User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Quaranta Image

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The latest full-length release from Detroit rapper Danny Brown features guest appearances by Bruiser Wolf, Kassa Overall and MIKE.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 22, 2023
    It's not entirely the same rowdy, lascivious joyriding that made up some of his celebrated early work, but the album's fearless expression of a full emotional spectrum makes it remarkable and at times shatteringly beautiful.
  2. Nov 17, 2023
    Though each installment seamlessly fluctuates from one temperature to another, redemption and regret guide the package’s dark enchantment.
  3. 90
    Though it may confound the fans who want more of the yelping renegade of old, this is Brown’s most personal and cohesive record to date; difficult, timely, and necessary. To the man’s credit, he can drop so many of his signature tics and tricks without becoming any less captivating an artist.
  4. Nov 17, 2023
    Quaranta is not nearly as explosive as XXX – released around the time Danny Brown turned 30 – but we have engaging lyrics, head-nodding beats, and another quality record from one of Detroit’s best musical exports.
  5. Nov 17, 2023
    Quaranta shows that Brown has lost none of his musical acuity. Like post-punk icons Hüsker Du in the 80s, Brown knows how to assemble a compelling project, leaving fans to argue which one is the prettiest of the bunch.
  6. Nov 27, 2023
    Though occasionally wallowing, there’s a self-assuredness here, a comfort in one’s skin, that’s refreshing, and relieving, given how close to the edge this ship has teetered over the years. As entertainment via soundwaves, it occasionally sags-lags-drags, but for a thoughtful tome on patient self-betterment, you couldn’t ask for much more.
  7. Nov 17, 2023
    This album is a step in the right direction in terms of mood, but it’s an overstep in terms of the emotional burden Brown is offering. The choruses are repetitive and don’t fit, and the take away should be focusing more on balance. However, it’s not a question of if he can get that balance right, but when.

See all 13 Critic Reviews