Bootleg Series, Vol. 7: That's What Happened 1982-1985 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh release in the Miles Davis Bootleg Series features unreleased material from recording sessions from 1983's Star People, 1984's Decoy, and 1985's You're Under Arrest; alternative and outtakes; as well as a 1983 live concert from Montreal.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Sony Music
  • Genre(s): Jazz, Pop/Rock, Contemporary Jazz, Jazz-Pop, Crossover Jazz, Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Trumpet Jazz, Electric Jazz
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 20, 2022
    With all its content, music, and otherwise, permeated with purposeful attention to detail and focused depth, Legacy Recordings’ Volume 7 matches the previous releases in this archive series, such as Volume 2 Live in Europe 1969.
  2. Sep 26, 2022
    There are excellent Miles trumpet solos all over these tracks too, proving that he’d got his sound back after his late-70s breakdown.
  3. Sep 20, 2022
    There is no question that The Bootleg Series, Vol. 7: That's What Happened 1982-1985 will cause controversy among jazz fans. But it isn't for them. It's for Miles Davis fans and presents an unvarnished taste of him -- from the cutting room floor no less -- attempting to reinvent himself one last time.
  4. Mojo
    Sep 20, 2022
    This excellently curated three-disc set uncovers a selection of previously unreleased outtakes. [Oct 2022, p.102]
  5. Sep 20, 2022
    Most of the set’s first disc comprises recordings made during sessions for 1983’s Star People, my pick for Miles’ best comeback-era record. However, all the studio tracks presented here are previously unreleased, so fans have plenty of incentive to investigate. ... Disc three contains a July 1983 live show that occurred during a break in the Decoy sessions and is the highlight of the collection. ... The alternate mixes and full studio session versions on this set are solid, if not particularly revealing.