User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Turn the Car Around Image

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

  • Summary: The fourth full-length solo release for former Supergrass frontman Gaz Coombes was produced with Ian Davenport.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 30, 2023
    The band’s intoxicating, questing spirit throbs through the strongest suite of music Coombes has assembled in 20 years.
  2. Jan 11, 2023
    While the off-kilter rhythms and cowbells of ‘This Love’ give way to a central chorus line that’s almost Bowie-esque. They’re big reference points but ‘Turn The Car Around’ uses them masterfully to drive down its own sonic motorway.
  3. Jan 17, 2023
    It is the finest achievement of Coombes’ solo career so far, a magnificent record – and the feeling still persists that there is more to come.
  4. Mojo
    Jan 11, 2023
    While Long Live The Strange turns the outsiderism of Supergrass's Strange Ones into an anthem, with bonus chorale. The rest is more soul-searching, but with instrumental structuring and melodic grace of satisfying excellence. [Feb 2023, p.82]
  5. Jan 11, 2023
    This is a thoughtful, and thought-provoking, set of songs from a writer whose responses to the world around him illustrate an ever-deepening maturity, which is intriguing to chart across his four solo releases to date.
  6. Jan 13, 2023
    It’s a fearless, intricately crafted and sonically expansive body of work that effortlessly showcases why he’s one of the UK’s most talented songwriters.
  7. Jan 13, 2023
    Coombes, a quite masterful musical auteur after three decades in the game, skillfully navigates the record away from one long mid-life nightmare. ... it’s another hugely satisfying listen.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 11, 2023
    One of the reoccuring thoughts I had while listening to this fine record is that this is the kind of record Richard Ashcroft should be makingOne of the reoccuring thoughts I had while listening to this fine record is that this is the kind of record Richard Ashcroft should be making as a solo artist. While Ashcroft has settled into providing a water down version of his past glories, Gaz Coombes is producing some of the best materiel of his career. Expansive and interesting, full of tunes I have a feeling that I will grow to like this more and more as time passes and the listening count goes up. "Don't Say It's Over" is one of the songs of the year and is a definite standout but the whole album feels like its details have been painstakingly thought out and crafted. There are still moment where songs don't quite take off or reach their potential but overall a really good listen. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2023
    It is a pleasant album to listen to. The sounds are very soft and the lyrics are very beautiful. The sound of the album is pleasant to the ear.