User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Whitechapel Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

  • Summary: The fourth album from the deathcore metal band was produced by Mark Lewis.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

I, Dementia
I am dementia in your mind Creator of decisions, violent visions and lies Blind, blind, your eyes forever blind Reality is dead by your force fed... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 6, 2012
    Whitechapel are one of the best and downright annihilating bands their field.
  2. Alternative Press
    Jun 19, 2012
    Its peaks make Whitechapel the band's best album yet by a wide margin. [Jul 2012, p.98]
  3. Kerrang!
    Jul 17, 2012
    This is as exciting as heavy music gets in 2012. [23 Jun 2012, p.54]
  4. This record takes everything the band has done in the past and gives it to us in a rather different, yet just as captivating way.
  5. Jul 25, 2012
    Whitechapel is a band that is definitely worth checking out, and with its expansive and devastating sound, this self-titled album makes for a great jumping-off point.
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    It might be Whitechapel's most complicated and mature work yet, which is an impressive thing for an act that hasn't always been very consistent.
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    Looser, less right-angle technical, Whitechapel deals bone-breakers like "Section 8," one-upped by the succeeding "Faces" ("erase your words and die"), before blaring blindly toward the end, though the bleeding never stops.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    'Ive been a fan of Whitechapel since the beginning, and it seems like with ever release they get more and more recognition. my grip with the'Ive been a fan of Whitechapel since the beginning, and it seems like with ever release they get more and more recognition. my grip with the band all this time, they aren't very consistent, it seems like their albums are more a bunch of singles and song you'll never hear again. This album is no different but there's more of these great songs, and each song has their own sound unique sound. But like i said there seems to be a few songs that may not have had the most attention during writing, and these songs seemed to fall a bit short. Overall, I really like this album. It has the classic Whitechapel lyrics like," We will not live in, one nation under hypocracy, we are the faces of justice fueling anarchy." Although there's a few less interesting songs, there's still a lot of great songs easily making up for the short comings. Expand