson and Prince esque bravado. This album has a solid number of entries, with the 80s dance vibe songs like, Rockin', Secrets, A Lonely Night and the Daft Punk produced "I Feel it Coming" rising to the top. The Weeknd also brought some great features, with Kendrick Lamar and Future all pulling their weight with excellent verses.The Weeknd is back. This time with more a more Michael Jackson and Prince esque bravado. This album has a solid number of entries, with the 80s dance vibe songs like, Rockin', Secrets, A Lonely Night and the Daft Punk produced "I Feel it Coming" rising to the top. The Weeknd also brought some great features, with Kendrick Lamar and Future all pulling their weight with excellent verses. Unfortunately, song like True Colors, Six Feet Under and Ordinary Life, are bogged down by a dull stereotypical RnB sound. This album has definitely pushed The Weeknd into new territory but, Im sitting here wondering if those plane RnB tracks should have been stripped, or replaced by more inventive and genre pushing songs. All in all, a good listen, he's done it again. Expand
  8. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    A mix between The Trilogy and BBTM, with A little Kissland. A match made in heaven... Prince and David Bowie would have loved this album. I recommend this album for all!
  9. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    Great album by The Weeknd... He has some experimental sounds in this album like "False Alarm" for example and he has some groovy ass sounds like "Secrets" and "Rockin". I definitely recommend this album.
  10. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    Oh man what can I say? This guy just keeps making bangers and chart toppers but still stays true to himself! I see some people hate on this new so called "pop" version of The Weeknd so wanted to add my two cents. Why is making great sounding pop music considered a bad thing? The Weeknd continues to evolve with each mixtape/album he drops. Great artists experiment with their sound... itOh man what can I say? This guy just keeps making bangers and chart toppers but still stays true to himself! I see some people hate on this new so called "pop" version of The Weeknd so wanted to add my two cents. Why is making great sounding pop music considered a bad thing? The Weeknd continues to evolve with each mixtape/album he drops. Great artists experiment with their sound... it is what makes them artists, their creative genius.

    This is the best and most excited I've been after a first listen to an album since Empire of The Suns debut and Julian Casablancas: Phrazes for the Young. The stretch of songs from Stargirl interlude - A lonely night is pure bliss. He's got the Michael Jackson swag with an incredible voice of his own and great cadence. I love that he experiments with different genres and sounds throughout the album. You got some trap hood tracks, some electro r&b, pop club songs, and even an interlude very indie rock. Hates might hate, but I am so on board with the direction The Weeknd is taking his music.

    10/10
    Collapse
  11. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    Um hinario desses, primeiro que o cd tem 18 musicas e mesmo assim consegue prender a atenção de quem o escuta de uma forma surpreendente, todas as musicas muito bem escritas e muito bem produzidas.
    Esse cd entra facilmente em um dos melhores do ano e como sempre o THE WEEKND SALVANDO O POP MASCULINO
  12. Nov 25, 2016
    8
    Very interesting album. First off, I gotta say, for an album of 18 tracks, Abel did a good job. It could have been better though. There was a bit of a clash between the more pop/80's inspired tracks and the more trap/hiphop sounds. In many tracks, he found the right balance, but the tracks with Future on them (All I Know, Six Feet Under) stuck out like a sore thumb. I wish he had justVery interesting album. First off, I gotta say, for an album of 18 tracks, Abel did a good job. It could have been better though. There was a bit of a clash between the more pop/80's inspired tracks and the more trap/hiphop sounds. In many tracks, he found the right balance, but the tracks with Future on them (All I Know, Six Feet Under) stuck out like a sore thumb. I wish he had just stuck w/ one direction though, but he didn't do a bad job of mixing them. What I liked about this album was that he has begun to reconcile his pop-side with his older side. The pop tracks, strangely, reminded me of House of Balloons more than the trap/hiphop stuff. Abel is a superstar in the making, and I like seeing his growth over albums. He still has a bit of artistic growth to do, in the sense of choosing what specific sound he wants his studio albums to convey (just like his mixtapes did very successfully), but I feel he is getting there slowly. Can't wait for his next offering.

    BEST: The Daft Punk songs, Rockin', Secrets
    WORST: The songs with Future's croak on them.

    7.8/10
    Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    This album is a big masterpiecei¡ in the modern pop music. Full of songs that could be easily hits, surprised for the album. I have been loving The Weeknd for years, but now finally I can define myself as a fan of Abel after listening to Starboy several times since it came out a few hours ago.
  14. Nov 25, 2016
    9
    After a thorough listen, I didn't understand how I should react to this album. Was it good? Was it bad? Was it just disappointing? After multiple hours spent trying to decide how I felt about it, I realized one thing. It's lit af fam.
  15. Nov 25, 2016
    9
    I really enjoyed this project after a few listens. What I like most about it is he ties in some of the newer pop sound of his with the old trilogy vibes. It is also much more cohesive than his last album bbtm. As a fan of the weeknd since I came across 3 random songs in 2010 (what you need, the morning, loft music) it changed the way I listened to rnb. His sound has been very influential.I really enjoyed this project after a few listens. What I like most about it is he ties in some of the newer pop sound of his with the old trilogy vibes. It is also much more cohesive than his last album bbtm. As a fan of the weeknd since I came across 3 random songs in 2010 (what you need, the morning, loft music) it changed the way I listened to rnb. His sound has been very influential. But there comes a time where some people need to give it a rest. A persons music will evolve over time. How can a man $50 million dollars richer possibly make the same music. It always irks me when people call him a sellout. He has a tremendous skill that he didn't want underground. He wanted to be heard. I can guarantee your fav underground artist doesn't want to be an underground artist. Rant over. Some absolute bangers on here. Get a king of the fall flow on six feet under, sidewalks feat. Kendrick Lamar is a masterpiece. Party monster feels like an anthem to me. Reminder, probably better bars tha most rappers. Die for you is has a great melody with exceptional vocals. There were only a few songs I wasn't a fan of and that could change. A must listen. Kudos to the the weeknd! Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2016
    8
    I am not a huge fan of the lead single Starboy but I enjoy every other track on this album.

    Fav tracks: True Colors, Stargirl, Sidewalks, Love to Lay, Attention, All I Know, Die for You
  17. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    Killing his old style has let out an entirely different beast. The Weeknd's "Starboy" is wild and explosive, jumping from bangers (Starboy, Six Feet Under) to R&B slow jams (True Colors) to pop gold (Love To Lay, I Feel It Coming). Great album full of amazing singles.
  18. Nov 25, 2016
    8
    Nice to know The Weeknd is improving his music, I've always found him nice, but this time he made something that I really fell in love with. The lead single happens to be the first song and from this point you already get a massive hit and vibing rhythm, I can't even describe how I loved it.
  19. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    The best part of Starboy is the fact that Abel found a way to tie both of his fanbases into one album. Some of the songs, such as Party Monster, Six Feet Under, and Attention, bring the original fans back to the first Trilogy of mixtapes, while songs such as Starboy, Rockin', Secrets, and Sidewalks reach out to the newer fans, who just heard him from his latest album. Nevertheless, TheThe best part of Starboy is the fact that Abel found a way to tie both of his fanbases into one album. Some of the songs, such as Party Monster, Six Feet Under, and Attention, bring the original fans back to the first Trilogy of mixtapes, while songs such as Starboy, Rockin', Secrets, and Sidewalks reach out to the newer fans, who just heard him from his latest album. Nevertheless, The Weeknd shines on his latest album, with no truly bad song. Here is a track by track rating of the songs.

