Viva La Vida - Coldplay
Viva La Vida Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the English band was produced by Brian Eno and Markus Dravs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The confident majesty of the music, however, belies how he and his bandmates have invigorated their rock-lite reign. [20 June 2008, p.65]
  2. So some bad habits die hard, but on every other level Viva la Vida... is an emphatic sucess--radical in it's own measured way but easy to embrace. [July 2008, p.95]
  3. Well, reports of the death of the old Coldplay have been much exaggerated.
  4. Coldplay have come up with the rare major-label pop record that stands to move a ton of copies even as it's at least a little bit challenging to its primary audience.
  5. It isn't perfect, but Viva la Vida re-establishes Coldplay's relevance in this era where every new indie rock band really wants to be Coldplay.
  6. 60
    While they fight shy of radical "Kid A"-style reinvention, hats should be doffed to Coldplay for at least having artistic cojones to mess with a winning formula. [July 2008, p.101]
  7. Given Eno’s quarter-century of Bono-fides, this isn’t surprising. Martin’s interests are frequently vague--on 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' he sings about soldiers who must soldier on and runners who must run until the race is won. Seriously?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 127
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Experimentation pays off. I wish more mainstream bands would try new things like coldplay do here. Beautiful album from start to finish. Coldplay have officially secured their spot as one of my favourite bands. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    fantastic work,war,peace,love,hate,darkest coldplay album and the most experimental album since parachute.I would argue this is Coldplay's finest album aside from Rush of blood to the head. A much more relaxed, soothing vibe that is sharply contrasted from their other albums. Feels like they aren't trying to stand out with any of their songs but just create great sounding music. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    This album is amazing! It's pretty much the epitome of variety. Also the songs aren't "typical Coldplay" They're all really different than previous albums yet they still retain the feel of Coldplay songs that we know and love. It's a must buy! Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    A great album, full of surprises. You can feel yourself in french revolution once more. It has a nice sense of continuation and a lot of experimentation Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    9
    Everyone gives so much praise to A Rush of Blood to the Head, but in my opinion it's only second best when compared the other albums of Coldplay. Viva la Vida has more great songs and the entire theme is more in depth and complete. I don't think their is a single song on this album I don't like. Their future albums will have a pretty tough time matching the great talent shown in this one. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    While I can say, as a Coldplay fan, this is NOT their best record (that would go to A Rush Of Blood To The Head), it's up there. This album, as produced by Brian Eno of U2 production fame, brings many experimental elements to the album, giving the band all new sounds to utilize like soaring string sections (almost the and combining that with their pre-existing sound. You get excellent songs like "Violet Hill", "Yes", and "Lovers in Japan". I praise Coldplay and Brian Eno for experimenting their sound. So at this point you're wondering why this hasn't got a 9 or 10. Well, honestly, I can say that my problem is that the album covers almost too much; I have to keep resetting my mind that "Wait, 'Viva La Vida'? That's Coldplay right?" Some songs are too far from their sound. Overall, It deserves a thorough listen, and if you're a fan of Radiohead (or experimental rock in general) this album would appeal to you more than their others. Collapse
  7. Aug 17, 2010
    1
    I have zero respect for reviewers who would give this anything higher than a 4/10 and that's being generous. There isn't a single honest emotion on this album. It's not as if Coldplay have ever been good, but they actually sound like a tacky U2 tribute act now. This is strictly for the sorts of people who buy one album a year from Tesco. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews