User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    This is an exciting album, full of the punk rock-dance vibe grooves we expect. It's also beautifully arranged. Instead of going 100 miles per hour start to finish, Cheap Talk starts us with a head bobbing rocker, and then propels us to full speed with Right On Frankenstein. Virgins evens it back out, and the rest of the album follows as a survey of mountains and valleys along the road.This is an exciting album, full of the punk rock-dance vibe grooves we expect. It's also beautifully arranged. Instead of going 100 miles per hour start to finish, Cheap Talk starts us with a head bobbing rocker, and then propels us to full speed with Right On Frankenstein. Virgins evens it back out, and the rest of the album follows as a survey of mountains and valleys along the road. It's worth it in the end, where the closing track The Physical World takes us to wonderful dark place that's totally off the map. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    If you're expecting anything too different from Death From Above 1979 first album "You're a woman i'm a machine" don't even listen to this record. That said, there are some slight differences between this and the first album. First off, you can tell It's a little bit "Popier", mainly because of the structure most of the songs have. Also the synth sounds are a lot more present, thoughIf you're expecting anything too different from Death From Above 1979 first album "You're a woman i'm a machine" don't even listen to this record. That said, there are some slight differences between this and the first album. First off, you can tell It's a little bit "Popier", mainly because of the structure most of the songs have. Also the synth sounds are a lot more present, though they're always in the background, mostly used as "fillers".
    Putting those two things aside this band is the same one that split almost 10 years ago, they still have their fabulous bass riffs and their trashy singing style.
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    7
    The Physical World presents itself as a record that is very reminiscent of there first. This is good in the sense that their first album was full of delicious riffs and hooks, and after a ten year gap, they show their ability to replicate the same brilliance. However, it is less exciting in the sense that we have seen this before, and that while this record is well constructed, it isn'tThe Physical World presents itself as a record that is very reminiscent of there first. This is good in the sense that their first album was full of delicious riffs and hooks, and after a ten year gap, they show their ability to replicate the same brilliance. However, it is less exciting in the sense that we have seen this before, and that while this record is well constructed, it isn't the most inspired thing they could have produced.

    That said, it's hard to truly shun the record because all of the songs are well constructed and gratifying, perhaps to the point where you feel no real stand out moment in the album, simply because the whole thing is consistently impressive, albeit no more so than their debut.

    Overall, Death from Above 1979 stick to what they know, retaining the fans they had but not likely winning any others over. That said, after ten years their debut still sounds great, and by following in a similar, perhaps slightly heavier style, we can only imagine that this album will still sound just as digestible in 2024 as well.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    This album takes a lot of flak for being a strong departure from the original. I can understand the hype: DFA1979's ten years of inactivity sets high expectations for their return. Personally, I feel like they were fulfilled.

    This is not, and is not supposed to be, "You're A Woman, I'm a Machine 2". This is Jesse Keeler and Sebastien Grainger doing what they do best: rocking the hell
    This album takes a lot of flak for being a strong departure from the original. I can understand the hype: DFA1979's ten years of inactivity sets high expectations for their return. Personally, I feel like they were fulfilled.

    This is not, and is not supposed to be, "You're A Woman, I'm a Machine 2". This is Jesse Keeler and Sebastien Grainger doing what they do best: rocking the hell out. These tracks are meant to be played loud.

    The album's opening track, "Cheap Talk", is a strong start, leading into the masterful "Right On, Frankenstein!". If you're looking just to plain rock out, "Crystal Ball", "Always On", "Government Trash", and "Trainwreck 1979" are all brimming with the fire that we all remember from YAWIAM. "White is Red" is going to gather some raised eyebrows, as DFA1979 has never really attempted a slower, more emotional song, but it's worth listening to. The final track, "The Physical World", is a three part thundercloud of the fierce garage punk we all came to hear, mellowing out into something a bit slower but equally devastating, concluding with gentle piano that leaves me in goosebumps every time.

    This has been one of my favorite albums for the year 2014. It may not feel like a complete, contiguous deal, but I came for an album that would light my soul on fire, and I was satisfied.
    Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2014
    7
    Read my review here:

    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/death-from-above-1979-physical-world.html 'A fierce and passionate record, 'The Physical World' ticks a lot of boxes as a rock album. That said, the record only offers so much and doesn't make many attempts to connect to the listener. It's all quality music, but it's lacking a lot of content. While the music is full of
    Read my review here:

    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/death-from-above-1979-physical-world.html

    'A fierce and passionate record, 'The Physical World' ticks a lot of boxes as a rock album. That said, the record only offers so much and doesn't make many attempts to connect to the listener. It's all quality music, but it's lacking a lot of content. While the music is full of emotion, there aren't really any standout tracks which demand to be remembered and sung along to. That said, for someone who just wants a thrashy rock and roll album to lose their **** to, then lose your **** away! 'The Physical World' is a dramatic and passionate return from the Canadian duo.'
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    9
    This long awaited follow up to their debut album is refreshing yet nostalgic at the same time. All the songs are in keeping with the classic 'Death From Above' sound, but this album feels like they've really worked on intertwining some different styles and the production (although I love the loose production on their debut) is top notch. Great tunes, great band - go buy this...NOW!!!
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    8
    Though I wanted a little bit more from the hard-hitting Canadian duo, I'm not disappointed in this comeback album in the slightest. Perhaps not as heavy as the masterpiece that is "You're a Woman, I'm a Machine" I still left this album wanting more and eager to see if this band continues making music.
  8. Feb 24, 2015
    10
    Since it had been a long time since Death from Above 1979 released their last album, I was rather surprised to find something new under their name when I arrived at the record store. I loved their first album, so I figured that it made sense to give their second a try. Other than Government Trash which is probably not their best effort, there is not a single song on this record which isn'tSince it had been a long time since Death from Above 1979 released their last album, I was rather surprised to find something new under their name when I arrived at the record store. I loved their first album, so I figured that it made sense to give their second a try. Other than Government Trash which is probably not their best effort, there is not a single song on this record which isn't absolutely perfect for people such as myself who love tunes with an attitude. Crystal Ball is a masterpiece, Nothin' Left is close to perfect and while I don't like the slightly poppy sound in the chorus of Trainwreck 1979, it is hard to dismiss it. I have a rather large collection of music which includes Led Zeppelin, Metallica and Megadeth, but I find myself returning to this album way too often to say anything other than it is a must-buy. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Nov 6, 2014
    67
    The Physical World proves that not only is 2004 just far back enough to merit nostalgia, but that this return opens our first portal back.
  2. Oct 6, 2014
    70
    Taken on their individual merits there's nothing particularly 'wrong' with the 11 songs that form DFA 1979's long-awaited second album, but altogether there's few standout moments and the tight, self-imposed confines of DFA 1979's sound shackles them to the floor.
  3. Kerrang!
    Oct 3, 2014
    100
    The Physical world is a perfect storm of groovy punk. [13 Sep 2014, p.54]