• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
But Here We Are Image

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

until album release
  • Summary: The latest full-length release from the Foo Fighters is the first without Taylor Hawkins (who passed away in March 2022) and was produced with Greg Kurstin.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 30, 2023
    It prises beauty from unimaginable suffering. Make no mistake, Foo Fighters have delivered a masterpiece – one they never would have wanted to have to record, but a masterpiece nonetheless.
  2. May 26, 2023
    Unsurprisingly, loss and grief lie at the core of the Foo Fighters’ most succinct and intense album.
  3. 100
    ‘But Here We Are’ is a beautiful, noisy celebration of brotherhood and a stark, painful exploration of loss. It is messy, gut-wrenching, ambitious and gorgeous, as the remaining members of Foo Fighters push themselves to their limits and beyond. Through it all, ‘But Here We Are’ is an undeniable reminder of the healing, unifying power of music.
  4. 90
    As albums go, But Here We Are might be the Foos’ most cathartic, but it’s also one of their best, and a fitting tribute to the late, great Taylor Hawkins. [Jul 2023, p.82]
  5. May 31, 2023
    With its heady hooks and exuberant riffs, ‘But Here We Are’ is ambitious, poignant, and vivid in equal measure. The emotive and raw sonics are painful but positive at the same time and we as listeners feel every note, line and beat throughout this ten track album which ranks as one of the best Foo Fighters albums in their history.
  6. May 30, 2023
    Grohl (back on drums for the first time on a Foos record since 2005’s In Your Honor), bassist Nate Mendel, guitarists Chris Shiflett and Pat Smear, and keyboardist Rami Jaffee have imbued But Here We Are with new levels of depth, maturity, songcraft, and storytelling, ensuring it is far more than just an album about grief.
  7. May 30, 2023
    While highlight "The Glass" is an undisputedly heartbreaking acoustic-tinged ditty about living the rest of your life in someone's absence, the mid-LP tracks unfortunately do little more than fill obligatory spots on the Foo Fighters spectrum.

See all 9 Critic Reviews