    Starboy - 7/10 - The rating for this song used to be higher, but because of how it has been overplayed too many times, I have brought the rating down to a 7. The Weeknd kicks off his newest album with this Daft Punk produced song.

    Party Monster - 9/10 - A tribute to the old Weeknd is exactly what a good amount of his fans needed. The song reassures our hope that he still has some R&B roots left.

    False Alarm - 6/10 - This song doesn't sound like The Weeknd, at all. It doesn't flow with the rest of the album at all, and just sounds like another artists' song that was put on to this album. The music video makes the song so much better though.

    Reminder - 8/10 - Once again, Reminder takes us back to the mixtapes, which is very needed. The song isn't exactly catchy, and newer fans won't appreciate it, but for the older fans, such as myself, it is gold.

    Rockin' - 10/10 - With a catchy beat, Rockin' is one of the best songs on Starboy. The song has an upbeat tempo, and is so much fun to listen too.

    Secrets - 10/10 - Secrets is another good one. Once you listen to this song over and over again, it will get stuck in your head. The song has a great beat, and is very enjoyable to listen to.

    True Colors - 8/10 - This song also seems like a song that could fit in on his 2013 album Kiss Land. The song is amazing, but after two upbeat songs, it feels weird where it is on the album.

    Stargirl Interlude - 9/10 - Lana Del Rey makes her second appearance on a Weeknd album, and it's a good one. She belongs on the song, and makes it even better than it already is.

    Sidewalks - 10/10 - Upon seeing the tracklist, I knew that this song would be one of the best on the album. And it truly is. Kendrick delivers fire upon the Weeknd's voice, all upon an amazing beat.

    Six Feet Under - 9/10 - I thought that this song was good, but it kind of sounded like Low Life a little bit. The second verse had the exact same style and type of words, but overall, the song is great.

    Love To Lay - 10/10 - This song is another perfect one. On an upbeat tempo, The Weeknd delivers the right kind of music, and makes the song so enjoyable to listen to.

    A Lonely Night - 10/10 - The Weeknd truly resembles Michael Jackson on this track. It has a funk beat and just really works on this album.

    Attention - 10/10 - I really like this song because it reminds me of the Trilogy days. The song is a patronage to his older mixtapes, and is just amazing.

    Ordinary Life - 10/10 - This song reminds me of just cruising down the freeway, with all the windows down, and the volume turned all the way up. This song belongs in that scene.

    Nothing Without You - 9/10 - This song also stands out from all the other songs on the album. It has a different vibe than all the other songs, but the song works out.

    All I Know - 10/10 - The Weeknd and Future. How could that not be amazing. The song is awesome, and does a great job starting to slow the album down for the end.

    Die For You - 8/10 - I like this song, but it's not my favorite. Out of all the songs on the album, this song isn't my favorite.

    I Feel It Coming - 10/10 - This could be one of the best closing songs on an album ever, placing up there with Angel and Till The End. This song is amazing, and is honestly one of the best songs I have heard this year. An amazing close to an amazing album.
    Expand
  20. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    An amazing piece of work. A beautiful yet dark album. While some songs has a more pop feel, he still comes back to the eerie R&B sound he is known for. Auto-tune was unnecessary for someone with his voice, but works well. Amazing melodies, and vocal performance, and beautiful writing.
  21. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    Un grandioso regreso del exitoso The Weeknd. Los sonidos R&B/Soul fusionados con otros géneros hacen de este la mejor entrega de The Weeknd hasta la fecha.
  22. Dec 4, 2016
    8
    Probably the most experimental album by The Weeknd, himself. If I'm disappointed? Hell no.

