User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TeresaC.
    Aug 8, 2002
    8
    The Hives have the kind of sheer raw energy that almost seemed to have vanished completely during the `90s. Keep at it!
  2. JosephM.
    May 16, 2002
    8
    Why are the hives better than so many 'garage' bands out there? One word- Riffs.
  3. PhillR.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    I can't belive how well they've captured the character, feel and spontaneous energy of the 70's punk rock era and brought to the millenium.
  4. TonyB.
    Sep 4, 2002
    9
    Awesome! I heard the album ONCE and had to have it! Apperantly I'm not the only one as I had a hard time finding it at both Best Buy AND Circuit City.
  5. BrianW.
    May 12, 2002
    9
    Simply great. These songs will follow you around for weeks, beating you over head into submission. biggest downside is some lame ass song titles, but the hype is well deserved!
  6. AshleeA.
    Jun 5, 2002
    10
    this album simply rocks . it takes you to another place
  7. AsiaZ
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    Despite being incredibly short and not exactly versatile, Veni Vidi Vicious is a powerhouse of an album that will stay with listeners for years to come. "Die Alright" is possibly the best punk rock song to hit the airwaves in the past five years. One can only imagine what lies in this band's future. Bravo.
  8. AlexJ
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    The Hives are possibly the greatest band playing right now. I can't say that they are better than old school greats such as The Ramones and The Sex Pistols, but I can say that they are at least equal. The pure energy of this record is amazing. Howlin' Pelle Almqvist's screaming is just plain awesome. Incredible....
  9. ChrisP.
    May 21, 2002
    8
    Maybe I should start with the 2nd half, but it seems to me like this album is incredible up to "Find Another Girl" (my least favourite track) and 'just' good for the rest of the album. Still, 1/2 incredible and 1/2 good is still a really good album.
  10. Albertom
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    Simple: Best garage album of the decade.
  11. EricS
    Nov 22, 2007
    7
    Unlike most of the over-hyped retro bands of the early 00s, the Hives actually recapture the essence of the punk-rock pioneers (the Stooges come to mind). The Hives are a stunning example of how energy and vitality can lend new life to an old style. They may not be inventing anything, but they sure as hell sound like they think they are. The Hives also have a terrific melodic sense. I Unlike most of the over-hyped retro bands of the early 00s, the Hives actually recapture the essence of the punk-rock pioneers (the Stooges come to mind). The Hives are a stunning example of how energy and vitality can lend new life to an old style. They may not be inventing anything, but they sure as hell sound like they think they are. The Hives also have a terrific melodic sense. I hope at some point they shed the trappings of their garage-punk sound and produce a pop record. Oh, and Vicious is by far their best work so far. Expand
  12. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    This album is a fun throwback to the great garage rock bands of the sixties. It explodes with energy, especially on standout tracks like "Hate to Say I Told You So", "Main Offender", and "Outsmarted".
  13. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    ...It's over already?!? Maybe the main reaction of everyone who listen to this euphoric album. Maybe The Hives best album, it have less than 30 minutes (12 songs), 11 fast and powerful songs ("Find Another Girl" looks ironic, it's such a quiet song!), crazy lyrics sang by a crazy singer and fast guitar riffs. This album is ready to explode your sound system!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 80
    Those dependable fuzz tones never get tired, so long as they're accompanied by a propulsive backbeat, maximum adrenaline and a modicum of melody, and Sweden's Hives have all of that.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    They almost vindicate the near-deafening hoopla that preceded this major-label debut. [10 May 2002, p.80]
  3. The Hives explode where a hundred other punk bands are proud to rock.