• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2020
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 135
  2. Negative: 48 out of 135
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2020
    0
    I've been listening to Green Day since Dookie. Every album from 39/smooth to Warning is pure gold. Warning at the time of release felt like it was their last go at and an end to something great. It still feels like that since nothing past it really feels like growth. I understand American Idiot is special for a lot of people. It has some bright spots on the album but to me it signaled theI've been listening to Green Day since Dookie. Every album from 39/smooth to Warning is pure gold. Warning at the time of release felt like it was their last go at and an end to something great. It still feels like that since nothing past it really feels like growth. I understand American Idiot is special for a lot of people. It has some bright spots on the album but to me it signaled the start of over-produced pop mush. I have no issue with pop music. But leave it to the pop artists that do it well. I don't want to hear phoned-in organ hooks and auto-tune on a Green Day album. Father of All **** is the epitome of their complete 180 degree turn from punk rock to overly sweet, ready-for-radio, fly-by, pop B.S. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2020
    0
    Wow. Just wow. I've been a fan of Green Day for decades now. I've loved every album, even the trilogy. I liked it all. But this is just god **** awful. All of the songs sound like garbage. The production is awful, the song structures are beyond basic, the lyrics are cringey and cliched, the instrumentation is bland, the writing has been done a million times before. It sounds like they wereWow. Just wow. I've been a fan of Green Day for decades now. I've loved every album, even the trilogy. I liked it all. But this is just god **** awful. All of the songs sound like garbage. The production is awful, the song structures are beyond basic, the lyrics are cringey and cliched, the instrumentation is bland, the writing has been done a million times before. It sounds like they were given a day to write half an album worth of songs for commercials. It's a sad husk of what they used to be. Even ignoring the absolutely laughable marketing, the album is a **** stain on their legacy. I grew up listening to this band and it pains me to know that this is who they are now. This is the band who wrote Restless Heart Syndrome. This is the band who wrote Letterbomb. This is the band who wrote Welcome to Paradise. This is the band who wrote Brain Stew. This is the band who, on their last album, put out one of their best songs ever with Forever Now. And now we get this? Absolutely embarrassing. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2020
    0
    Holy **** this is garbage he really tried to make some stupid ass pop punk but went wayyyyy too far on the pop side. I've been a green day fan for years and this is just a massive disappointment. Green Day has been consistently bad over the past 10 years. I just can't stand this dumbass album.
  4. Feb 13, 2020
    0
    This is legit one of the worst rock records I have ever heard. As a Green Day super fan, I don't say this lightly about how atrocious and mind numbing this piece of garbage record is
  5. Feb 7, 2020
    3
    It's a really meh album. I do understand that they want to change up their sound, but it's still lacking.
  6. Feb 13, 2020
    3
    What happened with those guys? Where is the punk sound? What's original on this album?
  7. Feb 7, 2020
    0
    Only one somehow listenable and original song on album and the rest is just a self-bait yet done so badly it literally hurts. I hope everything's as it is because dudes just want to get away from label's obligations... Or I just don't know. The album is total nonsense. As a fan I'm t totally disappointed.
  8. Feb 7, 2020
    2
    It takes a special kind of album to be less than 30 minutes, and still make me feel like it wasted my time. This is music that would fit in perfectly in the next Kia or Apple commercial. It's boring, deflated, pointless and worst of all, just not fun.
  9. Feb 12, 2020
    0
    An Absolutely terrible album. I can see why they had to drag other artists and genres since they haven’t been relevant for the past two decades and they needed the clout for people to listen to this horrible album.
  10. Feb 8, 2020
    0
    Forgettable. Production is awful and unlistenable, and the lyrics are uninspired and childish (shame on you, Billie). I don't care if they want to try new things, they've been doing it since forever, but this is just bad. And the worst part: the band is proud of it. Go to therapy to fix your midlife crisis issues or retire already.
  11. Feb 7, 2020
    0
    Complete but unfortunately expected disappointment after "Revolution radio". Zero meaning, zero passion, zero fun... Only glam, bore and stupid filters... This is particularly unfortunate in the brilliant background of old albums.
  12. Feb 7, 2020
    2
    Billie has truly run out of things to say. Which I don't fault him for after 13 albums but. Cmon man.
  13. Feb 7, 2020
    0
    I first saw green day back on the nimrod tour in 1997 and it changed my life, every album from 1990 to 2000's warning was pure gold!
    Over the years green day have diluted their sound but this is ....just terrible. It's like they don't care and I thought it might have something to do with the end of there contract on there current label but it seems legit.

