• Record Label: Fat Cat
  • Release Date: Oct 14, 2014
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    80
    Quite possibly We Were Promised Jetpacks' most vivid album to date, Unravelling finds the band making music that's harder to place than ever--and that much more interesting for it.
  2. Alternative Press
    Oct 8, 2014
    80
    The band are writing songs still riddled with emotional turmoil, but they seem more jaded and contemplative. [Nov 2014, p.100]
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    A beautiful mix allows the elements of each of the tracks to truly breathe and settle in their own spaces.
  4. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    Unraveling is cut from a richer, darker cloth than their earlier works, making it a bold departure and a tense new direction well worth exploring.
  5. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    We Were Promised Jetpacks have pushed the bar for these bands even higher with the release of Unravelling.
  6. 75
    Unravelling deals with lives falling apart, but with the addition of McGachan, We Were Promised Jetpacks come together as a cohesive force.
  7. Oct 30, 2014
    70
    Unravelling is an album that needs time and patience lent towards it. It's a slow-burner of a record, both in the tempo it sets and the amount of time it takes for it to reveal itself.
  8. 60
    This seems like a minor pit-stop for them and in fairness, it's a good record but nothing like what I expected.
  9. Oct 13, 2014
    60
    Unraveling may not be the best We Were Promised Jetpacks record, which still goes to These Four Walls, but it is the album that demarcates a clear if ultimately less certain direction.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    Not that big a change of direction from their last albums, you still get the big build-ups and anthemic crashes, what's different now is theNot that big a change of direction from their last albums, you still get the big build-ups and anthemic crashes, what's different now is the thoughtfulness of each note. Each chord, lyrical line, drum beat, etc all feel like they have a purpose in the song. It makes it all the more satisfying when the signature Jetpacks "wall of sound" finally hit you.

    I liked the album on first listen and became completely obsessed with it by the 4th listen or so. Now I an;t stop playing it. Saw them live on 2 shows during their tour to promote this album, and they are even better live. Easily in the talks for album of the year for me.
    Full Review »