The Boy Who Knew Too Much Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the London-based singer was produced with Greg Wells and features Imogen Heap and Final Fantasy's Owen Pallett as guests.

Top Track

Is it really necessary every single day You're making me more ordinary in every possible way This ordinary mind is broken You did it and you don't... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. It's a Technicolor pop explosion designed for throwing your jazz hands into the air.
  2. On The Boy Who Knew Too Much, this Beirut-born singer comes back strong with another set of over-the-top anthems that proves no one's more entitled to inherit Freddie Mercury's glam-god crown.
  3. Halfway into The Boy Who Knew Too Much, Mika is batting six for six into his technicolor outfield. By track 13, the last track, I want to congratulate Mika on exceeding the pop-tastic qualities of his debut.
  4. Deeper and darker takes longer to charm, which is bad for singles, but should see the album's shelf life extend to long after Mika's novelty has worn off.
  5. His serious moments are as hard to comprehend as a Chuckle Brother tackling a eulogy: you know he must feel emotion because he is a human being, but you are constantly expecting the arrival, stage right, of a pantomime cow.
  6. At the core of these songs are gleaming melodies that rarely fail to hit the mark, which is why even the single 'We Are Golden' is tolerable despite the best efforts of a gang of horribly exuberant kiddie backing singers.
  7. "Cartoon Motion" was a nice moment for Mika, but this second album does not improve or advance what he did before. In fact, he seems to have regressed through his venture into childhood on The Boy Who Knew Too Much.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. kodes100T.
    Sep 24, 2009
    TBWKTM is a Brilliant album! Mika is on fire! Kudos Mika!
  2. AM
    Sep 24, 2009
    Beautiful, amazing, fabulous
  3. Leon
    Oct 4, 2009
    Perfect, brilliant, masterpiece !
  4. lauraz.
    Sep 24, 2009
    Amazing album! a master piece for sure... touches you will be a hit!!
  5. johnj.
    Sep 26, 2009
    The most beautiful I've listened to ever.
  6. JF.
    Sep 27, 2009
    Mika is truly a genius, and anyone who says this isn't an excellent sophomore attempt is insane, because this album is just pure genius! Mika is truly a genius, and anyone who says this isn't an excellent sophomore attempt is insane, because this album is just pure genius! It just flows so beautifully, through a technicolor journey of sound! Mika outshines himself on many of the tracks, showing he is just not some one hit wonder! We will be hearing a lot more of Mika, in the years to come, and I couldn't be happier! Mika reminds me of some of Pops greatest! This is an excellent album, don't let the haters distract you from the genius of this album, because it truly is great! Expand
  7. AndyJameson
    Sep 24, 2009
    A genuine disappointment after a great first album.

See all 14 User Reviews