Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Sep 17, 2014
    60
    Though not as earth-shattering as their live shows, it’s a short, sharp shock nonetheless.
  2. Sep 17, 2014
    60
    At times The Physical World feels like the real deal, at others a pale imitation of a too-distinct aesthetic.
  3. Mojo
    Sep 12, 2014
    60
    This is an exciting second act, tempered by the occasionally predictable moment. [Oct 2014, p.87]
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    60
    Returning a decade later, they're still crushing violent, angular riffs (see the hellacious "Government Trash"), but they're also writing catchier songs that bring out conventional rock influences.
  5. 60
    While by no means a bad album, this fails to stand out in the way its predecessor did.
  6. Sep 3, 2014
    60
    From opener ‘Cheap Talk’ onwards, this is never anything but the purest DFA1979, served flaming hot. Which was just fine back when--but it’s definitely a disappointment to not hear the band even hinting at an expansion of their stripped-raw sound, just deep-groove bass and heavily hit drums.
  7. 58
    If the lyrical substance isn’t quite there, at least the riffs are.
  8. Q Magazine
    Sep 3, 2014
    40
    On too much of The Physical World they sound like a pale imitation of themselves. [Oct 2014, p.108]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    If you're expecting anything too different from Death From Above 1979 first album "You're a woman i'm a machine" don't even listen to thisIf you're expecting anything too different from Death From Above 1979 first album "You're a woman i'm a machine" don't even listen to this record. That said, there are some slight differences between this and the first album. First off, you can tell It's a little bit "Popier", mainly because of the structure most of the songs have. Also the synth sounds are a lot more present, though they're always in the background, mostly used as "fillers".
    Putting those two things aside this band is the same one that split almost 10 years ago, they still have their fabulous bass riffs and their trashy singing style.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    This is an exciting album, full of the punk rock-dance vibe grooves we expect. It's also beautifully arranged. Instead of going 100 milesThis is an exciting album, full of the punk rock-dance vibe grooves we expect. It's also beautifully arranged. Instead of going 100 miles per hour start to finish, Cheap Talk starts us with a head bobbing rocker, and then propels us to full speed with Right On Frankenstein. Virgins evens it back out, and the rest of the album follows as a survey of mountains and valleys along the road. It's worth it in the end, where the closing track The Physical World takes us to wonderful dark place that's totally off the map. Full Review »
  3. Feb 24, 2015
    10
    Since it had been a long time since Death from Above 1979 released their last album, I was rather surprised to find something new under theirSince it had been a long time since Death from Above 1979 released their last album, I was rather surprised to find something new under their name when I arrived at the record store. I loved their first album, so I figured that it made sense to give their second a try. Other than Government Trash which is probably not their best effort, there is not a single song on this record which isn't absolutely perfect for people such as myself who love tunes with an attitude. Crystal Ball is a masterpiece, Nothin' Left is close to perfect and while I don't like the slightly poppy sound in the chorus of Trainwreck 1979, it is hard to dismiss it. I have a rather large collection of music which includes Led Zeppelin, Metallica and Megadeth, but I find myself returning to this album way too often to say anything other than it is a must-buy. Full Review »