User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Everybody Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

  • Summary: This is the foruth album for the New York-based singer-songwriter.

Top Track

I don't wanna be the one to say goodbye But I will, I will, I will I don't wanna sit on the pavement while you fly But I will, I will, oh yes I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. A mixture of optimism and realism is present throughout Everybody, and Michaelson's insights occasionally sting with honesty.
  2. Rarely does an independent album sound so assured, so polished, and so agreeable.
  3. On her latest, Everybody, the lyrics can be mildly quirky or annoyingly precious--and sometimes both.
  4. Q Magazine
    Everybody is a sweet-voiced cross between Colbie Caillat and Lisa Loeb's fourth LP and, even without the stately strings on the genuinely affecting Sort Of, it would be her most accomplished yet. [Dec 2009, p. 119]
  5. Mojo
    Her music mostly comprises ordinary, though precisely crafted, acoustic arrangements and plaintive-lite laments regarding absent lover. [Dec 2009, p. 92]
  6. Uncut
    Her career path - Staten Island barista to MySpace to Old Navy commercial-is less conventional than her songs, which build from folkie beginnings to big, optimistic pop choruses. [Dec 2009, p. 103]
  7. While she seems like the twee offspring of Lisa Loeb, she lacks any of Loeb’s quirkiness and charms while retaining the annoying preciousness. Michaelson’s fourth disc, Everybody, puts all her limitations on display.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of