• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: May 15, 2007
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 207

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jon
    May 14, 2007
    3
    easily wilco's worst album. Is it too late to bring Jay Bennett back?
  2. brianf
    May 18, 2007
    8
    I've been listening to this on their website for a while, and heard a few of the songs done live on bootlegs for over a year. Didn't especially get into some of it, but had especially enjoyed Impossible Germany and Walken. I thought the cd as a whole seemed too mellow, not at all like AGIB or YHF, so kind of a letdown. But I also hadn't listened to it start to finish at one I've been listening to this on their website for a while, and heard a few of the songs done live on bootlegs for over a year. Didn't especially get into some of it, but had especially enjoyed Impossible Germany and Walken. I thought the cd as a whole seemed too mellow, not at all like AGIB or YHF, so kind of a letdown. But I also hadn't listened to it start to finish at one time. Just got the cd in the mail yesterday, it came with a dvd which I first watched. Today I put the cd in and listened to it through headphones start to finish. As someone commented previously, it sounds great as a whole, for me that's somewhat how YHF was too. Not all songs seem to stand on their own, but as an entire cd it all works. Expand
  3. matta
    May 21, 2007
    7
    I'm glad this score has gone down a little. Really, it doesn't deserve to be in the same ballpark as A Ghost Is Born (and certainly not Summer Teeth or Yankee Hotel Foxtrot). It is solid, but not great. I feel like some reviews I've seen have given good marks just because it is Wilco, and on the flipside, some critics have been extra harsh because it is not as good as their I'm glad this score has gone down a little. Really, it doesn't deserve to be in the same ballpark as A Ghost Is Born (and certainly not Summer Teeth or Yankee Hotel Foxtrot). It is solid, but not great. I feel like some reviews I've seen have given good marks just because it is Wilco, and on the flipside, some critics have been extra harsh because it is not as good as their last three albums. Just taking it on its own merits, and not comparing it to past work, it is, like I said, good but not great. Expand
  4. MikefromMaine
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Finally, the Wilco album that delivers on the promise of AM and Being There. While all that experimenting did produce some fine albums, everything from Summerteeth up until now, seemed to lack the emotion of their first two collections. Sky Blue Sky delivers simple and honest emotion mixed in with some occasional interesting instrumentation to produce the album that Jeff Tweedy was Finally, the Wilco album that delivers on the promise of AM and Being There. While all that experimenting did produce some fine albums, everything from Summerteeth up until now, seemed to lack the emotion of their first two collections. Sky Blue Sky delivers simple and honest emotion mixed in with some occasional interesting instrumentation to produce the album that Jeff Tweedy was destined to make. And the Nels Cline lead and lap steel guitar work really tops it all off. Maybe I am a biased early Wilco (and UT) fan, but this could be their finest hour. Expand
  5. jay
    May 6, 2007
    10
    Wilco is back and feeling comfortable about playing music. Great music. The Band. The Beatles. Pure songs with guidance and strength. Sky Blue Sky is the calm after the storm of searching....and I am glad this is the result. Sounds like home to me.
  6. JuanF.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Is simple, beautiful, intelligent, all great songs. I think is the mayor Wilco album. Just listen songs like on and on and withe light.
  7. PabloG
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    I love this record. Wilco's beautiful collaboration in sound truly reflects a vision unique to those who know the hard times in life, but stand firm in hope. This album takes me. Thank you Wilco.
  8. KyleW
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This is a Wilco album for fans who have been there from the beginning. A delicious ode to roots rock that shold be digested by music lovers of any age.
  9. AB
    May 14, 2007
    4
    An inoffensive album ready for play in elevators, this is no "Being There." Though my enthusiasm for Wilco has consistently waned since 1997, this is the first time I've regretted spending my money on the band.
  10. GregB
    May 14, 2007
    10
    You have to give this one time, no question. It is not going to reach out and grab you at first. But when you hit the right number of listens and the little buttons start to get pushed in your brain, you'll find that this is a breathtakingly beautiful and soulful record. I get chills everytime I listen to it now. Brilliant.
  11. JohnE
    May 15, 2007
    1
    Really boring and generic sounding record. Son Volt's "The Search" is far superior.
  12. MikeW
    May 15, 2007
    6
    A dissapointingly dry Wilco album. Devoid of the lyrical complexity and atonal expirements of days past. This is Wilco airbrushed and pressure cleaned for mass consumption. Being the best band in America, there are still some gems on this record. However, the gems sit next to some of Tweedy's worst lyrics (Maybe you love me, maybe you don't), and the band's most boring A dissapointingly dry Wilco album. Devoid of the lyrical complexity and atonal expirements of days past. This is Wilco airbrushed and pressure cleaned for mass consumption. Being the best band in America, there are still some gems on this record. However, the gems sit next to some of Tweedy's worst lyrics (Maybe you love me, maybe you don't), and the band's most boring arrangements since their debut. Only Tweedy's gift for melody makes this album bareable; and he does treat us to some melodic goodies; The American Beauty-esque "What Light", the hypnotic piano ballad "On and On and On", and the lazy day hammock folk of "Either Way". This is the first time In their career Wilco has been entertainment; nothing more nothing less. This album is nice for disposable nap time music, or sunny day in the park, but ultimately it is too weak to be ranked with the bands past classics like Summer Teeth and Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Phenomenal album. It is different from Ghost and YHF, but that is what they needed. They carried over the sound from Kicking Television and put it into album form. Yes, it is more chill, but still the songs are great. Not too big of a fan of "what light" but love the rest. If you can only check out one, "Impossible Germany" is awesome.