    It's very clear that since "Beauty Behind The Madness" he'll not only focus in only one type of sound, and he's not afraid to do it. Even tho he's known by his dark sounding songs and all, it is very interesting to see and listen to him doing something more light. Not bad, Abel. Not bad!
  23. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    it's just like, if RAM and Yeezus have a son and they call him the weeknd, and the boy grown up to become a MTFK starboy!!! yes is the best album of 2016!!!
  24. Nov 27, 2016
    8
    Rich in sound, but a lack of artistry. This album by The Weeknd is refreshing and something new and therefore a good album, which will probably be a great commercial succes, but not really an artistic succes.
  25. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    huge effort made by Canadian act the weeknd. sounds familiar to his previous works but with a glimpse of fresh beats. this is by far my favorite album of 2016.
  26. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    This album completely blew me away. There is not a single song on the album that I don't like. The constant argument that I'm hearing is that it's "no Trilogy", which may be true, but this album is so different. What makes this album special is the constant changes in between songs from R&B to Pop to Hip/Hop and it WORKS. The transition finds a way to be so smooth and that is what makesThis album completely blew me away. There is not a single song on the album that I don't like. The constant argument that I'm hearing is that it's "no Trilogy", which may be true, but this album is so different. What makes this album special is the constant changes in between songs from R&B to Pop to Hip/Hop and it WORKS. The transition finds a way to be so smooth and that is what makes this one of the better albums I have heard in a very long time. I still am struggling to pick a favorite song on the album Expand
  27. Nov 25, 2016
    10
    The Weeknd is back and doing what he does best, make chill music based on edgy things like drugs and sex while sounding like Michael Jackson reincarnated.
  28. Nov 25, 2016
    5
    The Weeknd goes FULL pop on Starboy, and the results are.... inconsistent. The first 9 or 10 tracks are admittedly pretty great (i.e. Party Monster, Secrets, True Colors, Stargirl Interlude, and Sidewalks) and I really thought I was going to love this album for a while. Unfortunately, I found the 2nd half to be a joyless slog, save for the last two tracks. Way too much filler on here andThe Weeknd goes FULL pop on Starboy, and the results are.... inconsistent. The first 9 or 10 tracks are admittedly pretty great (i.e. Party Monster, Secrets, True Colors, Stargirl Interlude, and Sidewalks) and I really thought I was going to love this album for a while. Unfortunately, I found the 2nd half to be a joyless slog, save for the last two tracks. Way too much filler on here and the songs in the back half are just boring, underwritten, and derivative, without anything that makes them stand-out at all. If you really like mainstream pop music, you'll probably love this whole thing. Personally though, I much prefer Abél's darker, moody, experimental stuff from his mixtape days, and I fear he'll never make anything that comes remotely close to being as great as that again, especially with the way his career appears to be headed right now. Expand
  29. Nov 26, 2016
    8
    The album overall is pretty good. There are a couple songs like False Alarm and Secrets that just don't fit in. At the same time, there are certain songs like All I Know and Party Monster that I could listen to all day. I don't know if Stargirl Interlude was unfinished or not, but it was still satisfactory. I recommend, The Weeknd is shaping between a Frank Ocean and Michael Jackson.
  30. Nov 27, 2016
    6
    The singles were fantastic. The album on the other hand is very disappointing. Not bad, but disappointing nontheless. About one third of the songs is just nothing really special, these songs are just what you can expect from a pop album with a little bit of The Weeknd's original style mixed into them.
    Best songs: Starboy, I Feel It Coming, Sidewalks, Party Monster, False Alarm.
  31. Dec 1, 2016
    5
    overall this album was pretty meh. Half the songs are pretty good but the other half is straight garbage. Could've been something that we remembered for a while but we're gonna forget about this by february.
  32. Nov 27, 2016
    3
    Despite some slick production, the album is startlingly hollow, uninteresting and disappointing. Especially when compared to the artist's earlier work, there is a distinct lack of originality, mood and intrigue. Everything that made him an interesting act is gone, replaced with hum-drum designed to cater to "market research".
  33. Nov 25, 2016
    4
    Whole album sounds pretty generic (most of the songs sound same). There is only like one or two bangers, and the rest of the album bored me to death. And I expected the same quality as from the last album.
  34. Nov 26, 2016
    3
    came out of nowhere and does not have a good flow throughout the album.album's production is good but becomes too loud at times.the use of autotune is very obvious and shows the lack of talent in the artist
  35. Nov 25, 2016
    6
    Overall, the album, to me was a bit of a disappointment. How you feel about it depends on whether you prefer his new poppy style or his dark melodic old style. I personally didn't mind the music in the album but to me the album seemed a little bit stale, with some bright spots in Party Monster, I Feel It Coming and Die For You. It is pretty much confirmed after this album that The WeekndOverall, the album, to me was a bit of a disappointment. How you feel about it depends on whether you prefer his new poppy style or his dark melodic old style. I personally didn't mind the music in the album but to me the album seemed a little bit stale, with some bright spots in Party Monster, I Feel It Coming and Die For You. It is pretty much confirmed after this album that The Weeknd will almost certainly not return to his old type of music. Expand
  36. Nov 28, 2016
    8
    This album allows Abel to really experiment and come at you from different angles, now that he's clearly an established R&B star setting the trend. 'Party Monster' is the Weeknd at his finest, with other great tracks like Reminder, Sidewalks, 2 Daft Punk produced tracks; Starboy/I feel it coming. It gets better with each listen, but either way this album doesn't disappoint & clearly theThis album allows Abel to really experiment and come at you from different angles, now that he's clearly an established R&B star setting the trend. 'Party Monster' is the Weeknd at his finest, with other great tracks like Reminder, Sidewalks, 2 Daft Punk produced tracks; Starboy/I feel it coming. It gets better with each listen, but either way this album doesn't disappoint & clearly the Starboy World Tour will be proving that shortly. Expand
  37. Nov 25, 2016
    7
    Starboy consistently delivers as a medium of dark, immediate pop anthems and does so without even breaking a sweat. However, as with some of his recent work, the songs' effect don't seem to last more than a hazy night.
  38. Nov 25, 2016
    7
    Yes, the whole album sounds the same, and yes, the singles are not the group's best. But it is still a blast to play it at the party or just chill with it.
  39. Nov 26, 2016
    7
    Starboy is a good album, no doubt, but it's not an evolution from Beauty Behind The Madness. While his successor was hailed because each song stands out for its golden melodies, good instrumental and original lyrics, here in Starboy everything sounds very similar. A pop album like any other, is expected to produce 3 top 10 singles for the radios and will be a successful era, but it'sStarboy is a good album, no doubt, but it's not an evolution from Beauty Behind The Madness. While his successor was hailed because each song stands out for its golden melodies, good instrumental and original lyrics, here in Starboy everything sounds very similar. A pop album like any other, is expected to produce 3 top 10 singles for the radios and will be a successful era, but it's definely in a well below level from his BBTM era. Expand
  40. Jun 29, 2017
    10
    definetly gd electro rnb album influential for the genre not music but bbm remains his best project with the mixtapes although he influences his voice out for the album
  41. Nov 28, 2016
    10
    One the catchiest songs ever written. Great combination of sound/beat and The Weeknd's slick delivery. He has a great range and has now moved on from his trademark hair.
  42. Nov 30, 2016
    9
    If you were to ask me what I think Starboy is supposed to represent within The Weeknd's discography, I would have to say that it shows that as beloved he was for his edgy R&B, he can do Pop music in an equally edgy way; however, it may still be on the way. This is a definitive Pop album to my ears. Gone are tracks soaked in tears and fueled by hurt, and instead, I'm met with songs inspiredIf you were to ask me what I think Starboy is supposed to represent within The Weeknd's discography, I would have to say that it shows that as beloved he was for his edgy R&B, he can do Pop music in an equally edgy way; however, it may still be on the way. This is a definitive Pop album to my ears. Gone are tracks soaked in tears and fueled by hurt, and instead, I'm met with songs inspired by The Hurting from Tears For Fears. In fact, we've gone the furtherest away from The Weeknd's traditions in this release, and it's not bad. I actually think it's quite great.

    Now, there's no way around this: if you are a fan of The Weeknd's old sound, specifically, and found Beauty Behind the Madness to be unbearable or just listenable, you might dislike this album from end to end. Now, if you like The Weeknd's traditional sounds and like current Pop trends (which includes that throwback sound) you might just love this album.

    I've been a fan of The Weeknd's inspirations since before I knew who The Weeknd was, since before I'd even consider listening to an artist who left an "e" out of his or her name. The Hurting is one of my most favorite albums of all time. Michael Jackson had such an amazing sound and defined an era and preceding artists. It's impossible for me to not see who The Weeknd is among for. It's impossible to not see where he sees himself.

    Songs like Rockin', Secrets and A Lonely Night are only several examples of songs that actually capture moments from decades ago. Secrets takes on a New Wave aesthetic, complete with the cheesy lyrics you know you bellow to your favorite 80s movie during that one montage. There's really no shame stemming from the Pop side of things. The Weeknd proves his vocal chops while wearing his inspirations on leather sleeves, and he'll intertwine those tracks with Future verses and Lana Del Rey Interludes if he wants to.

