• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Animal Image

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second full-length release for the collaboration between Tunng's Mike Lindsay and Laura Marling.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 27, 2021
    From the bombastic earworm title track to the pulsating requiem that is Paradise, to the twisted pop spectacle We Cannot Resist, Animal is utterly intoxicating – something that cannot be contained. Surrender to it.
  2. Jul 27, 2021
    Wherever you care to drop the needle or let the shuffle button take you, the essence of this collaboration and the velocity of its execution somehow hoovers you up and brings you along. [Aug 2021, p.20]
  3. Mojo
    Jul 27, 2021
    Animal admirably slips standard musical taxonomy to take on a life of it own. [Aug 2021, p.83]
  4. Jul 27, 2021
    Between its playful, retro-electro settings and the murky presentiments of Marling’s allusive lyrics, Animal paints outside the lines of LUMP’s debut carefully, never suffocating the intuitive strangeness at its heart.
  5. Aug 2, 2021
    Animal is a beast worthy of its own spotlight and attentions. The genre-crossing is much less surface level, as the duo creates grander and grander platforms for Marling’s commanding voice. The whole thing is far more theatrical, full of slow building ballads and cresting climaxes.
  6. Aug 4, 2021
    What really grabs the attention about Animal though is its energy. ... LUMP are just as effective though when they bring the tempo down a bit.
  7. 60
    Between the piano-led dreamscape of “Red Snakes”, the shimmering electronica of “Bloom at Night” and the pop-leaning “We Cannot Resist”, Animal feels restless right up until its six-and-a-half-minute closer “Phantom Limb”, which concludes with Marling’s autotuned voice reading out the album’s credits.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Xar
    Jul 31, 2021
    Certainly an improvement since their last record exploring some electronic like sounds, something that's not that usual for Marling.
  2. Jul 31, 2021
    An unusual sound for Laura Marling but interesting, incredibly good and well put together.
  3. Aug 1, 2021
    The album feels like a flight through a fantasy world almost out of reality with Laura Marling vocal smoothly leading this flight I enjoyedThe album feels like a flight through a fantasy world almost out of reality with Laura Marling vocal smoothly leading this flight I enjoyed this record. Expand