  14. cables
    May 16, 2007
    9
    A brilliant departure from the experimentalism that bogged down parts of "a ghost is born". It recalls the pop glow of summerteeth with an added bit of maturity.
  15. steve
    May 16, 2007
    9
    gorgeous guitar work, this album will grown on you with listenings, short attention spans will find it troublesome, they have mastered their craft.
  16. TomJ.
    May 16, 2007
    8
    I've been a Wilco fan for 10 years and this band has sent me on a roller coaster of a ride through alt.country, Beatlesque pop, and noisy post-rock. I can honestly say I wasn't prepared for an album like "Sky Blue Sky". But after just one listen, not only did I identify it as a collection of Wilco songs, but an "album", a cohesive musical statement. It's hard to make a I've been a Wilco fan for 10 years and this band has sent me on a roller coaster of a ride through alt.country, Beatlesque pop, and noisy post-rock. I can honestly say I wasn't prepared for an album like "Sky Blue Sky". But after just one listen, not only did I identify it as a collection of Wilco songs, but an "album", a cohesive musical statement. It's hard to make a texturally scaled-down record such as this without great songs underneath. I must admit; after pouring over the two Loose Fur records, I really wanted to hear Glen Kotche come out a little more on this record. But the songs didn't call for it, and the performance of all the musicians proves the band understands that no one member is more important than the song. The record sounds truly effortless, like a band getting together playing the songs they like with people they like. Nothing is forced. Some say it's Wilco showing it's age; I think it's Wilco showing their incredibly tasteful musical abilities and the spirit of a collective that can survive all the guff and criticism this industry can dish out. Where do they go from here? I have no clue. Then again, I've never been able to answer this question and I'm never disappointed in the end. Expand
  17. SteveVW
    May 2, 2007
    7
    A couple misses, but overall a great summertime record, breezy and fun. Seems effortless, which mean a whole lot of effort was likely put into these songs. Not a deep, "important" record by any means, but its importance may just lie in its simple charm. Its only rock and roll, but I like it.
  18. DaveC.
    May 20, 2007
    9
    This album reminds me of Dylan's domestic turn with New Morning - not so much in its style, but in its imagery from the ordinary responsibilities of life in your 30's and 40's. It's not as dark and tormented as the Yankee and Ghost albums, but SBS is a beautiful addition to the Wilco cannon.
  19. KumerKumer
    May 2, 2007
    10
    There
  20. yourmom
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    well crafted music..... It's hard not be pleased. Although i find it to be one small step back from A Ghost Is Born.
  21. Adrian
    Jun 17, 2007
    8
    Not as experimental as their previous efforts but a solid effort none the less. Everything has been simplified and we're back to the alt-country roots ... love and loss
  22. GarthG
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Awesome in its Beauty, Simplicity and Complexity! A classic that just grows and grows on you!
  23. Walton
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Sky Blue Sky lacks the astonishing diversity of Being There or the experimental flair of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Yet it contains some terrific songs. Both Impossible Germany and Walken are among the very best numbers in Wilco live shows. And for the sentimental, Please Be Patient With Me is very touching. The best thing about Sky Blue Sky is that it is a unique addition to the Wilco/Tweedy Sky Blue Sky lacks the astonishing diversity of Being There or the experimental flair of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Yet it contains some terrific songs. Both Impossible Germany and Walken are among the very best numbers in Wilco live shows. And for the sentimental, Please Be Patient With Me is very touching. The best thing about Sky Blue Sky is that it is a unique addition to the Wilco/Tweedy repertoire. Expand
  24. JohnP
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    Apparently effortless and deceptively simple, as are all manifestations of brilliance.
  25. IlyaR
    Jul 19, 2007
    6
    "Impossible Germany" sums up the album pretty well: accessible, attractive riff and lyrics quirky and cryptic enough to be really good. But it's just not worth multiple listens.
  26. SteveS
    Jul 19, 2007
    1
    It's crap.
  27. ChrisB
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    The indie-hipster rejection of Sky Blue Sky puts a spotlight on the hypocrisy and shallowness of much of the movement. Take the same album, throw in some electric background noise and a few not-quite-cohesive off-harmonies, the same people trashing it would be calling it album of the year. Sky Blue Sky is a solid album full of a lot of extremely strong guitar riffs and overall good The indie-hipster rejection of Sky Blue Sky puts a spotlight on the hypocrisy and shallowness of much of the movement. Take the same album, throw in some electric background noise and a few not-quite-cohesive off-harmonies, the same people trashing it would be calling it album of the year. Sky Blue Sky is a solid album full of a lot of extremely strong guitar riffs and overall good songwriting. It's not as good as Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but what is? Expand
  28. TonyG.
    Jul 2, 2007
    5
    what a pain! total lack of inspiration, sonic interest, songs. nels cline solo, somewhere on the 1st song, is marking the end of the album. and, probably, of wilco's career. too bad to be true.