    But, ironically, those songs in between Pop/Alt-Pop ventures may not all be satisfying. Excluding Sidewalks and Reminders, The Weeknd's sound which has been copy/pasted ever since 2011 is woefully underdeveloped — and while most of these songs pass my test, they can borderline boring and, unfortunately, unoriginal.

    Starting with Six Feet Under, this is a song that about halfway through, transforms into an almost lesser version of Low Life. I mean, The Weeknd adopts part of his previous flow. I only say it's almost lesser because I think that either of the songs can replace the other while the other lives in an alternative universe, but Future's addition to Six Feet Under seem less interesting (I never listen to Future anyway, though).

    However, the biggest offender in the track listing is Ordinary Life. This track seems to be a copy of his old sound, like The Weeknd was just spending so much time being affected by the 80s' transcending soul that by the time he snapped out of his stupor, he had mere minutes to throw together a "classic" track together before he had to send the master to the record label. Maybe False Alarm missed the mark for a lot of fans, but if any one of them felt more at ease listening to Ordinary Life, I truly misjudged how hungry some people are for even scraps of an old sound. by my accounts, this song would be more appropriately named Ordinary Song. I think The Weeknd could have just gotten away with just putting King Of The Fall on this album instead of Ordinary Song; I mean, Ordinary Life.

    You can now breathe. I'm almost done here. I just want to make it known how I judge an album, because, though I have my issues with the album, they are, without-a-doubt, out-shined by the majority of the album. I know Future tried his best to ruin a decent song with red-card-level lyrics like "Have you f***ed a **** this pretty? Hit her on the first night and went and bought t***ies" but he just couldn't do it. Starboy is still a major piece of work in my book. There's just too much raw vocal talent here to let a lyric or two mess with the image. I'll admit that I will probably only be listening to the entire album for a few months, then I'll be finding the quickest short cut to the skip two particular tracks — but only just two tracks. I enjoy the old sound. I enjoy the new voice afflictions. I enjoy the energy. I feel less like I'm drunk at 2AM with a bottle of Bacardi in one hand and my cellphone with an iMessage conversation permanently on the screen for the rest of the night, and more like I've already gotten over my love loss, but I'm thinking back to those times with a new perspective. While I would have no qualms with Monsieur Tesfaye progressing his generation of R&B, I am currently happy imagining Taylor Swift learning what happens when you touch a n***a's hair. Get your awards took.

    Note: I didn't not include my thoughts on the Kendrick feature because, well, Kendrick is Kendrick. If that sounds good to you, you'll most likely love the track. If that doesn't, you'll probably skip. I do like the track, though.
    Expand
  43. Dec 2, 2016
    7
    Pra quem conhece The Weeknd há mais tempo que o seu "Beauty Behind The Madness" lançado ano passado, fica difícil se surpreender com o seu novo disco, o "Starboy". O disco que tem o título em homenagem ao David Bowie e uma capa muito bem feita que remete a quadrinhos com um esquema de cores muito bem feito, o seu sexto na sua discografia e terceiro dentro de uma grande gravadora, acabaPra quem conhece The Weeknd há mais tempo que o seu "Beauty Behind The Madness" lançado ano passado, fica difícil se surpreender com o seu novo disco, o "Starboy". O disco que tem o título em homenagem ao David Bowie e uma capa muito bem feita que remete a quadrinhos com um esquema de cores muito bem feito, o seu sexto na sua discografia e terceiro dentro de uma grande gravadora, acaba pecando pela falta de ideias realmente inovadoras e pelo excesso de faixas. São mais de 1 hora de 8 minutos de faixas muito mal alinhadas por sinal, que acabam por formar uma verdadeira montanha russa de sobe e desce entre canções boas e medianas.
    O álbum começa com a faixa título "Starboy" que contém participação de Daft Punk, ela não é uma faixa surpreendente, mas é ótima e cumpre bem o seu papel, além de ter dado uma grande expectativa para que o álbum agora ouvido fosse um dos maiores de 2016. Os números não mentem, o álbum é um dos mais executados do Spotify em mais de 80 países e quebrando de recorde de execuções nesse curto intervalo de tempo. Certamente os números se dão pelo cuidado das faixas que são divididas em mais de 20 produtores escalados e muito bem lapidadas para chegarem ao topo das paradas. Talvez separadas, as faixas soem até mais agradáveis. Fica evidente em como as faixas foram mal alocadas. Outro ponto negativo do álbum é a falta de The Weeknd realmente se reinventar, ele ainda continua a se reciclar e não traz grandes novidades em comparação ao seu disco de 2015. Toda a cena onde o The Weeknd mata o antigo no clipe de "Starboy" acaba por não ser tão verdadeira assim. Há sim tentativas de se recriar, em faixas como "False Alarm", mas o resultado acaba por ser ruim. Future aparece em 2 faixas do disco, "Six Feet Under" e "All I Know", ambas muito mal aproveitadas, sendo a primeira uma releitura mais fraca do hit deles "Low Life". As outras participações, de Kendrick Lamar e Lana Del Rey, que poderiam ser pontos fortes, acabam por ser somente eficazes dentro das limitações dos artistas de se encontrar ao estilo de The Weeknd. Há pontos positivos sensacionais como nas faixas "Reminder", "Secrets", na molha calcinha "True Colors" e na segunda parte do disco que vem a ser mais equilibrada. A participação mais interessante ainda é a de Daft Punk que acaba por imprimir mais química na "I Feel It Coming" que fecha o disco, na minha opinião a melhor.
    Sem sombra de dúvidas, The Weeknd é um dos artistas mais interessantes e talentosos da atualidade, consegue resgatar excelentes influências de The Smiths, Michael Jackson, Prince, Talking Heads e Bad Brains. O que ele erra em "Starboy" é pelo excesso, um cd totalmente cansativo na primeira ouvida. As letras pouco convencem e acabam por soar o mais do mesmo, uma verdadeira reciclagem, só que de forma mais higienizada e mais limitada dentro do que ele já nos mostrou até hoje.
    Expand
  44. Jan 7, 2017
    4
    While it triumphes in several places, Starboy ends up being overly-long with mainly A LOT of filler tracks. The lead single is a great ear-worm, the vicious 'Party Monster' hits in all the right places, other tracks like 'Six Feet Under' and 'Reminder' are typically Abel songs. On the other hand, tracks like 'Secrets', 'Feel it Coming', 'Die For You' and others completely lose The WeekndWhile it triumphes in several places, Starboy ends up being overly-long with mainly A LOT of filler tracks. The lead single is a great ear-worm, the vicious 'Party Monster' hits in all the right places, other tracks like 'Six Feet Under' and 'Reminder' are typically Abel songs. On the other hand, tracks like 'Secrets', 'Feel it Coming', 'Die For You' and others completely lose The Weeknd charm and feel too generic. This album is a sonic mess. Go back to your Trilogy days, XO. Expand
  45. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    One of the best music productions I have ever heard. Through this album, The Weeknd has skillfully displayed his mastery in a range of music genres while seamlessly blending them with his own unique artistic style, and still surprisingly able to deliver a coherent experience
  46. Dec 6, 2016
    8
    Solid 9 on production creativity (Shout out to Daft Punk!) but a strong 8 overall. Why? The Weeknd's career from Trilogy to Starboy is like a creature crawling out from under the bed in the dark, to now laying in the bed with the lights on. With a new haircut. While singing. At first the singing was kind of creepy and alluring, but now its more open and inviting.
    The Weeknd has talent!
    Solid 9 on production creativity (Shout out to Daft Punk!) but a strong 8 overall. Why? The Weeknd's career from Trilogy to Starboy is like a creature crawling out from under the bed in the dark, to now laying in the bed with the lights on. With a new haircut. While singing. At first the singing was kind of creepy and alluring, but now its more open and inviting.
    The Weeknd has talent! Amazing talent that makes it impossible for him to put out a truly bad album, especially since his core subject matter ( his voice, sex, love like themes, drugs, mistrust, money now, & more sex) are ever present.
    The artist we see now is much more exploratory than when he debuted, "False Alarm" should be all the proof anyone needs. As he says in the title track, he "switch out his style & take any lane," very clearly refusing to limit himself. I applaud him for that, and since every song on the album debuted on the Billboard hot 100 at the same time I'd say its working. Now mind you, this album is a tribute to David Bowie & Prince, which Weeknd is no stranger to showing respect to those that came before him (D.D from Trilogy is still my favorite one to date). It was a very good tribute, people dont know that.
    He himself is a little of the same, but his behavior communicated through the music used to carry a strong undertone of regret and confusion regarding his actions with women. "Twenty-Eight", anyone? Now, his music is a little confusing. I guess all his one night stands get him on " A Lonely Night" but he will also die for someone? Is that person Valerie? :D I'm just not sure. How'd we get from "Thursday" to here? He found this more sincere part of himself on BBTM with Earned It, and it was his first #1 single. So now, we mix that new exploratory Weeknd, with more fame & ego, and old Weeknd. Bam. Starboy.
    Anyway, we core Weeknd fans just aren't sure what to do with this newly super confidant, resigned to his destruction Starboy. In the darkness, there was this hope that things could change and get better maybe. Now, he says its too late for him and we should give up. Never! He can bring back that deeper part of himself anytime he wants. Please, feel free to reflect everything whenever you want! A mixtape would be fine again, just like when he started. We'll be waiting
    Expand
  47. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    The Weeknd just out-popped the pop kings. To me it feels like this is the direction he should keep moving towards. He's still talking about the same things, but everything production-wise is so fancy.