    RIP Green day 1989 - 2020
  14. Feb 8, 2020
    0
    My god, the production, the lyrics, the boomer energy. It's incredible how nothing seems to work, this is so bland that suddently I like Nine by blink-182 more now
  15. Feb 11, 2020
    0
    Everything about this is lazy and phoned in. This isn't Green Day. This is recycled, radio friendly, mainstream trash. I've listened to this band for almost 30 years, I've stuck by through everything else. Even Uno, Dos, and Tre. I draw the line here. From a musical standpoint it's simplistic and uninspired. Do yourself a favor and listen to any other Green Day album and remember what theyEverything about this is lazy and phoned in. This isn't Green Day. This is recycled, radio friendly, mainstream trash. I've listened to this band for almost 30 years, I've stuck by through everything else. Even Uno, Dos, and Tre. I draw the line here. From a musical standpoint it's simplistic and uninspired. Do yourself a favor and listen to any other Green Day album and remember what they once were. Expand
  16. Feb 12, 2020
    0
    Father of All is the first Green Day album I've not liked. It's also the first Green Day album where I haven't liked a single song on the whole project. Everything feels lazy, especially the lyrical content and artwork.
  17. Feb 9, 2020
    0
    Thank u, next outsold this trash projet. Ariana's Karma never fail
    U clown better wash this **** mouth when u GO talk about pop princess
  18. Feb 12, 2020
    3
    Who the **** is this and what have they done with the Greenday I used to listen to, grew up with, and loved? Album Production is good but seriously this band is barely recognizable to the band we used to know except for maybe "Sugar Youth" which is the best song on this record. The rest of it sounds like oldman hillybilly rock n roll hot gabage and is best avoided to preserve yourWho the **** is this and what have they done with the Greenday I used to listen to, grew up with, and loved? Album Production is good but seriously this band is barely recognizable to the band we used to know except for maybe "Sugar Youth" which is the best song on this record. The rest of it sounds like oldman hillybilly rock n roll hot gabage and is best avoided to preserve your remaining health and street cred. Expand
  19. Feb 8, 2020
    0
    flops. ariana outsold this flop group. anyways stream tun instead instead of this trash.
  20. Feb 17, 2020
    0
    this album sounds like a lot of different bands, but not one of them being green day. at least not anywhere close to quality green day. it’s certainly not their best, but its also not the worst. I think its just slightly better than the trilogy. I am honestly confused that so many people enjoyed it, but who am I to tell you what to like. objectively though, this is one of green day’s mostthis album sounds like a lot of different bands, but not one of them being green day. at least not anywhere close to quality green day. it’s certainly not their best, but its also not the worst. I think its just slightly better than the trilogy. I am honestly confused that so many people enjoyed it, but who am I to tell you what to like. objectively though, this is one of green day’s most weakest and mixed albums. the lack of songwriting, unoriginality, and overproduction makes this short album feel like hours, in a bad way. Expand
  21. Feb 21, 2020
    0
    I was never a big fan of Green Day, although I enjoy some of their songs, and of course American Idiot, which I think is a good album. For some reason, I was intrigued about this new record, "Father of All **** I regret it, totally.

    It sucks from the beggining to the end. Actually, the best parts of the album, are before you start playing it, and after it finishes, because you don't
    I was never a big fan of Green Day, although I enjoy some of their songs, and of course American Idiot, which I think is a good album. For some reason, I was intrigued about this new record, "Father of All **** I regret it, totally.

    It sucks from the beggining to the end. Actually, the best parts of the album, are before you start playing it, and after it finishes, because you don't have to listen to it ever again. I find this album really really bad. It's a mixture of all the things you don't want Green Day doing, and yet, they're doing it, and it does not go well.

    The songs are totally basic, the lyrics suck. It's like if they are trying to be teenagers in their almost 50s. These are the kind of songs you can make when you are just starting to make music, but then you realize that they suck so bad that eventually you throw them away. But they didn't, and here we are, with the new Green Day album.

    As I said, I'm not a big fan of the band, but I respected them. Watching a band throwing their 13th album, and being like this, is awful.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Feb 18, 2020
    20
    Green Day have become the very thing they once despised: buck-chasin’ mild boys of mayonnaise corporate rock.
  2. Feb 18, 2020
    50
    Certain songs try to recapture their old glory, while others feel like an embarrassing pop ploy—but the most consistent feeling is pure disappointment. Even when Green Day is supposedly having fun here, they sound tired and overworked at best.
  3. 90
    Father of All Motherfuckers is a danceable, feel-good pop album with some really stellar songwriting and, after the impotent Revolution Radio and the ludicrous ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, ¡Tré! trilogy, seeing Green Day branch out a bit and succeed at something different is refreshing. It’s a sign of artists with a great deal of range and imagination who are far from done surprising us.