• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Uncovered Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second covers album from the singer-songwriter features songs by such artists as by Graham Nash, Robbie Robertson, Paul Simon, Bruce Springsteen, Tom Waits, and Stevie Wonder.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Fantasy
  • Genre(s): Folk, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Contemporary Folk
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Tougher Than the Rest
Well it's Saturday night You're all dressed up in blue I been watching you awhile Maybe you been watching me too So somebody ran out Left somebody's... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 6, 2015
    Colvin struggles with the Band’s complex “Acadian Driftwood,” but otherwise shines.
  2. Oct 6, 2015
    Overall, Uncovered stands up as much as you could want a cover album to; Colvin puts her own folk spin on things and keeps that sound strong throughout.
  3. Dec 2, 2015
    Uncovered could be considered a sequel of sorts. Here again, Colvin culls the set list from the efforts of others. In a way, it’s more adventurous than before, due not only to the diversity of her sources (Bruce Springsteen, Paul Simon, Tom Waits, Stevie Wonder et. al.), but also to the stripped down approach which finds her sharing the spotlight with producer Steuart Smith’s acoustic guitar and little else in the way of additional accoutrement.
  4. Oct 29, 2015
    Uncovered, the longtime local's second covers album, both respects its material's wellsprings and celebrates them through a different, and at times unrecognizable, lens.
  5. Oct 6, 2015
    Uncovered feels slightly spare and quiet in comparison [to 1994's Cover Girl]--there are no productions as bright and full as that on "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic"--but it follows the same basic formula as that album, with Colvin finding the quiet, intimate heart lying in each of these songs.
  6. Oct 6, 2015
    Colvin needs to bring something new to the songs, but for the most part does not perform them much differently than the older tunes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of