• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Flock Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album from the Irish band, which previously included Damien Rice.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. With Flock, their third album but only the second to get a British release, Ireland's Bell X1 have unearthed the missing musical link - and it's marvellous.
  2. Bell X1 don't fit comfortably into any of the pigeonholes of modern indie rock: more down to earth than Radiohead; more fun-loving than Coldplay; and too sophisticated to be lumped in with Franz Ferdinand. Bell X1 occupy a niche all of their own, and long may it continue.
  3. Flock is a massive step forward musically. Paul Noonan's superb lyrics now have some powerful musical backing, throwing in all kinds of references from disco to funk and good old-fashioned rock.
  4. 70
    The US debut of Damien Rice's former band turns sentimental mush into something palatable. [Mar 2008, p.97]
  5. Under The Radar
    While nothing on Flock will blow the listener away with its originality, there is something about the music that draws you in and captivates. [Winter 2008, p.80]
  6. Noonan's lyrics can be cheeky or sweet, and that nicely offsets the sense of yearning and wanderlust. The latter part of the disc dissolves into too many atmospheric textures and loses focus, yet this doesn't obscure the band's musicality and charm.
  7. Bell X1 generically compartmentalize everything instead and end up with a record that doesn't even top the work of their former bandmate.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. EJM
    Mar 4, 2008
    Sublime... See rocky took a lover.
  2. JohnR.
    Feb 25, 2008
    A great album!!
  3. RoyO.
    Feb 25, 2008
    Painfully Great... amazing lyrics.
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    A very strong follow up to the brilliant Music in Mouth. (Un)fortunately for Bell X1 it didn't do as well commercially as it should have andA very strong follow up to the brilliant Music in Mouth. (Un)fortunately for Bell X1 it didn't do as well commercially as it should have and this was their last record on a major label. It marks the closing of chapter one in the Bell X1 story. Highlights are the singles "Rocky" and "Bigger Than Me" but this is strong from start to finish. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes catchy hooks, quirky lyrics and anything that sounds like Talking Heads. Expand