User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1154 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dave
    Nov 4, 2009
    5
    Taylor Swift can sing, but unless you're a teenage girl you probably will not rate the album higher than a 5 since the songs won't relate to you.
  2. nellyg
    Feb 24, 2009
    5
    Taylor definalty is a talented songwriter and singer, but EVERY SINGLE SONG off this album is about the SAME thing, BOYS. Taylor, sweetie, in your world, is there NOTHING else to write about? I like relationship songs in albums, but I don't like it when EVERY SINGLE SONG is about them. Sweetie, I believe you are God gifted, but it would be nice if you would sing about something like Taylor definalty is a talented songwriter and singer, but EVERY SINGLE SONG off this album is about the SAME thing, BOYS. Taylor, sweetie, in your world, is there NOTHING else to write about? I like relationship songs in albums, but I don't like it when EVERY SINGLE SONG is about them. Sweetie, I believe you are God gifted, but it would be nice if you would sing about something like having hope for the future, or about how a person is truly beautiful, or being strong, I know you can do it!!!!!!!!!! Sweetie, if your next album(s) are about boys only again, then I really don't think critics will love it as much as this one. Expand
  3. septya
    Jan 14, 2010
    5
    Boring !
  4. TomP.
    Jan 11, 2009
    5
    But really now, how is this an 81, when none of the reviews are over 80? Just ridiculous. Oh, and it's actually quite bad.
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    I remember being in love with Taylor Swift's first album, but a lot of her magic disappeared after this album's release. Many of the songs weren't very impressive, ("You Belong With Me" and "Love Story" being exempt).
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    4
    The more i expect from this album, the worse my feelings about it become. I initially expected this Taylor Swift's follow-up album to be more or less equal to her previous "Speak Now" in quality, yet it obviously turns out that she can't maintain her successive triumphs as "Fearless" is boring, hyperdumb and completely inferior to every single song in "Speak Now". Clearly she needs to getThe more i expect from this album, the worse my feelings about it become. I initially expected this Taylor Swift's follow-up album to be more or less equal to her previous "Speak Now" in quality, yet it obviously turns out that she can't maintain her successive triumphs as "Fearless" is boring, hyperdumb and completely inferior to every single song in "Speak Now". Clearly she needs to get back to her traditional style, which is "writing entirely on her own and remains true to her country-pop roots that made her one of the biggest selling artists of 2009" - critics' consensus about "Speak Now" with which i couldn't agree more. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2016
    4
    Salva-se love story, de restante, tudo bem chato. foi até difícil ficar avaliando faixa por faixa, porque tem muitas, a sonoridade terrível, parece tudo igual.
  8. Aug 22, 2019
    5
    Средний кантри альбом, в стиле Свифт, многие песни звучат одинаково, как и на дебютнике. Первые альбомы можно объединить в один и никто не заметит изменений.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Swift's gentle touch is as enduring as her songcraft, and this musical maturity may not quite jibe with her age but it does help make Fearless one of the best mainstream pop albums of 2008.
  2. Though they're written by a teenager, Swift's songs have broad appeal, and therein lies the genius and accessibility of her second effort.
  3. She's 18--wide-eyed, naive, hopeful--and that's how she sounds on Fearless, her superb new album.