• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2020
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
Buy On
  1. 90
    Father of All Motherfuckers is a danceable, feel-good pop album with some really stellar songwriting and, after the impotent Revolution Radio and the ludicrous ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, ¡Tré! trilogy, seeing Green Day branch out a bit and succeed at something different is refreshing. It’s a sign of artists with a great deal of range and imagination who are far from done surprising us.
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Feb 6, 2020
    90
    Invigorating results. ... It's refreshing, comforting even, to have Green Day back in their exuberant element, unburdened by message or morality. [Mar 2020, p.86]
  3. Feb 10, 2020
    80
    Green Day deliver everything with such panache that the songs’ limitations don’t really matter, especially when they manage to make tired old tropes seem fresh, as on the swooning brilliance of Take the Money and Crawl and Meet Me on the Roof.
  4. These songs feel like the bratty little brothers of the likes of ‘Castaway’ and ‘Blood, Sex And Booze’ from 2000’s ‘Warning’, but with more of a snarl and a need for speed.
  5. Feb 7, 2020
    80
    Father of All… is a bountiful act of recovered rock memory, an effortlessly affirming argument that the first mosh pit or car radio contact high you get when you’re 13 years old can be enough to sustain you long into life. It’s a deep, deep thing, and, in a sense, a defiant and subtly political statement, too.
  6. 80
    I mean it as a compliment when I say I didn’t immediately recognise Green Day the first time I heard their new album. There is something positively gleeful about the American multimillion-selling stadium punk trio’s reavowal of the fundamentals. They exhibit the swagger of a hot young band discovering rock’n’roll for the first time, allied to the abilities of old pros who know exactly how to do it right.
  7. Q Magazine
    Feb 4, 2020
    80
    By its very nature, Father Of All... is slight compared to a sprawling magnum opus such as 2009's 21st Century Breakdown, but it's close to impossible to emerge from its rapid-fire near-half-hour without a smile on your face. [Mar 2020, p.112]
  8. Kerrang!
    Feb 4, 2020
    80
    It's a hella mega good time from start to finish. [1 Feb 2020, p.53]
  9. Feb 7, 2020
    70
    The effort feels more like a sidestep than a leap forward.
  10. Feb 7, 2020
    70
    The most notable thing about the record is how excited everyone sounds. It crackles with energy, buoyed by the feeling that the trio are finally unshackled by their past. It's punchy, and the hooks generally last long past the record's short runtime.
  11. Feb 7, 2020
    70
    Green Day are watching the world burn from an air-conditioned dance floor on Father of All.... While the album doesn't deliver their most memorable songs, its wild glam experimentation and attitude-heavy performances show a band still seeking new thrills even decades in.
  12. Feb 5, 2020
    70
    Green Day have delivered possibly their most immediate album this century and an album that, despite its short length, grows more rewarding with repeat listens.
  13. Uncut
    Feb 4, 2020
    70
    Fuses the hormonal aggression that put Green Day on the map with punched-up modern-day production courtesy of Butch Walker and a razor-sharp mix by Tchad Blake. [Mar 2020, p.29]
  14. Feb 6, 2020
    67
    The album aims for instant gratification and achieves it so efficiently that it can’t help but burn fast.
  15. 67
    Father of All… is a solid album that shows not only their mastery of sound but also genre and a nod to the greats that came before them.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 135
  2. Negative: 48 out of 135
  1. Feb 7, 2020
    3
    It's a really meh album. I do understand that they want to change up their sound, but it's still lacking.
  2. Feb 7, 2020
    10
    Look, this is the best album this band released since 21CB. It’s short, but is a short, sweet, neat, adrenaline shot. The production andLook, this is the best album this band released since 21CB. It’s short, but is a short, sweet, neat, adrenaline shot. The production and mixing is on top of everything, the songs are bangers, and they are so diverse. Great work from a band that has been around for over 30 years. Not something it could have been easy to expect from Green Day in 2020, in a really positive way. Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2020
    6
    I've been a Green Day fan for a long time now, back when I heard Holiday and Boulevard blasting on 2005 radio. They meant a lot to me duringI've been a Green Day fan for a long time now, back when I heard Holiday and Boulevard blasting on 2005 radio. They meant a lot to me during my formative years of music and adolescence, even if their music has lost that urgency and adrenaline. Father of All... is a mixed bag for me. Better than the Trilogy, not as good as Revolution Radio, which hasn't aged all too well after it's initial release. I do appreciate the lean meat-and-potatoes approach of the album and making a pure rock-n-roll, or what constitutes as rock-n-roll these days with a mainstream mainstay like Green Day, but with the short run-time and the polish sheen sounding more like it wants to be played for car commercials or iPhone commercials, it feels more like a compromise for the major labels. Some of the energetic songs are good like the title cut, Sugar Youth, and Oh Yeah!, and the throwback to garage rock felt more energetic compared to Dos, and without a cringe worthy rap rock song, however so much of the clapping and very clear dad rock blueprints, it's more of an album with singles rather than anything truly cohesive. This will probably do well with licensing than upon repeated re-listening. As for me, I still have Dookie and American Idiot to come back to. Maybe every so often I will for this album. Full Review »