  29. Felix
    Jul 6, 2007
    6
    Disappointing; there are only about 3-4 songs worth listening to.
  30. JaimeP.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    best music of the century, so far. A few seconds of Either way or impossible germany are much worthwhile than the f*** discography of truly boring groops, i.e U2, !!! or those monkeys in antarctica
  31. LewisM.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Beatiful and fantastic, though im hoping this album is one for jeff to have some fun and the next will be a bit more messed up! Full of hope.
  32. JasonJ
    Mar 20, 2008
    4
    I have been a fan since before UT broke up and have been enthusiastically with Wilco through all their changes. It is sad to see them retreating into boring and at times even annoying territory. The new lineup is thoroughly lame. What happened to the band that made Summerteeth? This is the first Wilco record I have ever sold to the used cd shop. Lucky for them their new fan base is larger I have been a fan since before UT broke up and have been enthusiastically with Wilco through all their changes. It is sad to see them retreating into boring and at times even annoying territory. The new lineup is thoroughly lame. What happened to the band that made Summerteeth? This is the first Wilco record I have ever sold to the used cd shop. Lucky for them their new fan base is larger than their old one, if significantly more shallow. Expand
  33. molo
    Apr 21, 2007
    6
    Fans of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot or Summerteeth will be very dissapointed with this one. While A Ghost is Born was not a step forward by any means, Sky Blue Sky serves as an all out step backwards to Being There. But, Being There was better. When the album works, and sometimes it really does, the experience is mellowing. But, the middle of the album lacks. I found the album dissapointing, but Fans of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot or Summerteeth will be very dissapointed with this one. While A Ghost is Born was not a step forward by any means, Sky Blue Sky serves as an all out step backwards to Being There. But, Being There was better. When the album works, and sometimes it really does, the experience is mellowing. But, the middle of the album lacks. I found the album dissapointing, but some Wilco listeners might like it. Just don't expect a creative and innovative release like their previous three. Because innovative this ain't. Expand
  34. BrendanD
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Yes, the sonic chances taken on Wilco's sixth album are more subtle, but calling it inconsequential, as some (I'm looking at you, Under The Radar) will, is far from fair. I'd say it's more a "breezy" record, similar in structure to Bob Dylan's "Desire" or the Beach Boys' "Friends," and sounding quite a bit like the Grateful Dead's "American Beauty." Now, Yes, the sonic chances taken on Wilco's sixth album are more subtle, but calling it inconsequential, as some (I'm looking at you, Under The Radar) will, is far from fair. I'd say it's more a "breezy" record, similar in structure to Bob Dylan's "Desire" or the Beach Boys' "Friends," and sounding quite a bit like the Grateful Dead's "American Beauty." Now, there are those who will complain that each of those records represented a band that immediately went downhill (or was on the way down already), but I disagree. "Desire" is one of Dylan's most affecting records; "Friends" is a fabulous piece of weirdo-obscuro post-acid pop; and "American Beauty" was one of two great studio records the Dead made. As for "Sky Blue Sky," it starts off on a surprise note: the understated, sumblime "Either Way," a song that, upon first glance, does indeed seem inconsequential, with its folky, '70s-sounding electric guitar and flattened-out drums. It's not, though; how often do you hear a band come out of the woodwork not with a roar but with a chuckle? The band is loose, having fun. This album wasn't a chore to make like their most celebrated record, "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot," and neither was it an attempt to take that experimentation a step further, as was "A Ghost is Born." No, "Sky Blue Sky" is an open-set jam, a group of guys who play well together hanging out and coming up with some sweet, sweet melodies. Sure, the messages aren't as depressing as previous records; and yes, alt.country fans aren't going to be happy that the band has come up with its first-ever unabashed country song ("What Light," which recalls, most surprisingly, "Grand Ole Opry" type country) or their jammier stuff ("Impossible Germany," "Side with the Seeds"). But there is other stuff on here that you're not going to get out of your head. "Walken" is a perfect jam-pop tune; "You Are My Face" sounds like the Autumn Defense interpreting the Chamber Strings. Here's the deal, though: don't download/listen to individual tracks. It doesn't work like that. This is an album's album, a record that doesn't work unless each song is heard in its particular place. Listen to it several times while you're driving around whilst the sun shines down on you. You won't be disappointed, and you might even feel kind of good. Expand
  35. KevinM
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    This album may not be a step forward, but it is by no means a step backward. This is a very intimate album made by a band that, at this point, can do no wrong. I love this album.
  36. MadDog
    May 14, 2007
    6
    It pains me to give Wilco any score lower than an 8. I enjoy a nice acoustic set, or maybe just a song or two per album. This album starts out in a fairly promising manner, and carries a few other bright spots. All-in-all I found myself waiting to be rocked. Yes, bands need to evolve their sound to survive, but never at the cost of rocking the fans with you're uniques riffs and sweet It pains me to give Wilco any score lower than an 8. I enjoy a nice acoustic set, or maybe just a song or two per album. This album starts out in a fairly promising manner, and carries a few other bright spots. All-in-all I found myself waiting to be rocked. Yes, bands need to evolve their sound to survive, but never at the cost of rocking the fans with you're uniques riffs and sweet chorus'. Worth a listen, but borrow it from your impulsive Wilco-fanatic friend. Not worth the buy M dog Expand
  37. PeterC
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Brilliant! Tweedy sounds confident and relaxed. the songs have a gentle charm and fell as comopfrtable as a favorite shirt. A plaid flannel shirt, of course.
