User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2022
    10
    Jack White never ceases to amaze me. An excellent album from start to finish
  2. Apr 9, 2022
    10
    Absolutely amazing record. Love the direction Jack is going at this point in his career. It’s refreshing to see an artist grow and evolve with each album, instead of releasing the same old recycled garbage. So heavy, so interesting and gets better with each listen 10/10!
  3. Apr 12, 2022
    10
    Though unmistakably a Jack White record through and through, with the former White Stripes frontman's unhinged shrieking and explosive blues rock riffs remaining as blisteringly powerful as ever all on their own, "Fear of the Dawn" continues the experimental tendencies of the middling "Boarding House Reach" to far greater effect, showcasing a playfully whacked-out, psychedelic side of theThough unmistakably a Jack White record through and through, with the former White Stripes frontman's unhinged shrieking and explosive blues rock riffs remaining as blisteringly powerful as ever all on their own, "Fear of the Dawn" continues the experimental tendencies of the middling "Boarding House Reach" to far greater effect, showcasing a playfully whacked-out, psychedelic side of the rocker that's a welcome addition to an already strong formula.

    Choice Cuts: "The White Raven," "Hi-De-Ho (feat. Q-Tip)," "Into the Twilight," "Shedding My Velvet"
    Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2022
    9
    A great record. Jack White never ceases to surprise with his beautiful music
  5. Apr 9, 2022
    8
    Much better than Boarding House Reach. I think this is what Jack meant when making BHR. This album is genre-less and in a good way. If you like experimentation, this is your record. Jack White blows the doors off of rock once again. He is truly the last American rock star.
  6. Apr 17, 2022
    10
    Incredible album. Don’t mind the reviews, absolutely his best album to date. A rock god.
  7. Apr 22, 2022
    10
    Fantastic and unick! Jack white continous to create his own way and work. Challenging and rewarding album.
  8. May 2, 2022
    10
    This is easily Jack's most dynamic, united and brilliant solo project. While not as revolutionary as his previous effort, he succeeds in perfecting the more experimental elements that is also seen in Boarding House Reach. This project is a massive success, by not allowing the abstract components of this record to become overbearing, while remaining complex.
  9. Apr 24, 2022
    10
    No spoilers. Just saying I like variety, it's the spice of life after all. However, it is nice to just hear Jack's hard side and have an album that's just all that a solid 40 minutes. We will get the more acoustic bluesy stuff later this year with Entering Heaven Alive, which I'm also looking forward to. This album was dedicated to just the heavier, rock only material - and it doesn'tNo spoilers. Just saying I like variety, it's the spice of life after all. However, it is nice to just hear Jack's hard side and have an album that's just all that a solid 40 minutes. We will get the more acoustic bluesy stuff later this year with Entering Heaven Alive, which I'm also looking forward to. This album was dedicated to just the heavier, rock only material - and it doesn't disappoint on delivering on that. A must listen for any fan of Jack's. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    May 27, 2022
    70
    On Fear Of The Dawn his foot spends plenty of time flat on the fuzz pedal. [Jul 2022, p.80]
  2. Uncut
    Apr 27, 2022
    70
    Fear Of The Dawn succeeds better when it surprises. [Jun 2022, p.34]
  3. Apr 15, 2022
    70
    There is little filter on the creativity here as White’s legacy allows him to explore and indulge odd ideas, but it could do with some productive channelling. Hence Fear Of The Dawn ends up a partially enjoyable but partially frustrating listen.