    My only minor gripes: I'm not a fan of Future so "All I Know" is not a favorite song of mine. "False Alarm"'s chorus is just too wacky for me. "Stargirl (Interlude)" just feels like a
    The Weeknd just out-popped the pop kings. To me it feels like this is the direction he should keep moving towards. He's still talking about the same things, but everything production-wise is so fancy.

    My only minor gripes: I'm not a fan of Future so "All I Know" is not a favorite song of mine. "False Alarm"'s chorus is just too wacky for me. "Stargirl (Interlude)" just feels like a missed opportunity. Sometimes it feels like he's being a bit repetitive, but at least he's saying good stuff over and over and not the garbage other artists spew out.

    But every single other of the 15 songs on the album are songs I will be repeating for a long time on my playlists. I'm not even a big pop fan but he has a unique voice that's fun to sing along with.
    Expand
  48. Oct 30, 2017
    10
    Perfect, just Perfect. From "Starboy" to "I Feel It Coming", this album is the resolution of perfection. I have no more words to describe who I love this.
  49. Mar 4, 2017
    8
    I really liked this album. It's full of a collection of great extremely well-made songs you can just put on and jam out to whenever. I don't really think this is an album made for a full length listen, which might be why some people are giving it lower scores than it deserves. However, I think that is just fine, especially because of when you look at in interviews how he talked about thisI really liked this album. It's full of a collection of great extremely well-made songs you can just put on and jam out to whenever. I don't really think this is an album made for a full length listen, which might be why some people are giving it lower scores than it deserves. However, I think that is just fine, especially because of when you look at in interviews how he talked about this is his first album where going into it there was no overall concept for the album. It was just a burst of creative pop energy he had to get out after BBTM. Expand
  50. Nov 28, 2016
    6
    Disappointing album. When Starboy came out, I was really excited about the new album (because I was a huge fan of The Weeknd), but then I saw the album had 18 tracks and it instantly threw me off. It's not so much about the quantity but how familiar you are with The Weeknd. What are The Weeknd songs about? Sex, drugs, partying, fame, how tragic his life is. I don't think I could listen toDisappointing album. When Starboy came out, I was really excited about the new album (because I was a huge fan of The Weeknd), but then I saw the album had 18 tracks and it instantly threw me off. It's not so much about the quantity but how familiar you are with The Weeknd. What are The Weeknd songs about? Sex, drugs, partying, fame, how tragic his life is. I don't think I could listen to 18 songs about that, and I couldn't because a lot of the songs sounded the same and he still uses the same producers (with the exception of Daft Punk). The user ratings are over-inflated with undeserved 10s, even though Starboy is about as long and repetitive as Drake's Views and about as disappointing as Kiss Land.

    I don't expect the next Trilogy but I do want an album that's just as good, even BBTM grew on me. The Weeknd is so far ahead of his contemporaries that it's a bigger shame he waste his talent on doing nothing but brag. "I’m in the blue Mulsanne bumping New Edition", "I'm just too distracted with the life I'm tryna paint", "Homeless to Forbes List" (didn't he brag about that before?), and some corny verse about getting head.