  38. AlT
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Every album is orignal and better, best band around today, easily.
  39. BDub
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Will be one of my top ten from the year. I'm in the minority of people that like this more than their previous work. This is less experimental, which means it will be easier to get into. And it is for that reason that it will be reviewed poorly. All of the Indie fans that liked them before will be all up in arms over the fact that more people can listen to their music. Stupid. The Will be one of my top ten from the year. I'm in the minority of people that like this more than their previous work. This is less experimental, which means it will be easier to get into. And it is for that reason that it will be reviewed poorly. All of the Indie fans that liked them before will be all up in arms over the fact that more people can listen to their music. Stupid. The guitar work on this album is just awesome, YHF just put me to sleep. If you found yourself not really liking previous Wilco, i encourage you to give them one more try with this one. What the indie snobs don't like about this album will be what you will like. Expand
  40. TimothyK
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Sky Blue Sky, Wilco's latest album, displays the evolution Wilco has endured throughout their existence. Sky Blue Sky presents a cleaner, toned down sound but with Jeff Tweedy's eccentric voice still clear. This will be one of the top albums of the year.
  41. B-Dog
    May 14, 2007
    5
    Wilco is totally sucking on this record. They need to crank up the RAWK!!! Come on, Jeff, act like you got a pair!!
  42. jd
    May 14, 2007
    10
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. i can, however, see why some Wilco fans would not like this album. Its almost as if each track is a different music style. There are definitely some other influences running deep through a few tracks. I personally enjoy the new found structure, lyrical maturity, and over-all feel, of this blissful album.
  43. thegarz
    May 14, 2007
    0
    the sound of a fat and happy band that has nothing more to say. bloated, boring, dull and lyrically pathetic. just a waste of time. 'sky blue sky' is a fitting title because the music is perfectly empty background fodder for the weather channel.
  44. TomB
    May 14, 2007
    5
    Dull as dishwater.
  45. GregD
    May 14, 2007
    6
    Well, this isn't another Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but neither was A Ghost Is Born. But instead of displaying some variance from the tired soft rock formula like they did (in some places) on AGIB, there's a sense of defeat, self-pity, and sticking to the formula. The sort of lyrics that accompany self-pity would have been interesting for a couple of songs, but Tweedy has filled the Well, this isn't another Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but neither was A Ghost Is Born. But instead of displaying some variance from the tired soft rock formula like they did (in some places) on AGIB, there's a sense of defeat, self-pity, and sticking to the formula. The sort of lyrics that accompany self-pity would have been interesting for a couple of songs, but Tweedy has filled the whole record with them - and made them boring altogether too much. In the meanwhile I'll keep waiting for Tweedy to make a record as interesting as Summerteeth. Expand
  46. Tom
    May 14, 2007
    4
    Rehab stints usually usher in fallow periods for musicians. Jeff Tweedy is no exception to this rule. He'll be back.
  47. ThomasH
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Really solid album. Most immediate, 'adult'-sounding record Wilco has put out to date. Feels like waking up to the calm and clarity of the next morning following a series of nightmare's and complexities. Dirty-soul feels about right..Similar, perhaps in mood and form to the last R.E.M. album, but whereas directness and 'adult life' felt boring and archaic on Really solid album. Most immediate, 'adult'-sounding record Wilco has put out to date. Feels like waking up to the calm and clarity of the next morning following a series of nightmare's and complexities. Dirty-soul feels about right..Similar, perhaps in mood and form to the last R.E.M. album, but whereas directness and 'adult life' felt boring and archaic on 'Around The Sun', Wilco leaps forward into new terrain and creates a new landscape totally their own. Another leap forward America's foremost musical outfit. Expand
  48. MichaelS
    May 14, 2007
    4
    where are the songs???
  49. romanmc
    May 15, 2007
    9
    Typically solid. The middle of the album is the soft spot (except Side with the Seeds) but the first and last few tracks stand up to anything they've done before. Pitchfork's hatchet job (and anything in the 5.0 range is as bad as it gets because it says "boring") demonstrates the difference between Pitchfork and Wilco. Wilco has made peace with the fact aging is a part of life Typically solid. The middle of the album is the soft spot (except Side with the Seeds) but the first and last few tracks stand up to anything they've done before. Pitchfork's hatchet job (and anything in the 5.0 range is as bad as it gets because it says "boring") demonstrates the difference between Pitchfork and Wilco. Wilco has made peace with the fact aging is a part of life and personal evolution. Naturally, the music reflects this journey and may come across as "mellower," and more pastoral and seemingly more assured of itself. It doesn't make it less interesting because there isn't a kitchen sink approach to the production (i.e. krautrock beats, xylophone sections, etc...). It's what is real to them right now. Pitchfork wouldn't understand that because evolution for them means finding whatever hipster trend seems to be peaking, give it the papal blessing no matter how shite it may be, congratulate itself on how important it is to the financial wherewithal of said shite hipster trend, and go on oblivious to the fact that whatever drone band they fellated in their review speaks to the hearts of no one. That isn't evolution. It's a desperate attempt to hit the hipster fountain of youth when the truth is that no one in their 30s can safely spot trends before whatever it was already isn't trendy. Sorry to rant. Go Wilco! Expand
  50. JonathanE
    May 15, 2007
    8
    This is a really mellow low-key album and a really enjoyable listen. It's really bolstered by Nels Cline's fine guitar playing throughout. It may lack the head-first experimentalism of the past two Wilco albums, but it makes up for it in its realism and heartfelt songs.
