User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I Hate Music Image

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

  • Summary: The tenth full-length studio release for the North Carolina Alternative rock band led by Mac McCaughan is said to be a darker album than 2010's Majesty Shredding.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    There isn’t anything new on I Hate Music, but there’s no need for it.
  2. 90
    This record is so good we don't need to focus on those details. With I Hate Music, Superchunk will once again land near the top of my year-end list.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    The album’s more reflective tone cuts deepest in “Low F” and “What Can We Do,” and they’re both among the most intensely personal songs in the band’s long, distinguished history.
  4. Alternative Press
    Aug 15, 2013
    Their latest full-length occasionally veers into darker territory than usual, but for the most part it sticks to what the band do best. [Sep 2013, p.94]
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    They’re love songs about persistence, and that’s embedded in the sound of the record; you don’t need a lyric sheet to hear it.
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    Superchunk's 10th studio LP delivers a perfect strike at the heart of mature-stage alienation.
  7. Uncut
    Aug 15, 2013
    Impassioned, sparkling with energy and absurdly bouncy, it's a reminder of everything the North Carolina quartet did well. [Sep 2013, p.95]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    With the opening track 'Overflows' starting off with an acoustic flair I thought the album might be reminiscent of the relatively milder ChunkWith the opening track 'Overflows' starting off with an acoustic flair I thought the album might be reminiscent of the relatively milder Chunk from the Here's To Shutting Up days but boy was I wrong. The song soon kicks in and with Mac's songwriting skills evoking powerful images and a typical sing-along chorus the song blossoms into a return to the golden days of 'No Pocky', 'Foolish' and 'Strings'. The entire album is filled with Hyper Enough/Slack MF-style jams, but with the slick production and gloss of later albums like Come Pick Me Up and Indoor Living. Some of the Highlights are Overflows, Me & You & Jackie Mittoo, Low F, Breaking Down and FOH. And it seems Mac took lessons from J Mascis between albums. Never his strong suit, several songs now have extended solos that are actually as melodic as the choruses. You won't be disappointed with this album, I promise you. Expand