User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Broken Hearts and Beauty Sleep Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The nine-track mini-album from the Southern California rapper features guest appearances from Big Freedia, Blood Orange, Jay Cue, Kari Faux, God Colony, Bruno Ribeiro, and Jamila Woods.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The Wire
    Jul 28, 2021
    For the most part this album is unadulterated joy, and even in the instances where things feel a little more serious, it’s still entertaining as hell. [Aug 2021, p.69]
  2. Jun 17, 2021
    There’s a real energy emanating from mini-album ‘Broken Hearts & Beauty Sleep’ that very much echoes the artist’s sentiment. A glorious trip through all facets of Mykki’s musical personality.
  3. 80
    Working with producer FaltyDL, who’s credited on every track here, Blanco creates a body of work that feels cohesive but not constricted.
  4. Jul 9, 2021
    None of these ventures feel forced, instead they flourish under the weight of some heavy emotional themes. After this versatile and unexpectedly wholesome depiction of a broken heart, Mykki Blanco has earned some deserved beauty sleep.
  5. Jun 21, 2021
    Broken Hearts & Beauty Sleep is the latest chapter in the chaotic yet deliberate evolution of a no-holds-barred performer who’s only now reaching their apex.
  6. 70
    A return in form for a beautiful promise of future.
  7. Jun 17, 2021
    Most of the sounds here are mellifluous, with ample space given to heavenly backing vocalists on the more heartfelt songs, like the standout Hudson Mohawke co-production Free Ride.

See all 9 Critic Reviews