  51. Mike
    May 15, 2007
    9
    I've had the chance to listen to this album several times. After the first listen, I was very skeptic and disappointed. As I've listened on, like all Wilco's music, it's gotten better and better each time. I think this will be a case where a lot of people will whine about how mellow it is at first and then soon realize it's just Wilco evolving naturally and doing I've had the chance to listen to this album several times. After the first listen, I was very skeptic and disappointed. As I've listened on, like all Wilco's music, it's gotten better and better each time. I think this will be a case where a lot of people will whine about how mellow it is at first and then soon realize it's just Wilco evolving naturally and doing something different. Great album. Expand
  52. Aaron
    May 15, 2007
    9
    Lovely set of laid back avant-country (if music is actually capable of falling under that name), occasionally punctuated by prog guitars or Stax keyboards. Tweedy's voice sounds lovely, and I'll be damned if "Impossible Germany isn't the best thing they've ever done.
  53. bradb
    May 15, 2007
    10
    very nice. very nice indeed.
  54. RonG
    May 15, 2007
    9
    Can not give a 10 because that is reserved for desert island albums. I would however keep SBS in my desert island ipod.
  55. R.J.Fernandez
    May 16, 2007
    6
    A little too polished for my taste, I would have liked a little more pop and a little more rock, but then Tweedy didn't make this album for me. "Sky Blue Sky," the first single is about as great a song as he's ever written. There are about four other memorable songs here, but the album sounds bleak and souless to me as a whole.
  56. hippophile
    May 16, 2007
    9
    I put SBS right behind YHF as their second best. "Side with the Seeds" is worth the price of admission by itself! I agree that this is a more easily acceptable/likeable record if you've been following Wilco since A.M. But if you got on the bandwagon around the time of YHF, I can see how SBS may not live up to your expectations. Thanks Jeff and the boys, this long-timer thinks I put SBS right behind YHF as their second best. "Side with the Seeds" is worth the price of admission by itself! I agree that this is a more easily acceptable/likeable record if you've been following Wilco since A.M. But if you got on the bandwagon around the time of YHF, I can see how SBS may not live up to your expectations. Thanks Jeff and the boys, this long-timer thinks it's awesome. Expand
  57. CameronJ
    May 16, 2007
    8
    Like Neil young and Van Morrison, Wilco have never been interested in what type of music is popular currently. And like them, I think we'll appreciate that their music won't date like a lot of other current artists.
  58. Jfurman
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Annoying that critics are kinda panning this one. Back to roots, so that must mean they're getting old and stale, right? This one has more texture, intimacy, and satisfying meat to it than the recent more experimental ones. Best wilco yet.
  59. Dave
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Wos what a great CD! I've really been hoping Tweedy would return to the sound of the "Being There" and "Summerteeth" era, and my wish was granted. Don't get me wrong, I love YHF, and to a lesser extent AGIB, but I still feel Being There is their best work, though this new CD comes very close! Can't wait to hear the new songs performed live!
  60. BradleyP
    May 17, 2007
    8
    A mature outing that wears well, and for me a welcome return to melody. I am one of those who found the noise and texture experiments of YHT and Egg Is Born to be low points, cheap shots from a band that knows better. I found Pitchfork's review to be especially off track and juvenile, they seem to be missing the point that one may use references outside the 20-something world to A mature outing that wears well, and for me a welcome return to melody. I am one of those who found the noise and texture experiments of YHT and Egg Is Born to be low points, cheap shots from a band that knows better. I found Pitchfork's review to be especially off track and juvenile, they seem to be missing the point that one may use references outside the 20-something world to create fun and engaging music. In this case, those references are rock and country albums from the '70s that still carry weight. Some pop music ideas are endlessly usable. I will say right now how much I enjoyed hearing actual guitar solos on this album - the indie obsession with "texture" leaves too many songs in monotonous grooves excessively controlled by the songwriter, while the old pop device of improvised instrumental breaks provides welcome change from the vocalist and forces the melody to be viewed in a different light. Nice work. Expand
  61. tylerk
    May 17, 2007
    6
    Eh... too many people trying to convince themselves this is a great album. This departure to smooth-rock adult contemporary is not what the majority of wilco fans expected or wanted. Very few if any catchy hooks or memorable melodies.
