Prism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On

Top Track

Roar
I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath Scared to rock the boat and make a mess So I sat quietly, agreed politely I guess that I forgot I had a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 303
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Excellent, well done, most of the songs have a real meaning to it, is a really good album, the variety in it is great, it goes from dance toExcellent, well done, most of the songs have a real meaning to it, is a really good album, the variety in it is great, it goes from dance to slow pop, it really does get the feeling of a Prism with all of the songs beign diferent colors Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    This album is perfect. MUCH BETTER THAN TRASHPOP BY LADY CRAPGA. Katy is a real artist that knows what we want to hear. I'm so glad that sheThis album is perfect. MUCH BETTER THAN TRASHPOP BY LADY CRAPGA. Katy is a real artist that knows what we want to hear. I'm so glad that she made this perfect album! Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2015
    7
    Não há progresso em relação aos Álbuns anteriores, é comercial, feito pra vender.

    as músicas boas são Spitual, Ghost, By The Grace of God,
    Não há progresso em relação aos Álbuns anteriores, é comercial, feito pra vender.

    as músicas boas são Spitual, Ghost, By The Grace of God, Choose Your Battles e It Takes Two, espero que ela traga musicas suaves assim pra próxima era ou seja Dark.

    This Is How We Do ? Descarte do Teenage Dream, esqueceram de colocar e botaram nesse
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Personally, out of 16 songs, I only enjoyed three. Katy is smart. I expected so much for this album. But to my disappointment, this one only contains filler and boring songs. It's just Teenage Dream One of the boys put together with a new title and some catchy songs to cover up gaps. I can sense this would flop. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2014
    3
    Katy made an album - again - for one objective: charts.It seems like the album was made for a unique objective: Charts. Devoid of any artisticKaty made an album - again - for one objective: charts.It seems like the album was made for a unique objective: Charts. Devoid of any artistic intention, Prism is just another album with some mainstream songs that probably will be on top of the Billboard Hot 100. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2016
    0
    "You're gonna hear me roar!" Katy keeps wailing on the first track of this collection of generic pop songs that is called an album. And then"You're gonna hear me roar!" Katy keeps wailing on the first track of this collection of generic pop songs that is called an album. And then this album swims through a sea of clichés, ah-ohs, and improper enunciations, which as for the latter, it's "TWENTY TWENTY" not "TWUNNY TWUNNY." The music sounds like something that comes out of Barney or Teletubbies, bright yet cheap. And Katy Perry gets more annoying as ever, which seems impossible, but it happened. Of course, Katy Perry churns out nothing but meaningless drivel, so expectations are low. Yes, Katy Perry is famous, but more like Wayne Newton famous. It's appalling that people's standards are so low that they are willing to accept this rubbish. But if you even like music, never give Katy Perry a chance. Please don't, or Katy Perry will ruin music forever like how Donald Trump and his Russian minions destroyed global diplomacy.

    On another note, Katy Perry has the worst Superbowl halftime show of all time, even worse than any Up With People show or that laughable Elvis Presto.
    Expand

See all 303 User Reviews