    I enjoyed half the songs on the album but I haven't heard the entire album more than once. It's just too generic and the majority of the album is an inconsistent mix between uptempo house and melodic trap. All of the songs are meant to be played as singles so it doesn't feel like a complete album. The auto-tune and guest features added nothing to the album. Kendrick's verse is often hit-and-miss with pop songs. This is a mediocre album and mediocre is unacceptable when we have a lot of good R&B albums this year.
    Expand
  51. Dec 16, 2016
    7
    The album, overall, is a R&B / Pop-esque set: Tracks like Starboy, Rockin', Secrets, A Lonely Night and I Feel It Coming are a good proof of it. Before writing this review, I've seen another one which says that the album is a masterpiece in modern pop music, and I very agree with that. The songs are plenty worked, and they show us Abel's true inspirations, from Michael Jackson, R. Kelly toThe album, overall, is a R&B / Pop-esque set: Tracks like Starboy, Rockin', Secrets, A Lonely Night and I Feel It Coming are a good proof of it. Before writing this review, I've seen another one which says that the album is a masterpiece in modern pop music, and I very agree with that. The songs are plenty worked, and they show us Abel's true inspirations, from Michael Jackson, R. Kelly to Prince. But not all the set is based on Pop-esque tracks, there're some songs that take us back to the first mixtapes of Abel. Tracks like Party Monster, Reminder or Attention will make old-fans be grateful of Starboy. Maybe it is not the album I was expecting, but I'm glad with the result, and I'm sure both new and old fans will feel happy.
    Highlights: Starboy, Rockin', Secrets, Sidewalks, Love to Lay, A Lonely Night and I Feel It Coming.
    Expand
  52. Mar 14, 2017
    8
    Even as an indictment of pop music and stardom, The Weeknd's Starboy album is head and shoulders above its competition. Catchy and upbeat with a nihilistic hedonism embedded throughout each track, it seems to spend a good portion of its runtime critiquing its own existence.
  53. Dec 1, 2016
    10
    I know some people are mad about this album being a lot different from Trilogy and BBTM. To me, it sounds like a straight masterpiece and is beautifully written with catchy beats. All the songs from this album are fantastic (In my opinion) and also, you can already tell that a lot of these will become hits. The Weeknd brings his dark lyrics and attempts to sing it in a really sweet rhythm.I know some people are mad about this album being a lot different from Trilogy and BBTM. To me, it sounds like a straight masterpiece and is beautifully written with catchy beats. All the songs from this album are fantastic (In my opinion) and also, you can already tell that a lot of these will become hits. The Weeknd brings his dark lyrics and attempts to sing it in a really sweet rhythm. A genius and amazing album. Expand
  54. Dec 1, 2016
    7
    The album as a whole is very well produced and is very cohesive; however, this feels very safe. It feels like The Weeknd has done this before and tells the same stories about drugs, money and women. It's time for him to write songs about different subject matter.
  55. Dec 15, 2016
    9
    I liked the album. His aesthetic hasn't changed much but he's still cool and his music is soooo addicting. I also loved Lana del Rey as a background voice. My favorites are Nothing Without You, Party Monster, Rockin', etc. Good overall. PS Why does he have an obsession with saying the words **** **** 'ass' **** lmao
  56. Oct 26, 2017
    7
    On their third studio album, The Weeknd "reborn" with an eighteenth-century feel and captivates their fans again.

    The new disc of The Weeknd can be defined in three questions: Decades of 70, 80, and the Mainstream. With so many tracks on the album - 18, exactly - Abel gets the prowess of not having many disposable songs, which was expected by the CD to have so many tracks. Between
    On their third studio album, The Weeknd "reborn" with an eighteenth-century feel and captivates their fans again.

    The new disc of The Weeknd can be defined in three questions: Decades of 70, 80, and the Mainstream.

    With so many tracks on the album - 18, exactly - Abel gets the prowess of not having many disposable songs, which was expected by the CD to have so many tracks.

    Between observations and highlights, The Weeknd continues to catch the attention of critics around the world with its ease of homage to great icons of music. This time, Bowie and Prince are "present" on the album.

    Retro music, synthesized, oitentistas footprints, references to the great legends of music, make Starboy a critical success and one of the great albums of the year.

    Do not wonder if during the record, you remember another giant of music: Michael Jackson. Not that The Weeknd honors the "King of Pop" blatantly, but it's easy to remember Pop's top legend by listening to the rhythms and vocals lined up on synthesizers who emulate a Michael Jackson.

    Another clear mention to the album, is Abel open and close the album with partnerships with the Daft Punk duo. One of the highlights of the album, the track number # 1, which also gets the name of the work, "Starboy". Entitled to an excellent clip, the initial track is literally a delight to listen to.

    Who closes the album, is also a feat. with Daft Punk. As we mentioned above, The Weeknd abuses the 70's in their songs, and makes a spectacular sound, entitled to a Soul exhaled in the song.
    Expand
  57. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    Starboy melhor album masculino de 2016, sem palavras para o hinário negro com beats maravilhosas e letras maduras. toco de amarrar jegue do bruno mars ESMURRADO pelo rei the weeknd, volta pros anos 80 reginaldo rossi dos EUA desgraçado
  58. Jun 30, 2017
    8
    Starboy 10/10
    Party Monster 10/10
    False Alarm 8/10
    Reminder 9/10
    Rockin' 8/10
    Secrets 9/10
    True Colors 8/10
    Sidewalks 9/10
    Six Feet Under 8/10
    Love To Lay 9/10
    A Lonely Night 7/10
    Attention 6/10
    Ordinary Life 8/10
    Nothing Without You 5/10
    All I Know 6/10
    Die For You 10/10
    I Feel It Coming 10/10

