Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 13, 2023
    It’s a rarity to have an album in which every song could genuinely be a single, but they’ve managed it here.
  2. Jan 13, 2023
    Often moving. ... It's that distinctly human sense of discovery and the yearning for a better tomorrow, even as the world crumbles around you, that Circa Waves capture on Never Going Under.
  3. Jan 13, 2023
    Musically the band takes some really big swings here on songs like “Hell On Earth,” easily one of their best tracks in years, and the beautifully soaring “Living In the Grey”; and those experiments almost always pay off. Impressively, the band pairs those musical gambles with some of their most personal lyrics yet, singing about fatherhood, expectations of masculinity and showing vulnerability. This new creative spark and lyrical enlightenment makes for Circa Wave’s most ambitious record so far in a career that is already pretty notable.
  4. Jan 13, 2023
    Though it may not be their most daring record to date, it’s certainly one where they’ve taken most risks, and their blend of indie-rock and electro-pop certainly pays off.