• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1469 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On

Top Track

Roar
I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath Scared to rock the boat and make a mess So I sat quietly Agreed politely I guess that I forgot I had a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 353
  1. Jun 22, 2017
    10
    Without a doubt, this is Perry's best effort. It is pure pop and iconic. Standout tracks are Roar, Unconditionally, By The Grace of God, LoveWithout a doubt, this is Perry's best effort. It is pure pop and iconic. Standout tracks are Roar, Unconditionally, By The Grace of God, Love Me and Dark Horse. This album carries so many messages of love, light and life. It truly is an inspiration and has lyrics that are cleverly written and pure fun. This album is one word - genius. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    loved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs butloved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs but still stuff i can have fun listening to Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2018
    8
    Song Review
    Roar: 6/10
    Legendary Lovers: 8/10 Birthday: 8/10 Walking On Air: 7/10 Unconditionally: 7/10 Dark Horse: 9/10 This Is How We
    Song Review
    Roar: 6/10
    Legendary Lovers: 8/10
    Birthday: 8/10
    Walking On Air: 7/10
    Unconditionally: 7/10
    Dark Horse: 9/10
    This Is How We Do: 9/10
    International Smile: 6/10
    Ghost: 10/10
    Love Me: 7/10
    This Moment: 8/10
    Double Rainbow: 7/10
    By The Grace Of God: 8/10
    Spiritual: 9/10
    It Takes Two: 7/10
    Choose Your Battles: 8/10

    AVERAGE SCORE: 7.8

    Important Tracks: Ghost, Birthday, This Is How We Do

    Meh, Best Of Katy Perry, but not the best of pop.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2016
    6
    1. Roar 3/5
    2. Legendary Lovers 5/5
    3. Birthday 3/5 4. Walking On Air 3/5 5. Unconditionally 4/5 6. Dark Horse (feat. Juicy J) 3/5 7.
    1. Roar 3/5
    2. Legendary Lovers 5/5
    3. Birthday 3/5
    4. Walking On Air 3/5
    5. Unconditionally 4/5
    6. Dark Horse (feat. Juicy J) 3/5
    7. This Is How We Do 3/5
    8. International Smile 3/5
    9. Ghost 4/5
    10. Love Me 3/5
    11. This Moment 4/5
    12. Double Rainbow 3/5
    13. By the Grace of God 3/5
    14. Spiritual 3/5
    15. It Takes Two 3/5
    16. Choose Your Battles 3/5
    Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    This album tries to be mature and to sound interesting, but it fails at it.
    There are a few good songs like Dark Horse, Unconditionally and
    This album tries to be mature and to sound interesting, but it fails at it.
    There are a few good songs like Dark Horse, Unconditionally and walking on air.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2017
    0
    Horrible sounding album, there's nothing more I can say. It's so bad I just wanted to skip all the songs. JustHorrible sounding album, there's nothing more I can say. It's so bad I just wanted to skip all the songs. Just baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad Expand

See all 353 User Reviews