User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Zach Bryan Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release from singer-songwriter Zach Bryan features guest appearances by Sierra Ferrell, Kacey Musgraves, The Lumineers, and The War And Treaty.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 12, 2023
    You don’t emerge from the LP with a sense of linear narrative. Across 16 songs, relationships fail and prosper and then fail again; hope deteriorates and grows, only to deteriorate again. What Zach Bryan is is a moving portrait of life’s knottiest, in-between moments.
  2. Sep 12, 2023
    Bryan does demand that his audience lean into the songs to discern their meaning; he gives a hint of a hook, enough to coax a second listen to unpack all the sorrows racing around in his head. Over the course of a triple album, this approach gets monochromatic, but Zach Bryan is tighter than American Heartbreak not only holistically but in its individual parts.
  3. Sep 12, 2023
    Zach Bryan’s up-close realism means that this album is hardly an escape from those cruelties, but Bryan’s careful presentation of his obvious songwriting talents makes it a gripping listen.
  4. Sep 12, 2023
    As he expands his sound beyond genre confines, he can sell a multi-part epic like “Jake’s Piano - Long Island” and a complexly orchestrated slow-burner like “Ticking.” But he doesn’t yet have the same range in his writing, lyrically or melodically.