Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    100
    It's reassuring that Beck Hansen can still pull an original record as substantive and absorbing as this one out of the hat. [Mar 2014, p.86]
  2. 91
    Morning Phase never sounds anything less than opulent.
  3. 91
    This isn't just good Beck, it's best Beck.
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    90
    The result is a set that feels like an instant folk-rock classic.
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    90
    It's his best album in that much time [decade], easily, and sure to be instantly beloved by fans who hold Sea Change to be his crowning work. [Feb/Mar 2014, p.71]
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    Beck proves once again here that he’s a tremendously versatile artist, capable of excelling throughout the musical spectrum.
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    89
    With every track, Beck makes a statement, one that's overwhelming but oddly comforting. It's the need to be a part of something larger, a fear of being alone. And with Morning Phase, it feels like we're his lifeline.
  8. Feb 25, 2014
    84
    Beck produced Morning Phase himself, and while that makes for a cohesive listen, consulting with another trusted producer could have coaxed out some of the freewheeling unpredictability that once characterized his music.
  9. Feb 25, 2014
    83
    It’s not as good as Sea Change, but that it’s anywhere close--and it is--means it’s doing something right.
  10. 83
    Morning Phase makes for an interesting return to form.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Derivative, but so what? Beck's already told us this is a "companion piece" to Sea Change, and hipster outposts like Pitchfork are wondering why this isn't genre-bending or outside-of-the-box (read: okay to name-drop yet barely listenable). A lush, timeless album devoid of wise-ass humor and pretense, and a welcome respite from the aural assault of modern life. An album that will start many of my days and wind down my nights this year. Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This album really grew on me over the course of a few listens. So much so, that I find that it has become my favorite beck album since sea change. I found it more interesting than sea change as well. Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    A very warm record to wake up to that plays like one cohesive long soundscape. It's very consistent, great orchestration and production. It's a real grower and invites me to play it over and over. Much easier to listen to than Sea Change for me, which was quite depressing and unsettling. Recommended! Full Review »