User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Civilized Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

  • Summary: The indie rock band's third album was produced by Tim O'Heir.

Top Track

Freak Out
we can build a house across another universe that we'll know and we'll reverse the drought and bring another kind of people to our show We can freak... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Delightfully restrained production gives plenty of breathing room for a full, resonant rhythm section, where similar dance rock might give more bandwidth to a hotter, shriller high end.
  2. Uncut
    While they are unlikely to blow any heads off, track like 'Graffiti Eyes' show that they haven't lost the knack of writing diverting pop songs. [Sep 2009, p.96]
  3. Civilized is nothing if not a glossy, grand act, its welcoming veneer far more interesting than whatever truth lies behind the curtain.
  4. Undeterred by fashion and musical movements having moved on, Stellastarr* have created a joyously out-of-step album. And it deserves to be heard.
  5. Under The Radar
    Overall, Civilized occupies a comfortable middle ground too often. [Summer 2009, p.63]
  6. Alternative Press
    Shawn Christensen's vocals are buried in the mix, while songs fly by with no memorable structure or hooks. [Aug 2009, p.115]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of