Album Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the San Francisco-based duo of Christopher Owens and Chet White.

Top Track

Let's go, let's just get away from here Let's find a place under the stars Let's be the people that we want to be Let's live like we could never... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Studio majesty be darned, this could prove a modern classic regardless.
  2. Created by two genuine outsiders and made with a refreshing lack of irony, Album is a welcome addition to the very best albums of 2009.
  3. Album is one of the year’s most bracing pop releases, and one of the best, a devastatingly fresh reframing of the pop songbook.
  4. While not as fleshed out as some other remarkable debuts, Album is a fully realized personal vision.
  5. 80
    Album lurches bizarrely from the heart-rending to the goofy to the simply spaced-out, but what it lacks in polish it makes up for with buckets of charm.
  6. On Girls' debut, Christopher Owens' made peace with his past and crafted ace tunes to go with his tales of redemption.
  7. Somehow, though, they forgot the crucial dollop of excitement or charisma, so we're left with an earful of directionless heartbreak and failure.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    Girls' debut is definitely one of the best albums of 2009. There is a lot of emotion in this album, unlike most of the indie recordsGirls' debut is definitely one of the best albums of 2009. There is a lot of emotion in this album, unlike most of the indie records nowadays. They are now one of my favorite bands Expand
  2. LoriB.
    Oct 3, 2009
    Cannot stop listening to this album.
  3. OliverBillenness
    Oct 9, 2009
    Excellent. As near to perfect as an album has got in 2009.
  4. PeterB.
    Sep 25, 2009
    Fine indeed!
  5. JackH
    Oct 18, 2009
    This is simply good music, filled with passion and heartache. Daniel Brockman should have another listen.
  6. AndrewK.
    Sep 26, 2009
    Inexplicably infectious and overflowing with a gorgeous sense of melancholy.
  7. mg
    Sep 25, 2009
    Simply AWFUL !!!

See all 18 User Reviews