• Record Label: Anticon
  • Release Date: Feb 4, 2014
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    Young Fathers possess that which makes the best British acts truly special: a singular identity born of multinational mixology.
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    It’s not an easy listen and will send hipsters scurrying for their bobble hats and fake specs, but this is the sound of a band pushing themselves, challenging their audience and making something to be proud of.
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    80
    If Dead proves anything it’s that Young Fathers are one of the most versatile acts in hip-hop today, they’re excellent rappers, producers, and singers. This is just their proper debut. Expect excellent insanity in the future.
  4. Mojo
    Feb 11, 2014
    80
    Dead is visceral, propulsive and bursting with life. [Mar 2014, p.88]
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    As jagged and dark as Dead might appear, there's a real celebratory feel to this album and that's down to some fantastic influences.
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    As good as Hastings’ production is, however, it is Young Fathers’ vocals that make Dead great.
  7. Uncut
    Feb 3, 2014
    80
    This arrestingly adventurous debut is a densely layered mash-up of shudders and drones, narcotically twisted beats, gospel-infused vocals and surreal wordplay. [Mar 2014, p.85]
  8. 80
    The balance between pop and experimentalism is very fine but Young Fathers strike it with exuberant ease.
  9. Jan 30, 2014
    80
    Young Fathers have quietly constructed a strange and intoxicating musical universe that feels entirely their own, while no one else was paying attention.
  10. 80
    Young Fathers have not so much captured their sound as they have chiselled it afresh from the Earth’s core.
  11. Jan 29, 2014
    80
    The atmosphere isn't always strictly severe, knowing right when to let up with gorgeous melodies seeping through the chiselled cracks. These moments save the record from being vociferous without a cause, allowing the more vehement moments to speak louder than they would otherwise.
  12. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    The mish-mash of styles on Dead makes for a globalised texture, an eclecticism that appears to know no bounds. For some, it may all be a little too much to handle. But if you’re looking for a thoroughly twenty-first-century record that’ll challenge your preconceptions and bombard the senses, then Dead is something that’s definitely worth your while.
  13. Somehow they’ve retained their pop nous, making for an album that’s unique, but maddeningly all over the place.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Anytime I hear an album described as rap, I usually turn the other way. I can't stand gangster rap that blows me away. I even bought the firstAnytime I hear an album described as rap, I usually turn the other way. I can't stand gangster rap that blows me away. I even bought the first Death Grips first album thinking it would be different from gangsta rap, but I was disappointed in how much rap there was on their albums. I read a couple of reviews for Young Fathers, and something told me to listen to this album on iTunes and I really liked what I heard. There are elements of rap, yes, but Fathers add so much more to this album: electronica, alternative and even pop - I've probably left something out. There sound IS all over the place but it works, and I have finally found a rap album that I like. The closest I could describe this Young Fathers "Dead" album is to Kanye West's "My Dark Twisted Fantasy." Get it! Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2014
    6
    don't get me wrong, its a generally good hip-hop album, I did however have in mind more unique talents to win this year's mercury, artists whodon't get me wrong, its a generally good hip-hop album, I did however have in mind more unique talents to win this year's mercury, artists who perhaps show something a little different than usual. Dead is an album I can easily grow to and even love a little, but not an album I can separate from other things and place individually. Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    Dead is a brilliant, yet flawed, Yeezus-like artistic rap record. The enormous production and confident lyrics make this underrated album oneDead is a brilliant, yet flawed, Yeezus-like artistic rap record. The enormous production and confident lyrics make this underrated album one of the best of 2014. ~ 8.2/10

    "Get Up" and "Hangman" were both absolutely genius constructions.
    Full Review »