Brandy Clark Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release from singer-songwriter Brandy Clark was produced by Brandi Carlile and features guest appearances by Carlile, Derek Trucks, and Lucius.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 23, 2023
    Brandy Clark benefits from her songs being heard without the pleasing Nashville accouterments that decorated Big Day in a Small Town and Your Life Is a Record: in these spare settings, the emotional pull of her songs is undeniable.
  2. May 23, 2023
    Brandy Clark mostly pulls back on the spirited provocativeness of Clark’s earlier work, with lyrics about loss accented by a musical motif of heartfelt strings, but its standout tracks deploy the traditional themes and sounds of country in inventive ways.
  3. May 23, 2023
    Even on the merely good ones, there’s always the sense of someone living in Clark’s lyrics, making decisions about how to transform those feelings into melodies and rhymes.
  4. May 23, 2023
    There are gorgeous songs here about Clark’s Pacific north-west home and her family – but it often feels as if she has mistaken seriousness for honesty. Aside from a few lovely ballads, such as the sparse Buried and plaintive maybe-breakup song Come Back to Me, most of these songs feel anonymous.