User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Hackney Diamonds Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The first full-length release of original songs from the Rolling Stones since 2005's A Bigger Bang features guest appearances by Elton John, Lady Gaga, Paul McCartney, Stevie Wonder, and Bill Wyman.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    The new Rolling Stones album is the best thing they have made since their Seventies glory days. Which, it might reasonably be argued, de facto makes it the best rock’n’ roll album of the past four decades at least.
  2. Oct 18, 2023
    It may not quite be the equal of records like Exile On Main Street or Let It Bleed (very few are, to be fair), but if Hackney Diamonds really is to be the final Rolling Stones album, it’s one incredible swansong.
  3. Oct 16, 2023
    Hackney Diamonds feels like a self-aware, historically mindful party, Jagger’s remarkable vocal thrust utterly unimpaired.
  4. Nov 7, 2023
    The Stones are the Stones; a law and legend unto themselves, with nothing more to prove and no need to compete with the latest crop of young turks who covet the crown but know they’ll never wear it. Hackney Diamonds sparkles brightest when it touches base with bygone precious gems.
  5. Oct 23, 2023
    At its heart, it's nothing more than the Rolling Stones knocking out some good Rolling Stones songs, which seems like a minor miracle after such a long wait.
  6. Nov 9, 2023
    The whole album feels like the band are genuinely interested and engaged.
  7. Oct 19, 2023
    They try and fail to reinvigorate themselves in the rock’n’roll fountain of youth they helped create, only to emerge with a dozen hackneyed duds.

See all 25 Critic Reviews