  62. ChristiainZ
    May 17, 2007
    9
    Am I the only one who thinks this is a great piece of work? This set just ended on my stereo and I'm thrilled with it. On and On and On is probably the best ender to Wilco album since Dreamer in My Dreams, the opener Either Way is the perfect theme-setter, and Impossible Germany could be the best thing these guys have ever done. Toss in Hate it Here, Leave Me Like You Found Me and Am I the only one who thinks this is a great piece of work? This set just ended on my stereo and I'm thrilled with it. On and On and On is probably the best ender to Wilco album since Dreamer in My Dreams, the opener Either Way is the perfect theme-setter, and Impossible Germany could be the best thing these guys have ever done. Toss in Hate it Here, Leave Me Like You Found Me and the awesome Walken and you got a near classic set. Is there a downside? Well, is the Pope Catholic? So Please Be Patient With Me isn't great (Jeff, we have wusses aplenty in music. Don't become a card-carrying member). But one song on an otherwise very-worthy accomplishment? Do the math, folks. Get this before the cynics drown out the compliments this deserves! Expand
  63. PaulL
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Taken on its own terms this CD is a masterpiece. After reading some reviews from "experts" it seems that Wilco must continue on its path of musical deconstruction in order to be relevant. I disagree. Sky Blue Sky is not to be judged on anyone's expectations of what a Wilco album is supposed to sound like. Take it on its own terms and enjoy Tweedy's vocals which are the best of Taken on its own terms this CD is a masterpiece. After reading some reviews from "experts" it seems that Wilco must continue on its path of musical deconstruction in order to be relevant. I disagree. Sky Blue Sky is not to be judged on anyone's expectations of what a Wilco album is supposed to sound like. Take it on its own terms and enjoy Tweedy's vocals which are the best of any frontman in rock today. Enjoy listening to a band. That's right, a band. Not a producer or engineer. Not only does that make me think this is a sort of throwback album; but when was the last time you played a CD and enjoyed the whole thing. Save for Love and Theft by Bob Dylan I can't think of the last time I enjoyed a CD so thoroughly. Expand
  64. jDearman
    May 18, 2007
    10
    I admit, I didn't quite expect this. After listening to the whole album 6-7 times, I can't get it out of my head. This is not the album that I was waiting for, but maby it should have been. I love it.
  65. William
    May 18, 2007
    10
    2nd best Wilco album, afterYHF.
  66. madsl
    May 18, 2007
    8
    It is rather pathetic how some wilco "fans" have easiliy dismissed this album solely because of its "failure" to go further down the path of experimentation...whatever that is!? Yes, I too, was initially disappointed by this more slick approach, but repeated listens really open up these songs in quite a magnificent way. Side with the seeds; Impossible Germany and Walken rate among their It is rather pathetic how some wilco "fans" have easiliy dismissed this album solely because of its "failure" to go further down the path of experimentation...whatever that is!? Yes, I too, was initially disappointed by this more slick approach, but repeated listens really open up these songs in quite a magnificent way. Side with the seeds; Impossible Germany and Walken rate among their very best songs ever...the last minute and a half of the latter is a breathtaking display of true guitar interplay brilliance. Expand
  67. KellyH
    May 18, 2007
    7
    It's like mixing all of your favorite flavors of ice cream - but serving them warm. Tweedy seems most honest when his lyrics are delving into frustration, desperation, and chaos. This CD seems to be a collection of lullabys, by comparison. That being said, it's worth a listen. I'm sure that we will all be crooning along with Tweedy at the next concert where, hopefully, all It's like mixing all of your favorite flavors of ice cream - but serving them warm. Tweedy seems most honest when his lyrics are delving into frustration, desperation, and chaos. This CD seems to be a collection of lullabys, by comparison. That being said, it's worth a listen. I'm sure that we will all be crooning along with Tweedy at the next concert where, hopefully, all of the audience will stay off of the stage! Expand
  68. JasonD
    May 19, 2007
    2
    I was pretty disappointed in this album. After "A Ghost is Born," I was ready for a more straight-forward Wilco disc, so I was braced for the simplicity of "Sky Blue Sky," but I wasn't prepared for Tweedy to write such a bland, uninspired set of songs. This album never takes off, never really presents any hooks or even many interesting melodic ideas to hang onto, it's just lazy I was pretty disappointed in this album. After "A Ghost is Born," I was ready for a more straight-forward Wilco disc, so I was braced for the simplicity of "Sky Blue Sky," but I wasn't prepared for Tweedy to write such a bland, uninspired set of songs. This album never takes off, never really presents any hooks or even many interesting melodic ideas to hang onto, it's just lazy classic rock. Expand
  69. PeteO
    May 21, 2007
    8
    While not as overall impressed with it as A Ghost Is Born, which I now consider their peak, I must say that this is definitely a fantastic album. I really love how loose it sounds and how it often feels like a band just having a great time jamming out. The guitar solos in particular are all well played and inventive. Wilco continues to impress as one of the best American bands of our While not as overall impressed with it as A Ghost Is Born, which I now consider their peak, I must say that this is definitely a fantastic album. I really love how loose it sounds and how it often feels like a band just having a great time jamming out. The guitar solos in particular are all well played and inventive. Wilco continues to impress as one of the best American bands of our time, and all time. Expand
  70. JohnH
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Just a simply beautiful album
  71. ChrisD
    May 20, 2007
    8
    Took me a while to warm up to this, but I've been pleasantly surprised. Add another consistently good album and more importantly another great dimension to the band's discography. Check out "Impossible Germany" if nothing else. On a related note, is it just me or has Pitchfork started to become a parody of itself? The more reviews like the Wilco one the less seriously I can take them.
