• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1447 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On

Top Track

Roar
I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath Scared to rock the boat and make a mess So I sat quietly Agreed politely I guess that I forgot I had a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 345
  1. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    "amazing incredible brilliant never the same totally unique" -me about PRISM
    katy perry DELIVERS when it comes to release pop songs, thats
    "amazing incredible brilliant never the same totally unique" -me about PRISM
    katy perry DELIVERS when it comes to release pop songs, thats why she is one of the best pop singers of our generation...duhh. yes im writing it on 2017 its been 4 years since prism was out for the first time and i still listen to it.... its just so timeless. and i think that prism is very underrated, it definitely should've sold more and have better critics
    Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    loved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs butloved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs but still stuff i can have fun listening to Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2017
    8
    Catchy, fun, what more could you ask for? Nothing exceptional in terms of thought-provoking, but definitely a bright and poppy album destinedCatchy, fun, what more could you ask for? Nothing exceptional in terms of thought-provoking, but definitely a bright and poppy album destined to lift your mood. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2015
    6
    It's a cute record. The best album of Katy Perry so far, and it isn't pretty good, though. Well, there are some pretty good songs likeIt's a cute record. The best album of Katy Perry so far, and it isn't pretty good, though. Well, there are some pretty good songs like Birthday, Legendary Lovers, Walking On Air, Unconditionally and Ghost, but there are also many bad songs like Love Me, Dark Horse, International Smile, By The Grace Of God and Double Rainbow. It just isn't enough, but Katy Perry is getting better, she sings better than before in One Of The Boys and this album is a masterpiece compared with the previous, Teenage Dream. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2017
    4
    it wasit was okay........................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2017
    0
    Horrible sounding album, there's nothing more I can say. It's so bad I just wanted to skip all the songs. JustHorrible sounding album, there's nothing more I can say. It's so bad I just wanted to skip all the songs. Just baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad Expand

See all 345 User Reviews