• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
(self-titled) Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length solo release for singer-songwriter Marcus Mumford features guest appearances from Phoebe Bridgers, Brandi Carlile, Clairo, and Monica Martin.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    Blake Mills’ production is exquisite throughout what is Mumford’s most crafted studio recording to date; this album is a career-best for the musician. While it is undoubtedly an emotional and often heart-breaking listen, it’s also a record full of defiance, hope and faith.
  2. Sep 16, 2022
    This is an album in which Mumford embraces and forgives his own, to deeply moving effect.
  3. Mojo
    Sep 21, 2022
    A massive step away from his band's sound and more towards that of his friend and touring partner Nathaniel Rateliff. No one could dismiss Mumford as a lightweight folk tourist after this. [Nov 2022, p.86]
  4. Sep 15, 2022
    Otherworldly music-box twinkles on the mournful “Only Child,” a gentle midtempo strut rising as the Monica Martin duet “Go in Light” nears self-acceptance — illuminate the close-to-the-bone lyrics while also placing Mumford’s voice in musical contexts that differ from his namesake band’s output. Those subtle differences are just enough to underscore the personal voyage (self-titled) takes.
  5. Sep 20, 2022
    Mills’ production gives the recordings dimension and depth, inevitably tempering the pain at the heart of the songs.
  6. 60
    It feels uncomfortable for me to point out that there aren’t a lot of tunes on this record. This stuff has to come out the way it wants. It’s hardly singalong material. It is – necessarily – heavy. But it also fulfils Mumford’s intention, learnt from Beyoncé, he says, to leave us with hope.
  7. Uncut
    Sep 15, 2022
    This recurring tendency to grandiosity is especially frustrating given that less is generally more throughout the album. [Nov 2022, p.35]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 16, 2022
    This is one of the most cohesive albums from start to finish. Extremely powerful, heartfelt and Marcus Mumford's strongest effort --This is one of the most cohesive albums from start to finish. Extremely powerful, heartfelt and Marcus Mumford's strongest effort -- including those with Mumford & Sons. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2022
    The fact that the last song of this album is currently the first song on my playlist, says something! such a great duet.