• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Dec 18, 2020
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 95
  2. Negative: 11 out of 95
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2020
    3
    Tedious drivel
    I cannot believe the universally positive critic and user reviews on this site for this album. Surely this is only because the artist is Sir Paul McCartney. He could probably package a turd and have the musical world swooning.
    I am a Beatles, Wings and McCartney fan. I had to listen to the entire album, hoping that somewhere on it, there would be an average track. Aside from
    Tedious drivel
    I cannot believe the universally positive critic and user reviews on this site for this album. Surely this is only because the artist is Sir Paul McCartney. He could probably package a turd and have the musical world swooning.
    I am a Beatles, Wings and McCartney fan. I had to listen to the entire album, hoping that somewhere on it, there would be an average track.
    Aside from Lavatory Lil, these tracks aren’t fit to be B sides to his better albums.
    His voice is patchy at best and the lyrics humdrum.
    Paul, please stop.
    Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2020
    3
    As much as the critics insist, this album is nothing but mediocre, not to say that it is a loose and insubstantial record. Let's be honest; if Paul McCartney wasn't its author, what average score would it get?
  3. Dec 20, 2020
    1
    It's a really bored album! I can't understand how so many people like it. Sir Paul certainly left his prime behind.
  4. Dec 22, 2020
    0
    I purchased this CD because I expected fresh lyrics that blend with acoustic/electric guitar melody.... Sorry for Sir Paul fans like me, this was performed with created melodies afterwords matched up to non-melodic lyrics. I can't recommend buying this CD unless you listen to it first from another user like me
  5. Dec 23, 2020
    3
    I've been a McCartney fan for 50 years. I bought the original McCartney album in 1970. It was MUCH better than this mess. There is nothing on this new album as good as Maybe I'm Amazed, That Would Be Something, Every Night (my favorite), Ooh You, Momma Miss America, or even Junk. These songs are more at the level of Kreen Akrore. The new album features his old, cracking vocals andI've been a McCartney fan for 50 years. I bought the original McCartney album in 1970. It was MUCH better than this mess. There is nothing on this new album as good as Maybe I'm Amazed, That Would Be Something, Every Night (my favorite), Ooh You, Momma Miss America, or even Junk. These songs are more at the level of Kreen Akrore. The new album features his old, cracking vocals and awful, horrible lyrics. His lyrics were never great, but these are a new low. You should listen to the song samples first before you buy or you may feel cheated. It's not even worth the $3.99 sale price on Amazon to this old McCartney fan. But then I thought Egypt Station was a good album. Your mileage may vary. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2020
    2
    Be honest, now. If you picked up this album without a clue in the world as to who wrote it, what would you think? I believe that most high ratings for this album would plummet if not for the past work of this ex-Beatle. I grew up thinking that the Beatles were the best, and they were, and I lived and breathed them. Paul and John were magical composers, lyrists-a team that still hasn’t andBe honest, now. If you picked up this album without a clue in the world as to who wrote it, what would you think? I believe that most high ratings for this album would plummet if not for the past work of this ex-Beatle. I grew up thinking that the Beatles were the best, and they were, and I lived and breathed them. Paul and John were magical composers, lyrists-a team that still hasn’t and can’t be beat. I love Paul’s voice when he sings Beatles songs, the screaming (has this ruined his voice) and the familiarity of old songs sung with his older voice. He gives a magical concert. Having said that, I thought of Mick Jagger as I listened to this album, every song on this album sounds the same. No tune draws you, though you may get drawn into a repetitive phrase. Mick Jagger? Every song is different. Paul’’s lyrics? They take you 3/4 of the way there? What is He saying? Funny...pretty boys... young celebs, models, created by his designer daughter. Funny world. “You can’t touch, “ does he want to? What his album says about his life? That he is obsessive in love, that he yearno for his wife sometimes,... maybe she isn’t around like Linda who never left his side. I think Paul has some personality failures with narcissism and I think he discloses it in his music. At any rate, not one song drew me. Not one song measured up to the worst Beatles song. I remember buying his first album after the Beatles. I literally made myself like it by playing it over and over and over (admit it, you do that, too) because I was shocked at how bad it was and this was my Paul. It HAS to be good! Where has Paul, the talented Beatle gone to? Paul needs help to make good music. He isn’t very capable on his own. He WAS magical with John. Maybe Pretty Boys tells us how he needs a male partner(?) much Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The Wire
    Apr 6, 2021
    80
    McCartney’s infamous whimsy tempered by his refreshed penchant for odd sonic detail (the spectral guitar tangles that trail through “Find My Way” for instance) and an aged voice whose natural erosion is more feature than fault. [Feb 2021, p.58]
  2. Jan 22, 2021
    70
    McCartney III may not be the jewel in the crown of his recorded work, but it's a decent record, which proves once and for all that you cannot overlook, second guess, or write off Paul McCartney.
  3. Jan 8, 2021
    75
    It’s catchy, well-crafted, and creative, all while remaining honest. It may not be the groundbreaking production that McCartney has, at times, produced with valiance and majesty, but it just works.