• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: May 22, 2007
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 57
  2. Negative: 13 out of 57

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshS
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    It's at least a 9. Probably about 9.5. It's awesome, I don't get the low rating. It's like, their best CD. Especially if you get all the unreleased songs too. It's amazing, it's the Used with a new, different(But definetly good) twist.
  2. JonC
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    This is an intresting album from the used. It keeps me coming back for more. Though the amount of screaming has died down i still like this album.
  3. JordanJ.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    The Used rocks, all albums are awesome.
  4. DavidA
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Love this album!!!!
  5. K-Fed
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    An amazing album from The Used. Keep it coming.
  6. BenD
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    This album might not be the best of theirs, as some may have noted, but it seems that they're getting more creative with their sounds (for example: the beginning of "find a way")... In my opinion they've also done well creatively incorporating the "liar liar pants on fire..." and "cross my heart and hope to die" phrases that have become common; but, in my opinion, they could This album might not be the best of theirs, as some may have noted, but it seems that they're getting more creative with their sounds (for example: the beginning of "find a way")... In my opinion they've also done well creatively incorporating the "liar liar pants on fire..." and "cross my heart and hope to die" phrases that have become common; but, in my opinion, they could have done better with some of the songs and should have put "dark days" and "devil beside you" on the cd, as it captures more of the band that they've previously established themselves as. Expand
  7. KevinFed-EX
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Easily the best album of 2007.
  8. jyotirmayadas
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    I normally don't like the Used, but this album was getting such good reviews, and there wasn't anything else out there that I was interested in, so I bought it... and I love it!!! Well balanced and shows maturity in music and lyrics.
  9. seanf
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    Bet album overall to date from the used. The used can still rock hard and this is proven on "raise the dead" and Hospital. They should stay away from the piano, but even the slower songs like "light in the tunnel" show a softer side and a balance to the album. THis is ten times better than "In love and death", and just as good if not better than their debut CD "The Used".
  10. Justin
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    The Used did a damn good job on this album. It was no suprise to me that they would do this good of an album following "The Used" and "In Love And Death". I think they did spectacular.
  11. StevenA
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    It was overall a good album, but I still think they should revert back to the stuff like what they did in their debut album, where it was less produced.
  12. andrewe
    May 31, 2007
    10
    most amazing album ever!
  13. davionk
    May 31, 2007
    10
    wicked good album
  14. michellec
    May 31, 2007
    10
    love this album! best one so far!
  15. CarlyS
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    I think that The Used new album is awesome. The only thing I can think of for why people are giving this album such low ratings is that they don't like this style or genre of music. If you don't like it, don't listen to it! And plus, the ratings have gone way down because of people like that, I mean 7 out of 10? Thats pretty good, but it could be better if it weren't I think that The Used new album is awesome. The only thing I can think of for why people are giving this album such low ratings is that they don't like this style or genre of music. If you don't like it, don't listen to it! And plus, the ratings have gone way down because of people like that, I mean 7 out of 10? Thats pretty good, but it could be better if it weren't for all those low ratings. Expand
  16. Micheals.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    great band great music.period
  17. daronZ
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    The used rock no matter what genre they play in
  18. JIMMYJ
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    The album actually is very good..i guess you have to be a true Used fan to understand that!!! To the people saying it blows--just go play in traffic!
  19. shawng.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    This is classic The Used.
  20. CarolB.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    This is a great album. The USed managed once again to succesfully merge crazy awesome chaos with swweeett melody! Earthquake is awesome. I don't think that any of there songs are cheesy. I just think you have to understand them. Yes, the Used can get a little angry at times (like in lies for liars) but I think it is still a great song especially if your mad. Basically this album has This is a great album. The USed managed once again to succesfully merge crazy awesome chaos with swweeett melody! Earthquake is awesome. I don't think that any of there songs are cheesy. I just think you have to understand them. Yes, the Used can get a little angry at times (like in lies for liars) but I think it is still a great song especially if your mad. Basically this album has a song for every mood. It can also be therapy. The used just makes great music and will always make great music! Expand
  21. CarolB.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    This is a great album. The USed managed once again to succesfully merge crazy awesome chaos with swweeett melody! Earthquake is awesome. I don't think that any of there songs are cheesy. I just think you have to understand them. Yes, the Used can get a little angry at times (like in lies for liars) but I think it is still a great song especially if your mad. Basically this album has This is a great album. The USed managed once again to succesfully merge crazy awesome chaos with swweeett melody! Earthquake is awesome. I don't think that any of there songs are cheesy. I just think you have to understand them. Yes, the Used can get a little angry at times (like in lies for liars) but I think it is still a great song especially if your mad. Basically this album has a song for every mood. It can also be therapy. The used just makes great music and will always make great music! Expand
  22. LandonW
    Jun 17, 2010
    10
    By far there best release to date. They seem to be trying to seperated themselves from the emo image that i think still hampers thier sales. This album has more variety and off beat rhytms than any other album i have heard in the last 3 years. Absolutely awesome
  23. TylerC
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Even though different from they're pevious albums, Lies For the Liars manages to bring out a rare range of emotions while being fairly simple. It might not be for everyone, but those that like it will love it.
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    The Used have been my favorite band for a long time now, and I can honestly say they are without a doubt the most talented song writers ever. Their lyrics are incredible and have helped me get through some of my bad days. I think every album they have done is great (I know all of them by heart) and I will always cherish any music they do.
  25. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    If there's one problem I have with this album, it's that the styles and sounds keep randomly changing, which does get irritating at times, but otherwise, this album is definitely worth it. One of the best albums of 2007.
  26. Dec 19, 2015
    9
    This album is a rather odd case. On one hand, I only enjoy 9/11 (or 10/12 including Pain) of the tracks on the album, which brings it down a bit. But the songs that I do like are among my top picks when it comes to songs, which boosts the score a bit. The songs on the album can be grouped into three categories: fast, medium, and slow. The fast songs on the album are The Ripper, Hospital,This album is a rather odd case. On one hand, I only enjoy 9/11 (or 10/12 including Pain) of the tracks on the album, which brings it down a bit. But the songs that I do like are among my top picks when it comes to songs, which boosts the score a bit. The songs on the album can be grouped into three categories: fast, medium, and slow. The fast songs on the album are The Ripper, Hospital, Wake The Dead, and Liar Liar (Burn In Hell) (also Pain if we include it). The medium songs are Pretty Handsome Awkward, The Bird and the Worm, Paralyzed, and With Me Tonight. The slow songs are Find A Way and Smother Me. The funny thing is that the two slower tracks are the ones I don't like. So verdict: The Used is great with fast and medium songs on this album, but needs to work on their slower songs Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. After a while, the surfeit of ideas starts to sound like a lack. But the choruses are as effective as ever.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    There's no denying the galvanic power of singer Bert McCracken's blowtorch vocals. [25 May 2007, p.84]
  3. Even if Lies for the Liars has the appearance of a crossover album, a la The Black Parade, it doesn't have the substance.