User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Clear Lake Forest [EP] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

  • Summary: The seven-track EP from the Texas psychedelic rock band was originally released on Record Store Day (April 19th).
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    Clear Lake Forest is a quick listen at just seven songs, but The Black Angels have the wherewithal to pack in enough volleying moods that you feel like someone has sprinkled DMT into your smokes.
  2. 80
    The Black Angels’ psych scholarship pays dividends here.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    It’s a lot to tackle in seven songs, but there’s a depth and richness in both texture and songwriting that show glimpses of a new direction, one that might free them from their own drone-rock noose.
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    The previous six songs sounded like they were made by a group of guys who'd spent years absorbing the rock music of the '60s deeply into their bones. "Linda's Gone" feels like it was made for stoned 16 year olds who just discovered The Velvet Underground & Nico for the first time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of