  72. DylanR
    May 20, 2007
    9
    This record offers less instant gratification than past Wilco releases, but it just keeps getting better with repeated listens. As it currently stands, I can't turn the damn thing off. You're hearing a first-rate ensemble playing some simple, yet elegantly crafted songs with great lyrics to boot. This has been the strongest release of 2007 so far.
  73. MattD.
    May 22, 2007
    8
    First of all, this CD is not simplistic like some say. The song "You Are My Face" goes from a Simon And Garfunkel-like melody to a jam back to a Simon And Garfunkel-like melody. Many of the slower songs like "White Light" feel relaxing instead of boring. Wilco has come up with their own brand of soul. There's a bit too much jamming on the CD and the lyrics aren't quite up to First of all, this CD is not simplistic like some say. The song "You Are My Face" goes from a Simon And Garfunkel-like melody to a jam back to a Simon And Garfunkel-like melody. Many of the slower songs like "White Light" feel relaxing instead of boring. Wilco has come up with their own brand of soul. There's a bit too much jamming on the CD and the lyrics aren't quite up to Summerteeth or Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but this is a great addition to your Wilco collection. Expand
  74. STEVEK
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Better than the REO Speedwagon of my youth!!
  75. ZookeeperFerguson
    May 24, 2007
    4
    It's brutal to even get through this album. Tweedy used to sound like his mind was splitting open. Now he sounds lobotomized. The world doesn't need any more warmed-over 70's FM junk.
  76. JamesP
    May 25, 2007
    8
    This is the kind of album I love to play on a Sunday afternoon cruising by the beach. Seems like Tweedy is really starting to move past the demons and addiction that were main themes of YHF and AGIB. Doesn't take much artistic risk, but they're good solid chops.
  77. RyanS
    May 26, 2007
    10
    I can't stop listening to it, its simply a great album. Its such a summer time album. Makes me want to sit out on a deck somewhere and just chat with old friends.
  78. DylanS
    May 27, 2007
    8
    It's no Yankee Hotel, but Sky Blue Sky is the best thing Wilco has put out since. Amazing in it's crafted simplicity, this CD is banking on catching you just with the music. No bullshit experimentation, no adventerous 11 minute songs, not to say that I'm no a whole hearted fan of these things, but everyone needs a break.
  79. BenS
    May 29, 2007
    7
    Great album. Who says every album needs to be some experimental ground-breaker? Just a great album of great tunes.
  80. BruceG
    May 29, 2007
    10
    A set of beautiful songs. What more could one ask for? Each Wilco album stand-alone suite and this one stands just as well as the others.
  81. JonnyG
    May 31, 2007
    1
    Quite possibly the blandest thing ever put to tape.
  82. MattR
    May 31, 2007
    4
    Not good, not great, and not close to either. This album is so simplistic, it deserves simple criticism: boring. Sorry, but as a huge Wilco fan since AM, there is no need to convince yourself this is good. The band is allowed one misstep after so many brilliant albums. Let's just hope that is all it is.
  83. SteveH
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    Bought it last week, now I'm having problems taking it out of the CD player. On first listen it sounded a little mundane, by the third go around it was magic. Tweedy really is an artist with real vision, and the band is loose and tight at the same time, how do they do that?
  84. ChrisC
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    This record falls in line with all of Wilco's records. Sure, it might not be as great top-to-bottom as Being There or Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but it's further proof that Jeff Tweedy is likely the most important artist of our time. If you've written this record off after a few listens, you MUST return to it. This record, though seeming simple, is very complex and takes time. This record falls in line with all of Wilco's records. Sure, it might not be as great top-to-bottom as Being There or Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, but it's further proof that Jeff Tweedy is likely the most important artist of our time. If you've written this record off after a few listens, you MUST return to it. This record, though seeming simple, is very complex and takes time. Another great output from an artist who's beginning to enter the ranks of artists such as Dylan and Springsteen. Expand
  85. Matthew
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    Pretty ridiculous all of the poor reviews...why does music have to be "experimental" or "groundbreaking". Tweedy made it very clear that he just wanted this album to be a collection of straightforward tunes (watch the documentary that comes with the disc), and it is a superb collection of just that, great tunes.
  86. JohnN
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    Brilliant songwriting, Brilliant musicianship. There best to date and I have them all. Dont' believe the bad reviews, it's from people who think Revolution #9 is genius.
  87. EricC
    Jun 21, 2007
    7
    Can be pretty classic stuff when they gather some energy. Unfortunately, this doesn't happen often.
