• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2020
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 669 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 669
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2020
    0
    I didn't felt any songs, the OFFICAL videos were creepy as I don't know, all the songs were almost same, no versatility so yeah this is not the album I expected from the weekend
  2. Mar 26, 2020
    0
    I didn't felt any songs, the OFFICAL videos were creepy and disgusting, all the songs were the same versatility so yeah this is not the album i Expected, is horrible, disgusting, disgusting, disgusting, disgusting, disgusting, disgusting
  3. Mar 21, 2020
    3
    As a big Weeknd fan I was not impressed. The singles are so much better than the album. They out weight it. The rest of the album all sounds the same. He sounds like he is forcing emotions that aren’t really there.
  4. Mar 20, 2020
    1
    After an amazing single in Blinding Lights I had to give this album a chance. It's no different than any other R&B album out there. Was extremely disappointed. The beats start to sound the same throughout the entire album. Was hoping for more 80's vibes.
  5. Mar 29, 2020
    0
    no versatility, i feel like all his songs sound the exact same. i get that he relies on what he knows will automatically be a hit, he should try different styles and genres, people will get bored with the pumping of the same song over and over again
  6. Mar 20, 2020
    1
    BORINGGGG Literally all the songs sound the same. Don’t get the hype at all.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Q Magazine
    Apr 7, 2020
    80
    Spidery tendrils of sex-and-drugs-related dread curl around dramatic synth-pop and twinkling R&B, Yet there's also a batch of tracks that draw from bombastic, slightly tacky '80s pop - a warm, funny and wholly welcome diversion from the stylish but sterile bleakness that remains Tesfaye's calling card. [Jun 2020, p.106]
  2. Apr 7, 2020
    80
    His most personal album to date.
  3. 90
    “After Hours,” his rousing fourth studio album, is laden with sparkled trauma, kaleidoscopic emotional confusion, urgent and panting physical release paired with failed-state romantic dyspepsia.