    General Note: 8.23
  59. Jan 21, 2019
    7
    The opening track 'Starboy' is a breath of fresh air as it is a completely new sound for Abel with a banging opening and a killer music video. Kendrick and Future prove to excel on 'Sidewalks' & 'All I Know' with great verses (especially Kendrick, really sounding like himself from 'To Pimp a Butterfly'). Tracks like 'Rockin' and 'A Lonely Night', produced by pop music royalty writers MaxThe opening track 'Starboy' is a breath of fresh air as it is a completely new sound for Abel with a banging opening and a killer music video. Kendrick and Future prove to excel on 'Sidewalks' & 'All I Know' with great verses (especially Kendrick, really sounding like himself from 'To Pimp a Butterfly'). Tracks like 'Rockin' and 'A Lonely Night', produced by pop music royalty writers Max Martin, Savan Kotecha & Ali Payami who Abel had worked with before with his crossover smash hit 'Can't Feel My Face" and under rated 'In the Night' are undeniably hits in the making. As Abel said in his interview with Zane Lowe, his favourite track on the album right now is 'Secrets'. I can see what he means, the chorus is infectious and the verses are seemingly pleasant to listen to, The album concludes with a moody, Michael Jackson- like 'I Feel It Coming' with the assistance of the Grammy Award winning French duo 'Daft Punk'. It's no BBTM but is that a bad thing? The album is on the list with Lemonade, Anti and Joanne with worldwide artists trying to change what pop music is now. I don't believe it's his Thriller per se but definitely it is his Dangerous or Bad. (Michael Jackson) Expand
  60. Nov 28, 2016
    10
    I have been following the Weeknd since his very first mixtape. I have loved every subsequent mixtape or album. The thing is some people might like his older music and some his newer music, but I enjoy his creativity, his mind and how he tells his story through his music. I am really enjoying his evolution. People that are just into his music may be disappointed with some of the stuff heI have been following the Weeknd since his very first mixtape. I have loved every subsequent mixtape or album. The thing is some people might like his older music and some his newer music, but I enjoy his creativity, his mind and how he tells his story through his music. I am really enjoying his evolution. People that are just into his music may be disappointed with some of the stuff he released but the people who enjoy him as an artist, his music and his evolution will get it, and Will love it. Also you have to have and open mind and be inclusive of various genres of music to understand his direction. Anyways bomb album!!!!! Expand
  61. Dec 1, 2016
    4
    Despite some slick production, the album is startlingly hollow, uninteresting and disappointing. Especially when compared to the artist's earlier work, there is a distinct lack of originality, mood and intrigue. Everything that made him an interesting act is gone, replaced with hum-drum designed to cater to "market research"
  62. Dec 3, 2016
    6
    One of the more popular names in music today, The Weeknd's "Starboy" is an album in which the highs are great, but the sheer length of the project hurts the rating. Too many filler tracks that should have been left off crowd the 18 track project, and if shortened to 10-12 tracks, may be a contender against his "Trilogy" mixtapes. Overall, a catchy, pop record great for driving and workingOne of the more popular names in music today, The Weeknd's "Starboy" is an album in which the highs are great, but the sheer length of the project hurts the rating. Too many filler tracks that should have been left off crowd the 18 track project, and if shortened to 10-12 tracks, may be a contender against his "Trilogy" mixtapes. Overall, a catchy, pop record great for driving and working out, making the album a moderate success for what Abel was going for on his third album. Expand
  63. Dec 9, 2016
    8
    Starboy by the Weeknd is a great album. It has some of the best songs of the year on it. It has its bad songs but there is no one song that just completely ruins the album. The lead single (while it may be overplayed) is probably one of the best songs of 2016, absolutely fantastic instrumental by Daft Punk with a catchy chorus and great verses. Other great songs from this album include;Starboy by the Weeknd is a great album. It has some of the best songs of the year on it. It has its bad songs but there is no one song that just completely ruins the album. The lead single (while it may be overplayed) is probably one of the best songs of 2016, absolutely fantastic instrumental by Daft Punk with a catchy chorus and great verses. Other great songs from this album include; True Colors, Sidewalks, Attention, Die For You and I Feel It Coming. Good songs include; Party Monster, False Alarm, Reminder, Six Feet Under, Love to Lay, Ordinary Life, Nothing Without You. Mediocre songs include; Secrets, Rockin', A Lonely Night. I don't think there are really any terrible songs on this album, I don't like Stargirl Interlude, I don't think Lana Del Rey has great vocals on this song, The Weeknd is barely even in the song and I don't think it fits in with the album so I made it the worst song on this album, however, All I Know is also pretty awful but I hate Future so that might have something to do with it. Kendrick Lamar is fantastic with his verse on Sidewalks and is a proper feature on this album. Daft Punk was great on both Starboy and I Feel It Coming which are probably the two best songs on this album which they were involved in. Like I said before I didn't like the Future feature in All I Know at all, however, he was used properly in Six Feet Under and actually positively added to the song with his autotuned voice in the background instead of in the forefront. I really enjoy the slower ballad-like songs that Abel has on the album like True Colors, Die For You and Nothing Without You and even I Feel It Coming, I feel like these songs showcase what a nice voice the Weeknd really has and shows his talent and are some of the best songs on the album.

    This album has so many great songs that are truly fantastic and not too many that are bad which is why it deserves the high rating.
    Expand
  64. Dec 13, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review is part of a college project so please don't take this review seriously.
    The Starboy album by The Weeknd. I can’t say I'm a huge fan of The Weeknd but I have mixed feelings about Starboy.
    After listening to the album for a few weeks now I can’t say I'm a huge fan of the album. Out of the 18 songs in the album I only like 2 of them.
    1. Starboy
    3. False Alarm
    The duration of the album is a reasonable 68 minutes (1 hour and 8 minutes) so nothing to complain about there. After comparing his last album to his latest I find that the kind of sound the same but that might just be me. Definitely his least dark album he has made overall.
    Very interesting album. For an album of 18 tracks, they did a good job. It could have been better though.
    Overall it's good but becomes too loud at times. The use of auto tune is very obvious and shows the lack of talent in the artist. If you have £10 burning a hole in your pocket and have nothing to do this weekend I recommend this album.
    Words
    Expand
  65. Jul 20, 2019
    10
    this is one of the greatest albums of decade and i can't believe it rate is under 80.
  66. Feb 28, 2017
    6
    The Weeknd is back with another record now capitalizing on the electronic style used in the past records. the album has nice moments but 70% of the time, I find myself bored from the filler tracks this album is riddled with. Overall, when there's something interesting it demands attention but then you're also left listening to horrible excuses to increase album length.
  67. Feb 16, 2017
    7
    With his latest album, The Weeknd has built a solid piece of work. The vast majority of the songs on this album are uninspired and follow a predictable pattern. Most of his tracks are comprised of interesting beats and contrived lyrics, giving an impression of synthetic content. That is not to say that there are not any exceptional tracks, as both "Sidewalks" and "Starboy" show obviousWith his latest album, The Weeknd has built a solid piece of work. The vast majority of the songs on this album are uninspired and follow a predictable pattern. Most of his tracks are comprised of interesting beats and contrived lyrics, giving an impression of synthetic content. That is not to say that there are not any exceptional tracks, as both "Sidewalks" and "Starboy" show obvious merit. Overall this album would be fitting to play in a club, but when it comes time to be critically examined, there are some obvious flaws. Expand
  68. Mar 12, 2017
    5
    Nada surpreendente. Ele conseguiu criar uma imagem própria nesse álbum, mas algumas musicas ficaram extremamente genéricas e má produzidas. Apesar disso, algumas musicas acabaram salvando o álbum.
  69. Mar 21, 2017
    6
    it's................................................................................................................................................ok
  70. Jul 28, 2019
    5
    Starboy definitely had some very good tracks on it. It still featured some great vocals and a beautiful vibe at points, but it hits the mark far less consistently than his best, is watered down, and padded out to oblivion. It feels like a sell out after the artistic heights he has reached before.
  71. Apr 17, 2017
    6
    The Weeknd - Starboy (2016)

    6.5 / 10

    Decent album, but some tracks are very repetitive. This album has some great songs, but listening to it as an album feels like you are listening to the same thing, and not a lot of ideas are expressed. It feels like The Weeknd has nothing left to say.
  72. Apr 24, 2017
    10
    Abel Makkonen Tesfaye blew me away with this new album, it seems like some of the songs like six feet under, sidewalks, all i know, ordinary life, and true colors could tell a story about somebody's life, they could even use those songs in a movie. Because if I were to write a movie about something deep, and truthful from the heart and those songs help express it, I would ask him to be inAbel Makkonen Tesfaye blew me away with this new album, it seems like some of the songs like six feet under, sidewalks, all i know, ordinary life, and true colors could tell a story about somebody's life, they could even use those songs in a movie. Because if I were to write a movie about something deep, and truthful from the heart and those songs help express it, I would ask him to be in the movie and if i could use his music Expand
  73. May 23, 2017
    8
    Starboy is a great listen, there are definitely some filler tracks but overall I just enjoy listening to this album.

