User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Shook Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for Atlanta-based post-punk band Algiers features guest appearances from Backxwash, Lee Bains, Big Rube, DeForrest Brown Jr., Mark Cisneros, Zack De La Rocha, Nadah El Shazly, Samuel T. Herring, LaToya Kent, Jae Matthews, Patrick Shiroishi, and billy woods.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 12, 2023
    More of an experience than a set of songs, Shook's stunning, often harrowing journey of surviving and resisting is well worth taking.
  2. Feb 24, 2023
    Some might feel that at 55 minutes and 17 tracks and with so much going on, Shook is perhaps a little long. Yet to these ears it never feels bloated and it’s hard to see what might be pruned without losing some of the record’s impact.
  3. Mar 3, 2023
    On Shook, Franklin James Fisher, Lee Tesche, Ryan Mahan and Matt Tong sound refreshed, energized by collaboration and completely confident in their identity.
  4. Feb 27, 2023
    Usually, it’s easier to fit the pieces together if you’re familiar with the political references, or if you’ve already been living under colonialism’s yolk. But Shook feels more urgent, more arresting, with performances that draw you into their world.
  5. 70
    Algiers don’t feel ahead of the curve, they feel like they are racing on a different track. When combined with their expansive range of collaborators, that willingness to go their own way makes for a powerful new addition to their catalogue with Shook.
  6. Feb 21, 2023
    Too often the album feels like a case of enacting genres rather than letting their influence seep in. It leaves the record feeling like a grab bag of ideas, some of which have been polished to brilliance, others of which haven’t been fully realised. There’s clearly a great album in there, just one that never quite gets the momentum to show itself.
  7. 60
    Consider Shook an example of auditory excess plied with aural intrigue.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 1, 2023
    This record is insanely good! I have no idea why this band keeps getting slept on. Musically they seem to be capable of just about any sonicThis record is insanely good! I have no idea why this band keeps getting slept on. Musically they seem to be capable of just about any sonic palate but without trying to just mix genres for no reason. Lyrically, there seems to be a bit of an evolution too-- it seems to be much more personal and reflective than a lot their previous work (eg: I Can't Stand It! and Green Iris, even Cleanse Your Guilt Here). I'm on board. Expand
  2. May 31, 2023
    Amazing record. Amazing band. Keep sleeping. The giant will awaken and the world will know.