• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 796 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Buy On

Top Track

Wrecking Ball
We clawed, we chained our hearts in vain We jumped, never asking why We kissed, I fell under your spell A love no one could deny Don't you ever say... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    The goofy, almost throwaway squaredance of a club song that is “4x4”, complete with some accordion work, might very well be album’s most memorable song: absurd, ridiculous, and actually playful in a way in which these other Bangerz aren’t.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 166
  1. Sep 27, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing and crazy, Miley proves not to be a girl controlled by someone and her rebel side conquered many. On the other hand it demonstrates its great vocal capacity in songs and its broken side, this album definitively marks a nates and a later one in the race of Miley. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    Melhor álbum pop de 2013, Miley rainha, rainha teen, rainha do mundo, rainha do universo, rainha do meu mundo ! Patroa do cenário teen. VemMelhor álbum pop de 2013, Miley rainha, rainha teen, rainha do mundo, rainha do universo, rainha do meu mundo ! Patroa do cenário teen. Vem próxima era. Te amo Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew thatBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Brilliant! Her best album to date, and i'm not a fan of Miley but I have to admit it. "Adore You", "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball",Brilliant! Her best album to date, and i'm not a fan of Miley but I have to admit it. "Adore You", "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GETITRIGHT", "Do My Thang", "Someone Else" and "Rooting For My Baby" are definitely the higlights of the album. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2017
    7
    BANGERZ is the ultimate pop craze for those who embrace multi-genre crossovers. The album has 16 tracks on it and at least 14/16 are pureBANGERZ is the ultimate pop craze for those who embrace multi-genre crossovers. The album has 16 tracks on it and at least 14/16 are pure perfection. Lyrically, it comes to prove Cyrus' maturity, while musically its versatile production and writing show a clear evolution in the pop star's artistry.

    Clear masterpieces on the album include ballads "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" and also rock tunes like "Drive" or "Someone Else" and also r&b-influenced "Rooting for My Baby" or "FU".
    Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    It's fun. While the songs are generic, the songs are at the same time fun. I just wish all the auto tune muck wasn't all over everything onIt's fun. While the songs are generic, the songs are at the same time fun. I just wish all the auto tune muck wasn't all over everything on this album. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2014
    0
    There is one word to describe this album: BORING

    All the songs on this album have really uninteresting ideas and a lack of creativity.I
    There is one word to describe this album: BORING

    All the songs on this album have really uninteresting ideas and a lack of creativity.I also really dislike the album due to the amount of variety put into it, making me confused with what Miley wants to do with her album... The only song that I liked for being unique is "#GETITRIGHT", a very catchy song and an otherwise good song to use as a single, otherwise, it's nothing special. Imagine if Miley talk to some business men to write songs and it's her that decides what she wants for those songs, that's....lazy.

    In the end, I don't really want to be listening to this album. I would be happy to demolish it if I could because this album just bores me to death and disgusts me with the raunchy and wrong lyrics...
    Expand

See all 166 User Reviews