  88. Paul
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    If you hate this album, so be it, but don't do so because the lyrics, or music is "bland". The lyrics aren't as postmodern or flashy as the previous albums, but instead, like some of Roger Waters' best lyrics, they're clear, economical, and hold a far more substantial beauty. "Something in my veins bloodier than blood" has got nothing on "Mysteries we believe in, not If you hate this album, so be it, but don't do so because the lyrics, or music is "bland". The lyrics aren't as postmodern or flashy as the previous albums, but instead, like some of Roger Waters' best lyrics, they're clear, economical, and hold a far more substantial beauty. "Something in my veins bloodier than blood" has got nothing on "Mysteries we believe in, not dreamed enough to be true". And try looking up the complex chord changes to these songs and play them on a piano sometime and see how "easy listening" the music is. Expand
  89. BrianH
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    Tweedy Singing and Nels Kiline on guitar! It's like I finally have some 70's style artists to worship in my lifetime. This album may be a grower for some but the complicated simplicity of this album is what will make this, and all other Wilco/Tweedy work, stand the test of time. There is no Best Wilco Album, it's all about the amazing quality album after album that no other Tweedy Singing and Nels Kiline on guitar! It's like I finally have some 70's style artists to worship in my lifetime. This album may be a grower for some but the complicated simplicity of this album is what will make this, and all other Wilco/Tweedy work, stand the test of time. There is no Best Wilco Album, it's all about the amazing quality album after album that no other band has given to this generation. Expand
  90. JTR
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Further evidence of pitchfork media's doubtful value (they gave this a 52) as a critical resource. This album, if put on a graph would show Wilco continues to climb to heights of artistic importance and quality rarely fantasized about by better known, better rated bands. Easily a top 5 2007 release, easily a top 3 Wilco disc.
  91. brent
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    sounds like what a john lennon solo album would've sounded like if he never met yoko.
  92. StephenR
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Lyrically smart and musically inventive even though it sticks to the basics - yes, that sounds contradictory but that's the only way I can think to describe this album. Listening to it is a treat and although it feels different from all of the others...when have any of the others ever felt like on of their siblings? Listen to it with headphones and minimum distractions to catch the Lyrically smart and musically inventive even though it sticks to the basics - yes, that sounds contradictory but that's the only way I can think to describe this album. Listening to it is a treat and although it feels different from all of the others...when have any of the others ever felt like on of their siblings? Listen to it with headphones and minimum distractions to catch the intricacies and the inherent beauty - you won't be disappointed. Expand
  93. KevinO
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    Its a nice album, but everytime I listen, I'm left longing for a few punchy Wilco songs to bring us out of the wallow. One shouldn't be able to play a Wilco album in full at the dinner table. The album is definitely missing some offensive sounds and clammer that would ruin a dignified dinner party.
  94. JimK.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    After two very experimental albums this was a perfect fit for the band who will never compromise their sound for the masses needs. Beautiful album.
  95. JerryJ
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    This is a logical step for a band that never compromises or worries about meeting anyone's expectations but their own. I can't wait to see what they have planned next.
  96. NoamB.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    a masterpiece. not absorbed in 1-2 listens. *****
  97. Glen
    Jul 8, 2007
    5
    So disappointed, I've listened to it over and over hoping it would sink in like the last 3 albums but it just didn't do it for me. Boring, cheesy, not creative in the least bit. The last two albums were timeless and I'm being generous by giving it a 5 because of how much I love those last 2 or 3 albums.
  98. RickW.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    I really liked this album when I first got it but after seeing WILCO perform just about the entire album live outdoors under a full Vermont summer solstice moon in June I became a true believer. I have all previous WILCO efforts but this one is the best! Nels Cline is a great addition to the band and takes their sound away from country towards rock. All songs performed live were even I really liked this album when I first got it but after seeing WILCO perform just about the entire album live outdoors under a full Vermont summer solstice moon in June I became a true believer. I have all previous WILCO efforts but this one is the best! Nels Cline is a great addition to the band and takes their sound away from country towards rock. All songs performed live were even better than the recordings, and the energy in "Shake it Off" and "Hate it Here" played live made me appreciate these tunes even more on the album. Best album of the year.....to date! Expand
  99. adolfop.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing guitar creativity, easy listening, thumbs up.
  100. ClayY.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    I have owned this album since it's release date. Ws very disappointed at first listen. Appreciated it much more, and fell in love with a couple of the songs about a week after having it. Months have passed since, and I picked it up again because I was about to see them live. Not only has this become my favorite Wilco album, there is something about it, and where I have been in my I have owned this album since it's release date. Ws very disappointed at first listen. Appreciated it much more, and fell in love with a couple of the songs about a week after having it. Months have passed since, and I picked it up again because I was about to see them live. Not only has this become my favorite Wilco album, there is something about it, and where I have been in my life lately, that it has now officially become my favorite album of all time. If there is anyone who is at a rough place in life, I really suggest this record to make you feel better. So much understanding, and enlightenment, with just the right touch of rage to fill ones soul. I can't get over how incredibly beautiful, and stong the simplistic lyrics to "On and On and On. A song that really makes me happy to have experienced life, no matter what hells I have reached in my journey. It gives me hope for a life that will make it's mark be known. And "What Light" has such a Lennon quality that really allows you to celebrate the good inside us all that we fail to recognize because we find ourselves distracted with society, and lose sight of what is important: our own hearts and souls and feelings! Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. It's certainly the group's most cohesive album in ages.
  2. Under The Radar
    50
    A very professional but almost inconsequential set... flat and ultimately uninspired. [#17, p.88]
  3. The closer you listen to the jazzy guitars, Beatles touches and easy, shuffling rhythms ... the more it transpires that Tweedy is simply allowing the songs sufficient room to speak up for themselves.