    Best songs: Party Monster / Secrets / Sidewalks
  74. Jun 21, 2017
    4
    I’ve been obsessed with music reviews ever since middle school. I remember searching Metacritic endlessly for scores on all my favorite albums and ones that I was planning to listen to. But then and even now, I still wonder how many times a reviewer actually listens to an album before rating it. Personally, I have a three-step process; but for the first time in a long time, I’veI’ve been obsessed with music reviews ever since middle school. I remember searching Metacritic endlessly for scores on all my favorite albums and ones that I was planning to listen to. But then and even now, I still wonder how many times a reviewer actually listens to an album before rating it. Personally, I have a three-step process; but for the first time in a long time, I’ve encountered an LP that I couldn’t take the distance. That album is The Weeknd’s Starboy.

    Phase 1 - Shower Listen: This listen always has me at my calmest, so naturally I was mostly receptive. I thought to myself, “There’s some bangers on here, a couple of duds, but still a good piece of Pop.”

    Phase 2 - Surfing the Web: Without the soothing, hot water distraction of Phase 1, my ears were left unprotected from this LP's superficial subject matter and cringe inducing transitions. Only 5 tracks into my second phase, I had to say **** it"- I put my laptop to the side and skipped to Phase 3, hoping to quickly end my suffering.

    Phase 3 - Hardcore Listen: I did abide by this phase’s rule of putting all distractions to the side, but reading along to the lyrics, as I usually do, was on a level of masochism I had yet to achieve. I came to the conclusion that it was in the album’s best interest if I didn’t know what Tesfaye was singing about 100% of the time.

    Like the geezer I am, my introduction to the alternative r&b artist was through the overwhelmingly popular, "The Hills Have Eyes." I actually enjoyed the track at the time, feeling it brought something new to the scene with its strangely creepy but sexy vibe. I thought to myself, "This song would be perfect to grind to at a Halloween Party." Sadly, I cannot provide you with any quirky commentary regarding Starboy- only pain. Starboy feels like the product of an artist that is bored with his sound, singing on these tracks with the intensity of a person reading from index cards. This complete lack of passion stands in stark contrast to the electro-pop numbers, "Rockin'" and "False Alarm," which erupt with an ass-shaking energy that is sorely missing from the rest of the album. But why flirt with these sounds when you could commit the whole album conceptually to it? Maybe, (A) He wants to stick with a winning formula, or (B) He's lazy.

    The topics Tesfaye covers on Starboy are staples of the rap and r&b genre- ripping on haters, flexing your fame, missing a girl, being wronged by a woman. There's nothing wrong with this being well worn territory, but the problem is that he does nothing to creatively convey his ideas on these topics. In fact, sometimes he doesn't offer any ideas at all. On "Attention," he sings about a girl that's acting up because she's looking for attention...and that's really it. We don't hear anything detailing their relationship, experiences they've shared, or even characteristics of this woman he's complaining about. It's just a song for song's sake. Kill. Me. Now.

    Oh, let's not forget the gutter trash transitions- It's as if they just made sure to put the big single, "Starboy," at the beginning of the album, "Stargirl Interlude" in the middle, and said **** it" from there. I'm sure there's a couple of decent tracks on here I missed, but it's impossible to remain receptive during a listen when the track listing is so haphazardly slapped together- YES, the songs' orientation to each other affects the album's pacing. And YES, this plays a crucial role in what the listener is experiencing. ****.

    You know what? In the spirit of the lack of craftsmanship of Starboy, I’m just going to end this review. Nope, nothing clever or thought provoking here. It’s just an ending to end things.
    Expand
  75. Jul 17, 2017
    6
    it's okay............................................................................................................................................................
  76. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    Desde que ouvi starboy pela primeira vez já senti o impacto dessa nova era, não tem uma música nesse album que não vicie, felizmente melhor album masculino de 2016,
  77. Oct 10, 2017
    6
    Creo que pudo ser mejor sin embargo Starboy es una fantastica expresion entre lo que se debe y no se debe ser. Los sonidos y las letras me hacen creer que puedo ser mejor, me hacen querer ser mejor pero a la larga se vuelve tedioso.
  78. Nov 9, 2017
    7
    Альбом который вытащили французы из Daft Punk и хороший вокал от самого Weeknd,жаль что не все треки такие как Starboy и I Feel it Coming.Но а так альбом довольно слабый 4-5 хороших треков на такую обширную пластинку маловато,но альбом всё таки достоен внимания.Альбом который вытащили французы из Daft Punk и хороший вокал от самого Weeknd,жаль что не все треки такие как Starboy и I Feel it Coming.Но а так альбом довольно слабый 4-5 хороших треков на такую обширную пластинку маловато,но альбом всё таки достоен внимания.
  79. Dec 29, 2017
    10
    One of the best albums from 2017. Talks aobut the struggles and great voice.
  80. May 6, 2018
    4
    Why is there so much filler? Obviously, we know the answer; there's tons of filler because that's how you make money in the streaming environment (I don't really blame Abel, the chart system and stuff are all really messed up). But it does hurt the quality of the product. There are some quality tracks on here: Starboy, False Alarm, Party Monster, I Feel it Coming, Sidewalks. But the songsWhy is there so much filler? Obviously, we know the answer; there's tons of filler because that's how you make money in the streaming environment (I don't really blame Abel, the chart system and stuff are all really messed up). But it does hurt the quality of the product. There are some quality tracks on here: Starboy, False Alarm, Party Monster, I Feel it Coming, Sidewalks. But the songs that aren't high-quality are so forgettable that I can't recommend listening to it all the way through. You won't miss out on much if you just make an 8 song playlist of the best tracks and listen to that. Expand
  81. Dec 21, 2018
    9
    The album allowed Abel to bring the most important side and the different aspects and become something out of the ordinary in R & B. Great tracks produced this album, this album does not disappoint!
  82. Oct 3, 2018
    6
    Sinceramente, estava à espera de um retorno à era de "Trilogy" ou de "Kiss Land", mas, infelizmente, isso não aconteceu. Não obstante, "Starboy", que é claramente uma produção disco e electropop, funcionou razoavelmente bem e conseguiu agradar ao "mainstream".
  83. Apr 14, 2019
    9
    The songs in this akbum were quite good and made me relaxed and I was really impressed
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Dec 19, 2016
    80
    The Weeknd is a self-described pop star, and proves his worth on Starboy, an album with plenty to love.
  2. Q Magazine
    Dec 13, 2016
    60
    Tesfaye can't decide if he's having the best time f his life or the worst. [Feb 2017, p.119]
  3. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    It may showcase a cleaner sound, both in lyrical content and production, but its value for money at eighteen tracks comes at the cost of coherence.