• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 211

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Ignore the user saying shes a girl with rich parents. Sky has made herself, starting from Myspace and now practically funding this entire album. She put everything into this album to distance herself from what her labels wanted her to be. She made this album how she wanted to, and she made it incredibly well. Nearly every song has hit potential and it's overall an incredible album. ItIgnore the user saying shes a girl with rich parents. Sky has made herself, starting from Myspace and now practically funding this entire album. She put everything into this album to distance herself from what her labels wanted her to be. She made this album how she wanted to, and she made it incredibly well. Nearly every song has hit potential and it's overall an incredible album. It started with Everything is Embarrassing, and her success is going to continue past this album. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I've been following Sky's career since the very beginning. This girl is just great, plane simple, she's been trying to find her sound for a while now, going for quite a wide range of sounds. The fact that she always delivers is the main reason I like her a lot. This album is really different from her previous work, but just as good, if not better since this seems to be what really reflectsI've been following Sky's career since the very beginning. This girl is just great, plane simple, she's been trying to find her sound for a while now, going for quite a wide range of sounds. The fact that she always delivers is the main reason I like her a lot. This album is really different from her previous work, but just as good, if not better since this seems to be what really reflects her personality. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    After struggling for years to release a debut album, Sky Ferreira has finally did it after a long endless battle with her label over her sound and image. Despite not receiving much support from her label herself for this record, Ferreira did nothing but deliver. With 70's esque synths and infectious guitar riffs at the beginning of almost every song, Sky showcases just what she's capableAfter struggling for years to release a debut album, Sky Ferreira has finally did it after a long endless battle with her label over her sound and image. Despite not receiving much support from her label herself for this record, Ferreira did nothing but deliver. With 70's esque synths and infectious guitar riffs at the beginning of almost every song, Sky showcases just what she's capable of as a songwriter and singer. Perhaps one of if not the best debut albums of the year. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    From its already iconic album cover to its 1980's-esque, atmospheric feel, Night Time, My Time may be the most brilliant pop debut in recent memory. Sky is an intelligent songwriter with a concrete, coherent style and a strong voice. She has a confident sound---she knows who she is and what artist she is going to be. This debut is stunning as it is haunting---it is beautiful, dark, andFrom its already iconic album cover to its 1980's-esque, atmospheric feel, Night Time, My Time may be the most brilliant pop debut in recent memory. Sky is an intelligent songwriter with a concrete, coherent style and a strong voice. She has a confident sound---she knows who she is and what artist she is going to be. This debut is stunning as it is haunting---it is beautiful, dark, and unnerving, while still celebrating the LA, indie-pop scene Sky is from. Highlights include "24 Hours," "You're Not the One" and "I Blame Myself." Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    One of the best pop records of the past 20 years. The instrumentation is on point and the lyrics and delivery all live up to the expectation. a 10/10 album that should have a long-lasting influence in pop music
  6. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    Просто охуевательный альбом, самое потрясающее что могла сделать Феррейра. Альбом пропитан цинизмом, сразу чувствуется взросление как и музыки, так и самой Скай. Все песни просто потрясающие, переслушивать хочется снова и снова. Если бы можно было поставить выше 10 баллов, я бы поставил все 100 потому, что Скай проделала колоссальную работу по созданию такого богического дебютника.Просто охуевательный альбом, самое потрясающее что могла сделать Феррейра. Альбом пропитан цинизмом, сразу чувствуется взросление как и музыки, так и самой Скай. Все песни просто потрясающие, переслушивать хочется снова и снова. Если бы можно было поставить выше 10 баллов, я бы поставил все 100 потому, что Скай проделала колоссальную работу по созданию такого богического дебютника.
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    After waiting 4 years for her debut I can only say it was worth the wait. The album has really amazing tracks like I Blame Myself, Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Okay), 24 Hours and of course the title track, Night Time, My Time. It's a really cohesive album and it really screams Sky. Highly recommend it.
  8. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Trust me this is one of the greatest album ever released!!!!This is probably the album of the decade.Words can't describe how amazing it is..This album means everything to me right now..Sky Ferreira don't ever stop I love you soooo much.
