Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    It's terrific fun: salacious, convincingly muscular, unnervingly rowdy.
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    If the band had explored their bluesy leanings more, Light Me Up could have been a small-scale revolution, but even as it stands now, it's still a wicked good record.
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    70
    This is at heart a fun, dirty, insincere, cheap-thrill-laden pop record, with the raunch-riffery of Band of Skulls and lyrics which could be drawled from the mouth of a Bret Easton Ellis character.
  4. 67
    Light Me Up is clearly built from the doll parts of that era's grunge goddesses --a sometimes too-slick conceit that Momsen's thousand-Marlboro growl still manages to sell surprisingly well.
  5. Kerrang!
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    While lyrically there's nothing explicitly offensive, there are enough risque lines here to raise a few eyebrows, and enough good songs to prick a few ears. [28 Aug 2010, p.54]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely great, Light Me Up brings us the future of Rock music. Distancing from 2000's Indie Rock but not forgetting it, The Pretty RecklessAbsolutely great, Light Me Up brings us the future of Rock music. Distancing from 2000's Indie Rock but not forgetting it, The Pretty Reckless have revolutionized Alternative Hard Rock among bands like 30 Seconds To Mars, the bands that will dominate the new musical scene in the next years. But the Reckless are, in my opinion, better than Leto's band, because they are harder, more rough, more aggressive. With direct and excellent melodies, Mark Damon, Jamie Perkins and the charismatic guitarist Ben Phillips provide an awesome rhythm section, while singer Taylor Momsen, new queen of contemporary Rock, puts the hallmark on their music, turning it into a fantastic record and a reference in a period when really bad music reigns at the charts. Songs like Miss Nothing, Going Down, Just Tonight, the power and beautiful ballad Nothing Left To Loose or the well-known Make Me Wanna Die, with the rest of the album, is the proof that new bands can Rock hard nowadays, and that you can be a great rock composer with only 17 years old. Maybe it's too soon to say it, but I think in the future this will be seen as a classic album and the beginning of a great and decisive band in the 2010's. Good job! Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2015
    9
    it is impossible to not fall in love with this album , so good, kind and simply electrifying . The sad songs make you cry , you hate the floodit is impossible to not fall in love with this album , so good, kind and simply electrifying . The sad songs make you cry , you hate the flood doth make thee mad , amazing , simply amazing. Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    Um ótimo album,ótimas canções,ótima cantora,e só senti um pouco de falta do outro vocalista.
    Seria ótima se continuassem fazendo bons albuns
    Um ótimo album,ótimas canções,ótima cantora,e só senti um pouco de falta do outro vocalista.
    Seria ótima se continuassem fazendo bons albuns como Light Me Up.
    Full Review »