• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    In short, Night Time, My Time is stunning.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    90
    By drawing on atypical influences and wearing her disillusioned heart on her sleeve, Sky Ferreira has made the pop album of the year.
  3. 85
    If a whole album could sum up my juvenile years of prepubescent chanting along to anthems in the kitchen at house parties, it would be this.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    83
    Night Time, My Time succeeds in portraying her as a complex person who’s successfully discovered her own voice.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    81
    Night Time, My Time isn’t the reactionarily somber anti-pop drag it could have been--instead, it’s a smart Kelly Kapowski hair-whip and loud bubblegum-crack of a record that lends itself to compulsive listening.
  6. Mojo
    Mar 21, 2014
    80
    The skittish energy of a Lene Lovich is still there but now that quirkiness is crossed with slices of JAMC-fuzz and dream-pop trails. [Apr 2014, p.94]
  7. 80
    It’s an all-enveloping record that puts the listener at the centre of the overwhelming intensity of Ferreira’s life these past few years – and offers a front-row seat to her wrestling back control.
  8. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    Her collaboration here with production wunderkind (and fellow Los Angeleno) Ariel Rechtshaid has brought her angry, grungy side to the fore. It was worth the wait.
  9. Mar 13, 2014
    80
    Likening her experience to fighting "the hounds of hell" may seem rich, but on the record, at least, she's arrived.
  10. Mar 11, 2014
    80
    The result is a debut full-length that energises, empathises and excites with every step of the way.
  11. Uncut
    Mar 7, 2014
    80
    There are a couple of duds, but songwriters Ariel Rechtshaid and Justin Raisen, a kind of grungy hipster take on Sweden's pop factory, still have a tremendous hit rate. [Apr 2014, p.74]
  12. Q Magazine
    Feb 14, 2014
    80
    In the US, Night Time, My Time was the most exciting pop album if 2013. It will be hard to beat this year as well. [Mar 2014, p.111]
  13. Magnet
    Dec 18, 2013
    80
    Assured and assertive, Night Time, My Time plays like the darker, dirtier counterpart to fellow category-co-founders Haim. [No. 105, p.54]
  14. Nov 7, 2013
    80
    She’s often a bundle of insecurities, vacillating between defeat and empowerment on fraught songs like Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Okay) and I Blame Myself. Her hooks, however, are as appealing and direct as they come.
  15. Oct 31, 2013
    80
    Bold, vulnerable and pleasingly disjointed, miraculously Night Time, My Time was worth the wait.
  16. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    [A] bracing, aggressive and surprisingly tender debut album.
  17. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    My Night, My Time is a pop album that’s offbeat in its self-awareness and on point with the steep hooks and expansive beats that make pop music pop.
  18. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    The most shocking thing about the album is how consistently good it is.
  19. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Considering that Ferreira is a twenty-one-year-old major label pop artist exploring indie rock on a highly-anticipated debut, songs born of manifold frustration and uncertainty, Night Time, My Time is a defiant and assured listen.
  20. Oct 31, 2013
    78
    Ferreira’s artfully trashy synthpop is a little bit Ladytron austerity, a greater bit Blondie ferocity, and her songcraft is, well, rather astonishing.
  21. Mar 14, 2014
    70
    You get the sense that all Sky Ferreira ever really wanted was for people to listen. Here, she gives them a reason. That's truth worth discovering.
  22. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    It’s divided between driving, stadium-sized rock and diffuse, murkier tracks, a series of starts and stops, explosions of feeling followed by temporary calm.
  23. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    Ferreira is finally fully reveling in the swirling cacophony that is her sound and her life.
  24. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    Night Time, My Time might just be the sort of gaunt, darkly painted neurosis needed to combat popular music's deluge of silly and crude self-affirmations.
  25. 70
    Producer Ariel Rechtshaid (Usher, Vampire Weekend) channels the glitchy rave girl esthetic of the like-minded Charli XCX, but ups the scale considerably. Ferreira always manages to stay in front of the wall of sound, though, never getting lost behind it.
  26. Apr 1, 2014
    60
    At times things get messy and sound a lot like Ferreria and her various producers totally forgot what was going on ('Omanko' & 'Kristine') but these moments do a great job of hammering home the fact that the record clearly wasn't signed off by someone with a seasoned commercial agenda.
  27. 58
    Unfortunately, Night Time, My Time goes awry at “Omanko,” a grave misstep that verges on parody. From there on out, the record’s spotty.
  28. Mar 26, 2014
    50
    This is cheap theatrics masquerading as inspired art.
  29. Oct 29, 2013
    50
    Some of the modern EDM heaviness of Icona Pop and Sleigh Bells kicks in latently, but the 21-year-old's iciness ultimately fails to charm.
  30. Oct 28, 2013
    40
    [An] uneven and unimpressive debut.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 211
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    After waiting 4 years for her debut I can only say it was worth the wait. The album has really amazing tracks like I Blame Myself, NobodyAfter waiting 4 years for her debut I can only say it was worth the wait. The album has really amazing tracks like I Blame Myself, Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Okay), 24 Hours and of course the title track, Night Time, My Time. It's a really cohesive album and it really screams Sky. Highly recommend it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Trust me this is one of the greatest album ever released!!!!This is probably the album of the decade.Words can't describe how amazing itTrust me this is one of the greatest album ever released!!!!This is probably the album of the decade.Words can't describe how amazing it is..This album means everything to me right now..Sky Ferreira don't ever stop I love you soooo much. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Sky made ​​everyone wait for that album, but I think worth it.
    The album seems a bit different from the previously released songs, with a
    Sky made ​​everyone wait for that album, but I think worth it.
    The album seems a bit different from the previously released songs, with a better grip.
    excelent album has songs like: I Blame Myself and Nobody Asked Me, I hope she does not stop making music, she has a good potential.
    Full Review »