  9. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Sky made ​​everyone wait for that album, but I think worth it.
    The album seems a bit different from the previously released songs, with a better grip.
    excelent album has songs like: I Blame Myself and Nobody Asked Me, I hope she does not stop making music, she has a good potential.
  10. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    An amazing, solid pop album (something very rare nowadays). I see someone comparing her to f*cking lana del rey… what the hell. Lana del rey is a bubblegum mainstream pop artist, Sky Ferreira is an underground singer. Highlights are I Blame Myself, You're not the One (that intro SLAYS!!!!) & Omanko.
  11. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Probably the best debut album to be released this year. The lyrics, vocals, guitars, and synths are all terrific. It has a dark atmosphere, but that's great. It works. The entire album is quite beautiful. Very excited for Sky Ferreira.
  12. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    I’ve been following Sky Ferreira for quite awhile now. And ‘quite awhile’ is no understatement and at the same time not meant with exaggeration. With a reluctant and seemingly atypical charisma in a pop landscape where a gamut of manufactured blonde girls are prevalent, and the formula to mainstream pop success are just as predictable as Rihanna releasing her annual Sky Ferreira had itI’ve been following Sky Ferreira for quite awhile now. And ‘quite awhile’ is no understatement and at the same time not meant with exaggeration. With a reluctant and seemingly atypical charisma in a pop landscape where a gamut of manufactured blonde girls are prevalent, and the formula to mainstream pop success are just as predictable as Rihanna releasing her annual Sky Ferreira had it the hard way. Label dispute was inevitable after several push back for a proper release and delayed projects after delayed projects was the only thing coming to existence. Conspicuously, her label doesn’t know what to do with her as she was thrown into the drawboard with a confused sound and image that definitely didn’t work to the then-rookie Ferreira. Consequently, Ferreira kept things on the low turning her attention to side projects like modelling and acting while trying to find direction to her music.

    Alas, the confusion and the reluctancy that hinderd the once ambiguous career of Sky was used to an advantage as she released an EP (Ghost) that might have signalled a promising start for her music career. Riding the crossover success of Everything is Embarassing, Sky wasted no time to work on Night Time, My Time, a 12-track album that is very well reminiscint of 90’s alternative rock icon Shirley Manson (Garbage- circa). The first single You’re Not The One is a great representation of what Night Time sounds like: heavy syths, guitar riffs and catchy hooks. It’s basically modern nostalgia for the most part and while Night Time sounds too front heavy as the first 5 cuts emerge as the obvious standouts, it definitely tried to not lose steam until it’s last breathy track closes the album to a very satisfying finish.
    Expand
  13. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    I don't think anyone can truly hate this album. Some will complain that there isn't much depth to it, and I'd have to agree with them slightly. None of the music is particularly displays great talent or is unique, but the sound is quite catchy. The same goes for Sky's lyrics. It won't go down as one of my favorite albums this year, but it will definitely be something that I return to everyI don't think anyone can truly hate this album. Some will complain that there isn't much depth to it, and I'd have to agree with them slightly. None of the music is particularly displays great talent or is unique, but the sound is quite catchy. The same goes for Sky's lyrics. It won't go down as one of my favorite albums this year, but it will definitely be something that I return to every now and again and enjoy no matter what. Expand
  14. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    This long-awaited album did everything but disappoint; it's a very refreshing modernization of 80's pop and grunge mixed with raw vocals and personal lyrics. "I Blame Myself" is arguably the best track due to its maturity and self-realization. It's 's a pretty cohesive work of art in the way that it illustrates her relationship from beginning to end.
  15. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Good voice with good music. Sky's the best and we know it. Pop/Rock so good. Everything sounds beautiful in this. "You're not the one" is perfect. All songs.
  16. Jan 15, 2015
    7
    In the end, you feel more confused than satisfied: some songs have really great structures, but some others [Omanko] are dreadful. It's an interesting first big effort, but it still sticks into a melodramatic and egocentric teen view, and so it often feels annoyingly immature and cleverless.
