User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Black Rainbows Image

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The first full-length release since 2016's The Heart Speaks In Whispers from British singer-songwriter Corinne Bailey Rae was inspired by the exhibits she saw at the Stony Island Arts Bank.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2023
    Black Rainbows magnificently roars around garage rock, jazz and even, on Erasure, Black Flag hardcore. Better still, Before The Throne Of The Invisible God is a heavenly soul-psych masterpiece, equally Sly Stone, Prince and Billie Holliday. It’ll continue to uncover fresh layers of magic for years, while being enticing from the off.
  2. Sep 25, 2023
    An extraordinary album.
  3. Sep 14, 2023
    Bailey Rae sounds like an artist reborn. It may not be what you expect, but it’s all the better for that. Without a doubt, it is the best album of Bailey Rae’s career, and quite probably one of the albums of 2023 as well.
  4. Sep 21, 2023
    Although Black Rainbows is a uniquely conceptual work and sticks all the way out from Corinne Bailey Rae, The Sea, and The Heart Speaks in Whispers, it's at least as personal as any of the singer's first three albums.
  5. 80
    The gear shifts can be jarring, but album four is actually more cohesive than it has any right to be, a fact its creator has attributed to her common thread of influence in Stony Island Arts Bank. Horns up: Corinne Bailey Rae has thrown the musical curveball of the year.
  6. Sep 14, 2023
    The softer turns on Black Rainbows feel nearest to Rae’s earlier material, but those, too, subvert expectations.
  7. Mojo
    Sep 14, 2023
    The music, which is characterised by extraordinary switches in style, reflects the diversity of the archive, morphing from bleepy electronic and futuristic R&B to churning garage rock with distorted megaphone vocals. [Oct 2023, p.81]

See all 10 Critic Reviews