  17. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    This album rocks and anyone saying it sucks obviously just wants to hate on her. Tracks like 24 Hours, Heavy Metal Heart, I Blame Myself, Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Okay) and Night Time, My Time are what make the album the exceptional beauty it is. I love it! She's a great model too. Sky debuts with a BANG!
  18. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    I happened to stumble across this album by mistake, and I'm so glad I did. The songs are different to anything she's released before, and I feel like this a brilliant thing. The songs are edgy and the song writing is fantastic. I like all of the songs except for Night Time, My Time.
  19. May 14, 2014
    10
    A satisfyingly ambitious album, full of enough edgy texture and depth to satisfy an alt rock fan, but straight female pop power, hitting up and twisting brilliantly dating and growing up themes ("i blame myself," "nobody asked me (if i was okay)," "you're not the one," "i will"), as well as casual allusions to international media trends in songs like "omanko." there's a good balanceA satisfyingly ambitious album, full of enough edgy texture and depth to satisfy an alt rock fan, but straight female pop power, hitting up and twisting brilliantly dating and growing up themes ("i blame myself," "nobody asked me (if i was okay)," "you're not the one," "i will"), as well as casual allusions to international media trends in songs like "omanko." there's a good balance between a mature sort of songwriting-about-itself ("24 hours" IS about time in songs) and confessional ("love in stereo") within individual songs as well as across the album; and the same goes for ferreira's voice, full of coy, vulnerable, nostalgic poise at times, powerful, jaded ferocity, other times; pure synth pop pleasure, others. the songs i mentioned, along with "night time, my time," are my faves, but the whole thing is truly a gift, and rewards many listens. Expand
  20. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    This album is very beautiful, and i love so much this pop and rock music. Sky have a fantastic voice, she is the new princess of pop and rock music...
  21. Apr 30, 2015
    8
    Wow! I listened to this not knowing what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised to find another fantastic album I can see myself returning to many times in the future. Night Time, My Time is an incredibly strong debut. It's upbeat and fun, and the songwriting is simple and catchy, but the production is what really stands out in my opinion. It's sort of an interesting mix of 80s glam popWow! I listened to this not knowing what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised to find another fantastic album I can see myself returning to many times in the future. Night Time, My Time is an incredibly strong debut. It's upbeat and fun, and the songwriting is simple and catchy, but the production is what really stands out in my opinion. It's sort of an interesting mix of 80s glam pop and grunge, so the sound is immediately accessible, edgy, and fresh all at the same time, which I have to applaud Sky for, since not many musicians as young as her have such a mature musical taste. Overall, everything works very well together as a complete album and there are a lot of great moments throughout.

    Standout Tracks: Boys, I Blame Myself, I Will
    Expand
  22. Sep 13, 2015
    8
    I love the alternative rock style of Sky, this album is amazing! I can't wait for Masochism! The best are Omanko, Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Ok), Boys.. Sky please stop posting selfies on Instagram and release new music.
  23. Sep 25, 2016
    10
    Muy buen disco debut de Sky Ferreira, me fascina este album, de principio a fin. Me encanta su voz y los beats que uso en cada una de sus canciones, sobre todo en Omanko. Y ni hablar de la portada, iconica. Larga vida a esta pieza de arte. 10/10.
  24. Aug 9, 2016
    8
    8.5 eight point five
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  25. Sep 15, 2018
    10
    All the tracks on the album are really good. I have no words for the vocals. Her voice sounds like magic. Totally amazing
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    60
    At times things get messy and sound a lot like Ferreria and her various producers totally forgot what was going on ('Omanko' & 'Kristine') but these moments do a great job of hammering home the fact that the record clearly wasn't signed off by someone with a seasoned commercial agenda.
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    50
    This is cheap theatrics masquerading as inspired art.
  3. Mojo
    Mar 21, 2014
    80
    The skittish energy of a Lene Lovich is still there but now that quirkiness is crossed with slices of JAMC-fuzz and dream-pop trails. [Apr 2014, p.94]